Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 14, 2011

I had the privilege of volunteering at THITWGC for 9 seasons. Every year I hope I can get time off from work to go volunteer again. Well structured, well organized, excellent staff training, and use... more

October 16, 2012

Compasion, caring and a whole lot of fun. These are the hallmarks of Hole in the Wall. High standards for facilities, staff training, program as well as camper safety and well being. A place where children with exceptional medical need can be "normal" for a week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 14, 2011

I had the privilege of volunteering at THITWGC for 9 seasons. Every year I hope I can get time off from work to go volunteer again. Well structured, well organized, excellent staff training, and use of resources. They do an excellent job of fullfilling their mission statement. My own children were campers here, as well as volunteers and their experiences were life changing. It is clear that the children's needs and happiness are put first.

Hole in The Wall is a glimmer of hope and respite for families struggling with chronically ill children. The only criticism I can give (since you asked for it) is integrating volunteers into the routine of camp. This can be difficult because the full summer staff is such a tight knit group. The effort is clearly there to bring everyone up to speed quickly Frankly, I don't know how anyone could effectly do this, but you ask for a criticism, and if there is some way I'm sure Hole in the Wall will find it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the lives of my children. My oldest has a chronic illness and couldn't go overnight anywhere without one of his parents. Camp had the resources to keep him safe and allow him to be a kid without his parent's hovering. My youngest is a very healthy "well child." He spent a lot of his childhood in doctor's offices or with family while his brother was in the hospital. Camp gave him a chance to star in his own life. Sibling session is a vital mission that I've never seen done by other charities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a difficult time suggesting one. I've been given many opportunities to give comments and criticism directly to Hole in the Wall as a volunteer. My thoughts were always well received. They are very open to hearing how things can be done better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

stated above, not sure how they could execute it.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It gave me comfort that there are a lot of great, giving people in the world.

March 7, 2012

more

March 7, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this organization. The wonderful Paul Newman, now happily acting in heaven, gave an immense gift to sick children, their families & everyone involved with this wonderful place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I began working at the Hole in the Wall in 2000 and then spent anywhere from a few weeks to an entire summer working there for 6 years. It is one of the most magical places on the planet, an oasis in the middle of the Connecticut woods where kids and their families who are suffering from blood diseases and cancer can rediscover fun. Volunteering there is not easy, but it is GOOD work. And some of the most rewarding time I have spent on this earth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

A long time ago I went to the sibling session at THITWGC and it was amazing, so I went back the next year as a volunteer. My experiences with camp have had a lasting affect in inspiring me to work with seriously ill or disabled people for the rest of my life. Camp has had a giant impact on my family and my sister, in providing a lifetime of experiences and a community that she would not otherwise have. I love camp!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

The HTWGC is a magical place! After two summers of volunteering, I can't wait to go back this year. To witness the joy that camp brings to these children has been such a gift to me! The days and nights are filled with opportunities for children to experience activities that they might never have had the chance to try. The staff is AMAZING and filled with boundless energy and enthusiasm for their campers. There is such an atmosphere of love and respect spread throughout camp. In just a short week, I have watched kids become so close within their "cabin" family, learning new things about themselves and their peers. These life lessons are as important a part of camp as the fun that just comes with the whole experience. If you are blessed enough to have the opportunity to come to camp, as a camper, a counselor, or as a volunteer, your life will never be the same!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

When I first started volunteering 9 years ago, I didn't understand the profound effect that a week at camp could have on the campers served by this great organization. Ordinary summer camp experiences like catching a fish, building a birdhouse, riding a horse, climbing a rock wall, or going swimming may well be out of the question for many of our campers - until they spend a week at The Hole In The Wall Gang Camp. The Medical Staff, Summer Staff, and volunteers show remarkable resourcefulness so a camper can safely experience all the camp activities that he/she wants. I now have a camper granddaughter who recently summed up her perspective on camp "Everybody here is my friend".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at this year-round camp for seriously ill children as a medical doctor. I find working at the camp very fulfilling and satisfying. The campers are very active. They love to dance at every meal. They develop great friendships with one another and with the staff. With all the adversity these children face in their daily lives, they really value their relationships. They are mature beyond their years because of what they are going through. They appreciate that life is more about relationships than things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 18, 2011

more

March 18, 2011

My first experience with camp was a resident physician in 2003...and I have enjoyed the privilege of volunteering since that time. What I always say about my camp experience is that I started volunteering while still in training so that I might become a better doctor...what I soon realized is that camp not only has made me a better doctor but a better person as well. My experiences at Camp Hole in the Wall serve as a constant reminder of what is good in this world...each volunteer, each staff member, each camper bring energy, compassion and kindness making camp one of the greatest places to be.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a multitude of ways. As a practicing oncologist, I see the benefits daily through the eyes of my patients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to offer the experience to as many children as possible.

March 10, 2011

more

March 10, 2011

THITWGC was a place I went to offer... finally I ended up getting sooo much back. Thus I had to go back again and again and again... and every time I had the same feeling: I was always getting back more. THITWGC is a place that brings the best out of everyone: campers, staff and volunteers. I was blessed to have had the camp experience in my life. Now I am 5.000miles away from camp and it has been many years since my last summer there but every single memory is still with me every day of my life helping me in noumerous ways. So... once more... the camp keeps offering me so much more than I have ever had offered. Does that mean that perhaps it's time for me to go back? I send my warmest kisses and thoughts to everyone in CT. Maria, former staff & volunteer (now living in Greece). :)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every aspect of my life and in others' lives. It makes the rest of the year worth living while aticipatting going back at camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create a new camp in Greece... if only that would be possible some day!!!

March 10, 2011

more

March 10, 2011

The Hole In The Wall Gang Camp. It changed my life. Just the first step on campus. You see about the brightest of the brightest smiles all over on these children faces. You find that there are better things in life than just thinking about yourself or worrying about the smaller things in life. When really you could be helping millions of children who just want that normal life like any other kid/teen their age. You could give them that. By giving them that, you could give yourself peace and happiness. Love and Joy. It's changed my life volunteering there as an L.I.T. I was a camper as well. They gave me the most amazing time ever there. I loved giving it back to other children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing how amazing it could be, not to only be the camper but to make the camper just as happy as you were. It's helped me see the better in life. How important caring about others can be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the sessions longer! Definitely make them a few days longer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

More L.I.T. workshops. To help learn the other L.I.T's better.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I met new friends and learned responsibility.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Completely Amazing.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us in our administrative office in New Haven, CT.