Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

A fantastic and deserving non profit. Thoughtful to both volunteers and guests alike. It is an honor to be able to volunteer there. They make it so easy to be part of their organization, with easy on the spot sign up. I appreciate the care they give to providing their guests, not just food but healthy food. They run many programs to provide food for the body and soul. Proud to be part of this dedicated group.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The management of the volunteers is so efficient and well thought out that the whole time you're at the soup kitchen, you feel like you're helping the cause. Plus the volunteer regulars make everyone, guests and newbies, feel at home and welcome. HASK is Aces!!
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The work at Holy Apostles to feed the homeless and the needy in an environment of respect and caring is outstanding.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Love volunteering at holy apostles! Warm hearts, good meals and great programs for their guests. Human kindness at its best!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My volunteer time at the soup kitchen was wonderful and very humbling. They have a great staff and impressive system - they don't play games, they are there to feed people. It was great to see the connections people made with those they were serving, many of the volunteers do 2 and 3 days of volunteering during the week and they take it very seriously. Those who were there for a meal were very gracious and thankful, there were many characters in the crowd who brought smiles and laughter. If you get a chance to volunteer here DO IT, you will not be sorry!
October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2013

To call HASK a "soup kitchen" is so incomplete - actually they serve full healthy and well-balanced meals and non-soup entrees - 4 out of the five days they operate, but perhaps even more importantly ... more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen is not merely a great non-profit charity because it provides nutritious meals 5 days a week to individuals without question, but also because provides it's guests with the tools they need to become self-sufficient and break out of a pattern of dependance. They provide the tools and skills needed for individuals to go on interviews to find jobs. They offer computer skills and writing classes, clothing, hair cut vouchers, toiletries and housing, veterans and medical services and assistance and counseling by caring social workers. The services offered help individuals regain their self-esteem and value, an invaluable component for their future success.
September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

To call HASK a "soup kitchen" is so incomplete - actually they serve full healthy and well-balanced meals and non-soup entrees - 4 out of the five days they operate, but perhaps even more importantly they also provide housing, health, employment counseling and many other services to complement the food services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

This place was amazing and gave me such a great feeling that I think I'll be back here many times in the future! The volunteer coordinators had their heads in the right place, and seemed fairly organized given the immense amount of guests we served that day. I would highly recommend this soup Kitchen to anyone looking to change a few lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More razors to give to the guests - they went fast.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

I came here with work for a volunteer day and we had a great experience. We had a easy experience booking a date with them and everything was very organized once we got there. All the employees had a wonderful experience. I would suggest my company to volunteer again with Holy Apostles.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 19, 2013

more

November 19, 2013

One of the largest, and most well run non-profits in the City of New York. The fact that they feed 1,000 people a day, and have have not missed a meal in 30 years is amazing, and a testament to the team there. They have 30-50 people that walk in and volunteer daily and corporate groups need to sign up months in advance because they are so popular.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This is a wonderful organization filled with amazing staff and volunteers. I've volunteered here many times and help to fund raise for their food program on social media. Not only are they the largest food program in NYC, feeding over 1,000 meals a day Monday thru Friday all year round, and on Holidays, but they also offer a wealth of services to their patrons which help better their lives. Do yourself a favor and go check out and volunteer here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding, more volunteers, expanding the program

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help serve food to our 1,200 daily guests Volunteer