Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
December 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

THE MENTAL HEALTH WORKERS ARE IN EXPERIENCED AND LIARS. THEY FALSIFY DOCUMENTS, WRITING FALSE REPORTS TO THE DEPARTMENT OF WELFARE. YOUTHS EMOTIONALLY ABUSED AND RESTRAINED FOR NO GOOD REASON. ALOT OF BULLYING.
THE NURSES? THEY SHOULD BE CNAs OR MED TECHs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was a resident at Hoffman Homes a very long time ago. I was a child who had been in many residential treatment facilities growing up, much like a lot of other kids who "grow up in the system." Hoffman Homes was the very best! The staff who worked with me on a daily basis were so kind and caring. They made me feel like a "normal" kid- someone who didn't have all the emotional issues I had. They were warm hearted people who cared about the children they worked with. Many times I felt like I was just living with a really big, diverse family. I'll always remember Ms. Deavers. She was the grandmother I always wished I had. "If I had a million dollars..." she'd sing. Hoffman homes is a wonderful treatment based facility. I think that their approach to all the different therapies you receive is up close and personal and specially formulated for each individual. Hoffman homes is unique from other facilities because you're working with people who truly care about the well being of children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Truly inspirational....
The work that the staff and volunteers do for these youth in need is heart-warming.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Hoffman Homes does truly wonderful work. Their staff are very dedicated to the children. and they certainly do what they can to make things great for them. I enjoy giving my time and money to them, because I know it is a good cause, and it will be used for the benefit of the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Hoffman Homes provides caring residential, educational, recreational and therapeutic services to, on average, about 90 youth who benefit from a highly dedicated staff. As a non-profit organization, funding is always an issue. Nonetheless, Hoffman Homes has a highly competent managerial and direct care staff and a well maintained campus, residences and programs. The love and care that is shared with the residents and the focus on providing a safe and secure residential program experience enables the majority of youth to meet their program goals and re-enter their community settings better prepared to succeed. Hoffman Homes is a great place that provides an outstanding program!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I was first asked to serve on the Board of Hoffman Homes, I wondered whether serving on the board would be worth the ride from Maryland to Gettysburg Pennsylvania. Now after being associated with Hoffman for 12 years, I have no doubts. When I meet the children that are served, I feel very good knowing that I have helped in a small way. The management and staff of Hoffman are the real heroes but I always feel better on my trip home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Hoffman Homes for over 14 years as a board member and as a member of the Friends group. Hoffman Homes has the most caring staff I have ever met. They are constantly looking for ways to help the children. In addition to traditional therapies seen in this type of facility, the children are provided with pet and horse therapies, art therapy, and horticultural therapy. The administration is constantly looking for ways to provide treatment in a nurturing environment for these children. The experiences the children have at Hoffman Homes are often the best that they have experienced in their short lives. It is important that Hoffman Homes finds more ways to continue and enrich these programs so that more children can be helped.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My personal experience with Hoffman homes has been amazing. The way they treat my son is wonderful. I want to thank everyone there for being so caring and understanding. Thank you so much to everyone at Hoffman homes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have served as a board member of Hoffman Homes for over 7 years and look forward to continuing that relationship. I was first introduced to Hoffman Homes by my wife who served on various committees several years before. The mission of Hoffman Homes really drew my attention due to the crying need for such support for troubled and abused children. My observations over the past seven years have proven to me that the dedication of the staff to the well being and developmen of these children is without parallel. The facility itself is also an ideal environment to enhance the work of a residential treatment program. Never once have I ever felt anything but admiration for the work that is being done here.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been involved with Hoffman Homes for over 2 years now and also a board member. I have been very close friends with the CEO, Mitch Snider for many years who is the one that got me emotionally involved with stories he has shared with me. That made it easy for me to decide to become active in a place like Hoffman Home. A quote I once heard sums up why I want to help good people get a better shot a life, " Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not." ~ Dr. Suess. Since I took my first step into Hoffman Home for Youth, it has change my life wanting to make others' better. ~Dan Sharrer

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with the daily tasks associated with the Therapeutic Horsemanship Program including feeding and grooming the horses.