Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 9, 2012

more

December 9, 2012

This staff members of this organization treats those who are served with dignity and respect. The staff is very committed to assisting individuals and families, and expanding awareness of the organization within the San Antonio community. Providing a Diaper Bank allows our organization to address a great need in our community, as there is no government assistance for diapers. We are very pleased to partner Methodist Healthcare Ministries' Wesley Nurse Health Ministries in offer parenting education classes. We feel strongly that this non-profit organization is helping families and individuals with babies the essential item of diapers to raise healthy children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

The first time I heard about HRPCH I was so moved by the work they were doing through their parenting classes, I seized a corporate opportunity to partner with them. We met with the director to see if our company Nationwide Insurance, could plan a "baby shower" in order to help with baby item donations. Since then, we have had 2 events and HRPCH's story was selected for Nationwide's United Way campaign in 2012. Teaching parenting skills is so needed in our Community but often not an option for those who are already struggling to make ends meet. HRPCH gives individuals a chance to succeed by teaching them life skills they will use for a lifetime. At the same time, they use resources to help individuals with other needs. They treat everyone with dignity and respect. The Community feels blessed when they leave that place! I have also had the privilege of serving on the board this year and I have seen firsthand how this organization is truly lead by passionate individuals with a heart to serve our Community and show Christ's compassion through example.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

An unmet need of economically struggling families with very young children is having sufficient diapers to maintain proper sanitation and health. In addition to meeting emergency food needs of San Antonio’s households, the Hispanic Religious Partnership for Community Health has identified this unmet need and addresses it by not only supplying diapers but also, and perhaps more importantly, providing parenting classes to those parents receiving the diapers. Classes address the very important subjects of health, stimulation, guidance, discipline, and nutrition. As a ministry of the United Methodist Churches in the area, clients receive treatment with care and compassion as the mission and core value of the board and staff are undergirded with the teachings of and belief in Jesus Christ. Early childhood care is recognized as a key factor, perhaps THE key factor, in future growth and development. The Hispanic religious Partnership for Community Health is recognized as a prime and effective force in this area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been blessed by being serving as a board member of this organization for the last ten years. When I began serving, Jorge Medina had just started working as the director. He has helped guide this organization to reach out to various parts of San Antonio providing first class service to the clients. While the staff has changed through the years, Jorge has been the consistent person helping the board seek to provide vision, planning, guidance, monitoring, and hope for the future as the program and outreach has expanded. As board we have been pleased that with limited resources but a dedicated, caring staff we have been able to provide a holistic service to our clients and are continuing to seek new partnership to better serve people. We are proud to know that our organization is finally beginning to be recognized as it stives for excellence in all its programs through its staff and volunteers. As a board we know there is still much that needs to be done and improved, but pray that God will help us fulfill our responsibility to better serve people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

My church is located in an area of San Antonio, TX, that is underserved by social service agencies and non-profit ministries. We have a high level of unemployment and underemployment among residents near our building. We were overwhelmed by requests for help, especially for groceries. We could only afford to have the Mobile Food Pantry come to our site 4 times a year. Thanks to the HRPCH, we will be able to host them every month for the next year. What a great ministry! Besides food, HRPCH makes parenting classes and a diaper pantry available to needy families. They sponsor Baby Boutiques for parents to be able to earn new baby clothing and equipment by attending classes. They have helped many of our folks with utility bills and eye care. We thank God for their ministry!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

My church operated a small Food Pantry out of the church building consisting of mostly canned food donated by the congregation. Our targeted recipients were those who came to the church seeking immediate and temporary assistance with food. However, as we began to serve more people, we realized we needed to expand our food ministry to keep up with the demand. When we approached the Hispanic Religious Partnership for Community Health, we learned they just happened to be looking for a new distribution site in our Zip Code. With minimal advertisement, we had our first Mobil Food Truck from the Food Bank, sponsored by the HRP, come to our church parking lot. We understand the usual turnout for a first such event is around 70 people. We had 125 come for food! HRP's sponsoring the Mobil Food Truck in our neighborhood has been an immediate success and blessing. We look forward to a long relationship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I am a member of a church that parner with HRPCH about 7 months ago. we are so happy to been able to serve the comunity through the mobil food pantry and the diaper bank. we help about 200 families each month with food and about 110 famies with diapers each month. all this we can not be done without the support of ameilio and this ministry. thabks for all the support and help you give us

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I started as volunteer with HRPCH almost two years after it began. I am a Food Pantry volunteer for El Divino Salvador U.M.C. located on 1701 W. Woodlawn, San Antonio, TX 78201. The Food Pantry was started by three elderly ladies and the customer base was about 10 or 15 clients. We opened one day a week each month. HRPCH partnered with the City and we were guest at the City Health Fairs. We grew from one to one greet and introduce the community to our services and letting them know where we are located. Very soon we were feeding 125 clients each week of the month. Our volunteer pool grew to twelve regular church members volunteering to pickup the food, stock the shelves, interview the cliens and distribute the foods. The friendly caring manner in which the client is welcomed and treated with dignity makes our Food Panty tops. The fact that Hispanic Religious Partership for Community Health Inc. is housed at our church makes it convient for our clients to access other services offered by the staff of HRPCH. The HRPCH staff is friendly and ready to greet and serve the clients that we refer to them. I became a board member about three years ago and we have taken training class to ensure that we are meeting the requirements of a Non-Profit Help Service Agency. Jorge Medina continues to seek ways to help city families with services that can reduce the financial strain in many households with small children and babies. Health maintenace is a high concern for board members. During client interviews by the HRPCH staff and Food Pantry volunteers we can see what help services the clients need. Many choices are made by young families and elderly. Decisions about providing medical care or nourishment for themselves or their families is often last in their budget because of their low income and high cost of living. When they come to HRPCH they are treated with dignity and helped promptly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I was looking to help families who struggled to keep up with the diaper demands when I came across the HRPCH's website. I called and spoke with a person not a machine! The gentleman exuded enthusiasm and a real commitment to the cause he worked for. And, he was SO welcoming when he found out that I wanted to help by having a diaper drive in my neighborhood. This was my first real Drive and I needed guidance. He went out of his way to support me through the whole thing. Afterwards, he was so grateful (along with the rest of the staff)! This is a wonderful group who truly want to serve the community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I interned for HRPCH and loved every second of it! The staff really cares about the clients they serve and is always willing to go the extra mile for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers