Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

This place was amazing and gave me such a great feeling that I think I'll be back here many times in the future! The volunteer coordinators had their heads in the right place, and seemed fairly organized given the immense amount of guests we served that day. I would highly recommend this soup Kitchen to anyone looking to change a few lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More razors to give to the guests - they went fast.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

I came here with work for a volunteer day and we had a great experience. We had a easy experience booking a date with them and everything was very organized once we got there. All the employees had a wonderful experience. I would suggest my company to volunteer again with Holy Apostles.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 19, 2013

more

November 19, 2013

One of the largest, and most well run non-profits in the City of New York. The fact that they feed 1,000 people a day, and have have not missed a meal in 30 years is amazing, and a testament to the team there. They have 30-50 people that walk in and volunteer daily and corporate groups need to sign up months in advance because they are so popular.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This is a wonderful organization filled with amazing staff and volunteers. I've volunteered here many times and help to fund raise for their food program on social media. Not only are they the largest food program in NYC, feeding over 1,000 meals a day Monday thru Friday all year round, and on Holidays, but they also offer a wealth of services to their patrons which help better their lives. Do yourself a favor and go check out and volunteer here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding, more volunteers, expanding the program

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

The Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen is the most efficient charity organization that I have ever been involved with. I was amazed at the competence of all staff members and the apparent ease with which they were able to serve over 1000 people a hot lunch. What a great organization run by such great people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I'm grateful for the chance to have volunteered here and to meet the lovely people who keep this busy place running. The facility is beautiful and the staff were really nice to my volunteer group. It was a great experience and they serve SO many people it's incredible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

To call HASK a "soup kitchen" is so incomplete - actually they serve full healthy and well-balanced meals and non-soup entrees - 4 out of the five days they operate, but perhaps even more importantly they also provide housing, health, employment counseling and many other services to complement the food services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I had the opportunity to volunteer at Holy Apostles' Soup Kitchen when I was in NYC on an Alternative Spring Break trip with college students in 2012. I was impressed with the way that the organization was able to feed some many people in need day in and day out. You could tell the regular volunteers and staff are passionate about serving those in need.... They give them food for their stomaches and hope for tomorrow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

There is no more dedicated organization. They have consistently served the community and treated their clients with the utmost respect for decades. They offer food for the mind, body, and soul! I am humbled and proud to be able to say I have volunteered here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely none. I would not to presume that I could improve their incredible hard work, dedication, and organization. I would only change them by giving them more money to do what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I first started volunteering at Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen seven or eight years ago. I brought my 7th and 8th Grade students from I.S. 52. It was a rewarding experience for them and for me. Not only were we privileged to see a side of life that we were totally unaccustomed to, we also experienced the warmth and the caring of the volunteers. I retired for teaching 3 years ago and I still go every Friday and love it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help serve food to our 1,200 daily guests Volunteer