Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2011

I have volunteered as part of the medical staff for the past 13 years. I've had the pleasure of seeing kids return year after year and telling me that they've looked forward all year long to their w... more

April 5, 2013

My family and I have been volunteering here for 15 years. My son started as a camper and for the past two summers has been a Leader in training (LIT I & Ii).
We look forward to our week of volunteering all year long. It's great to be able to help the kids have fun in a safe and loving
environment. I'm not sure who gets more out if it, me or the kids. Equal. This is an excellently run camp, with top-notch facilities and staff. Can't wait for my week this summer!
Dr Dave

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2011

I have volunteered as part of the medical staff for the past 13 years. I've had the pleasure of seeing kids return year after year and telling me that they've looked forward all year long to their week at camp. These children with chronic illnesses get to experience a fun, safe, loving environment in rural Connecticut that lets them play like any other children. Just like the kids, I look forward to my week each year at camp - it is inspiring and motivational! In addition to volunteering my time, I am also a donor . See you at Camp! Dr Dave

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering one session a summer for the past 13 years

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more children come to camp every year!

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 14, 2011

I had the privilege of volunteering at THITWGC for 9 seasons. Every year I hope I can get time off from work to go volunteer again. Well structured, well organized, excellent staff training, and use... more

October 16, 2012

Compasion, caring and a whole lot of fun. These are the hallmarks of Hole in the Wall. High standards for facilities, staff training, program as well as camper safety and well being. A place where children with exceptional medical need can be "normal" for a week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 14, 2011

I had the privilege of volunteering at THITWGC for 9 seasons. Every year I hope I can get time off from work to go volunteer again. Well structured, well organized, excellent staff training, and use of resources. They do an excellent job of fullfilling their mission statement. My own children were campers here, as well as volunteers and their experiences were life changing. It is clear that the children's needs and happiness are put first.

Hole in The Wall is a glimmer of hope and respite for families struggling with chronically ill children. The only criticism I can give (since you asked for it) is integrating volunteers into the routine of camp. This can be difficult because the full summer staff is such a tight knit group. The effort is clearly there to bring everyone up to speed quickly Frankly, I don't know how anyone could effectly do this, but you ask for a criticism, and if there is some way I'm sure Hole in the Wall will find it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the lives of my children. My oldest has a chronic illness and couldn't go overnight anywhere without one of his parents. Camp had the resources to keep him safe and allow him to be a kid without his parent's hovering. My youngest is a very healthy "well child." He spent a lot of his childhood in doctor's offices or with family while his brother was in the hospital. Camp gave him a chance to star in his own life. Sibling session is a vital mission that I've never seen done by other charities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a difficult time suggesting one. I've been given many opportunities to give comments and criticism directly to Hole in the Wall as a volunteer. My thoughts were always well received. They are very open to hearing how things can be done better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

stated above, not sure how they could execute it.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It gave me comfort that there are a lot of great, giving people in the world.

March 7, 2012

more

March 7, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this organization. The wonderful Paul Newman, now happily acting in heaven, gave an immense gift to sick children, their families & everyone involved with this wonderful place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 18, 2012

more

February 18, 2012

Chemotherapy may have saved my life, but the Hole in the Wall Gang Camp saved my spirit. I was a very angry eight year-old when my mother brought me to camp for the first time. She jokes that when she picked me up it was like picking up a different kid. The Hole in the Wall is like no other camp on the planet. It lets children who have all kinds of medical difficulties live, play, and celebrate just like normal kids. At camp, each child has a different story but they are all in the same boat. We laughed at doctor jokes, we climbed the rock tower, and we camped out despite our medical regimes. There is so much love in one place, its almost impossible to stay angry. That what makes the Hole in the Wall the most amazing place on earth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Even though i missed my parents when they left me at the beginning, my counselors really cheered me up and I knew that camp definitely the place for me. We do so many activities with our cabin in the daytime we can go..... horse back riding, do archery, make arts and crafts, go to the wood shop, go swimming, do theater acting, go to sports and rec, go fishing, go into the treehouse, and possibly play tennis or to do mini golfing I feel like camp is part of my family now that I have experienced camp. And it was an extraordinary experience of a lifetime. thats how much I love camp!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I began working at the Hole in the Wall in 2000 and then spent anywhere from a few weeks to an entire summer working there for 6 years. It is one of the most magical places on the planet, an oasis in the middle of the Connecticut woods where kids and their families who are suffering from blood diseases and cancer can rediscover fun. Volunteering there is not easy, but it is GOOD work. And some of the most rewarding time I have spent on this earth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

I am a parent of two campers, a cancer survivor and a sibling camper. When my son was diagnosed with cancer our who family went into overdrive and began a journey down a road no family should travel. Our family first went to HITWGC for a Family Weekend, and it was the first time we were able to spend time with people "who just get it". Once my children attended camp we saw a huge weight lifted...they finally felt like they had a place to belong. The kids were so happy to spend time with people who cared and understood. My kids are addicted to HITWGC, they would live there if it was allowed. Thank you camp for giving my family a new start.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many ways. Family Weekends, COPE Weekend, camp week, sibling week. Holiday Party, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the summer break so they could have more weeks and give more kids this amazing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

CT. Children's Medical Center.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Acceptance of being a family who has had a child with a life threatening disease.

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

A long time ago I went to the sibling session at THITWGC and it was amazing, so I went back the next year as a volunteer. My experiences with camp have had a lasting affect in inspiring me to work with seriously ill or disabled people for the rest of my life. Camp has had a giant impact on my family and my sister, in providing a lifetime of experiences and a community that she would not otherwise have. I love camp!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

The HTWGC is a magical place! After two summers of volunteering, I can't wait to go back this year. To witness the joy that camp brings to these children has been such a gift to me! The days and nights are filled with opportunities for children to experience activities that they might never have had the chance to try. The staff is AMAZING and filled with boundless energy and enthusiasm for their campers. There is such an atmosphere of love and respect spread throughout camp. In just a short week, I have watched kids become so close within their "cabin" family, learning new things about themselves and their peers. These life lessons are as important a part of camp as the fun that just comes with the whole experience. If you are blessed enough to have the opportunity to come to camp, as a camper, a counselor, or as a volunteer, your life will never be the same!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp has played a huge part in my life. This camp and all that it entails made my family a stronger unit, shaped who I am today and helped me to create relationships with some of the most amazing people in all the world!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us in our administrative office in New Haven, CT.