Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

In June of 2013 I had an opportunity to work with Teresa, Rich, and other His Kids, Too volunteers in the summer Bible camps being offered at public schools and the community center. I was also able to assist in aid distribution of baby items such as diapers and other needs for children in the AIDS hospital, and items for the mothers at the maternity hospital. The need is very great and His Kids, Too is doing an excellent job of reaching out to those in need and doing what they can to help alleviate some of the hardships of life in Eastern Europe. The community center is a beautiful facility that daily opens their doors to the children and teens in their neighborhood, offering a safe place where children can play and learn. I would highly recommend this organization to those looking to donate or volunteer.
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

My husband and I wanted to adopt from the Ukraine. We found Cornerstone Adoption and this wonderful organization. We worked through the paperwork and after almost 2 years my patience had worn quite thin with the paperwork and bureaucratic issues. My husband managed to scrape together the additional funds to send me to work with this group for 2 weeks before our adoption was complete. Not only was I able to aide children in 25 different orphanages but I was able to experience and witness the life our future children lived from day to day. Eating the same food, living and working with some of the older teens as we did the bible camp and of course helping to deliver food, clothing, shoes and bible stories to shelters and orphanages. It changed my perspective and helped me to be more patient with our children when they were frustrated in their new home and world. All children are the same around the world – they only want attention, love and acceptance from adults. Language doesn’t matter, culture doesn’t matter – we are all God’s children and want to feel special and loved by everyone. This organization is trying to make a difference. The skills they are teaching the youth are basic life skills that we often take for granted because our parents or grandparents taught them to us. These children have few role models that are willing to spend the time to teach them these things. If you’re not able to go won’t you consider helping others to go and model God’s love, responsibility and acceptance to these children and youth?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change would be to have an endless supply of money and people who are willing to go and work to aid children widows and those who are sick. The organization is fine as it is to my knowledge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I WAS VERY GLAD,WHEN TERESA FILLMON AND -HIS KIDS TOO INVITED ME IN SUMMER CAMP TO DZERDJINSK IN UKRAINE! THIS CAMP GAVE FOR KIDS MORE DEVELOPMENT AND CHANGE THEIR LIFE ! THANKS A LOT FOR AMERICANS AND UKRAINES VOLUNTEERS,WHO DID BIGGEST JOB IN CAMP!!! EVERYBODY DID SPECIAL WORK FOR HELP CHILDREN AND DID THEM LIFE MORE INTERESTING !!! KIDS PLAYED DEFFERENT GAMES AND LESTEN NICE LECTURES,WHICH GAVE FOR THEM MR.RICH FILLMON AND SASHA WITH VITALY AND KATE ! THANKS A LOT DASHS AND ANOTHER PEOPLE WHO VERY UNDERSTAND TRANSLATED ENGLISH AND RUSSIAN LANGUAGES!!! AND SPECIALY I WANT SAY MY APPRECIATION TERESA FILLMON,WHO WAS FOR US THE BEST HELPER AND EXAMPLE !!! I LOVE YOU-HIS KIDS TOO AND WILL HELP IN THE FUTURE !!! MY BEST WISHES AND HAVE NICE LIFE !!! SERGEY GUSEV,SOCHI,RUSSIA !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I WOULD LIKE IN NEXT MY VISIT HELP AGAIN FOR KIDS,BUT FOR MORE IMPROVE JOB WITH THEM NEED HAVE MASSAGE TABLE,1 OR 2 COURTS FOR BEACH TENNIS WITH RACKETS !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2013

This summer I was given the opportunity to help serve the Special Needs children camp in Dzershinsk Ukraine with the HIS KIDS Too director Teresa Fillmon. The camp encouraged the children to be thems... more

October 5, 2013

I was given the opportunity to serve and help out at a His Kids Too Special Needs children's Camp in Ukraine with Teresa Fillmon! I had a wonderful time assisting the children the children had special needs ranging from cerebral palsy to birth defects to physical disabilities with tennis activities and having fun ! It was a life changing experience, and I will never forget the children I got to meet and play with at the Center and at the camp. I would encourage all to experience volunteering for this special organization. It will be well worth it :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013

This summer I was given the opportunity to help serve the Special Needs children camp in Dzershinsk Ukraine with the HIS KIDS Too director Teresa Fillmon. The camp encouraged the children to be themselves play and have fun , and to see God's love portrayed by all those involved in serving at the camp and to hear God's Word. We also delivered humanitarian aid to local baby and maternity hospitals, orphanages, shelters. I was able to see those places and get a feel for Ukraine. Such an life changing trip and eye opening trip for me to see experience another life and culture of Ukraine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

We became affiliated with HisKidsToo in 2006 as we were seeking to adopt from Ukraine. Teresa Fillmon and her facilitators are the reason we were able to rescue our son, Christopher, a special needs boy severely burned when he was 3 months old. Without HisKidsToo involvement in orphanages throughout Ukraine, many children like our son would wither away with no hope.
We had the privilege to visit Teresa last weekend (7yrs later) and she is as passionate about the work as when we first met her. We fully support the mission and goals of HisKidsToo!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with more money and publicity...most certainly!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

I became involved with His Kids Too ministries when my cousin contacted me about helping with a children's camp in Ukraine, where they had adopted her little brother two years earlier. While volunteering with His Kids Too, I taught a class of 20 middle school aged children during our VBS, spent time with the children that came to the community center on a daily basis and also helped out with a Special Needs Camp that His Kids Too hosted. This organization does great work for the people of Ukraine, young and old. Teresa Fillmon and her family truly have a heart for God and his work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2013

more

January 2, 2013

I contacted Teresa Fillmon in April 2009, when our son's former orphanage in Makiivka, Donetsk, Ukraine was the recipient of our children's school's WalkAThon. Teresa made an inititial visit to the home to speak to the Director, to investigate what their needs were for the 80+ children who resided there. Teresa also demanded that the items which Teresa and her volunteers purchased be stamped with "Donated by His Kids Too- NOT TO BE RESOLD". Then, the items were procured from local wholesale suppliers that Teresa knew or contacted for- clothing, shoes, vitamins, 2 refrigerators, an industrial meat grinder (Of all things) toiletries, towels, etc. THEN, as promised when she initially met the Director, Teresa and her volunteers followed up to ensure the donations were used for the ORPHANS who resided there and not resold. Sadly, as many adoptive parents of Eastern European adoptions are aware, corruption and misuse of funds is rampant there; due to the desperation and poverty in Ukraine.

Also, the thing that truly impressed me was that Teresa added our son's former orphanage to their regular annual mission schedule. Because of the generosity and selflessness of the His Kids Too organization, these children have been given Christmas boxes/stockings filled with gifts, necessities that they probably never would had possessed. Also, Teresa and her staff visit this home in the Spring and Summer.

In addition to visiting orphanages in Ukraine, Teresa, her husband and family have devoted their lives to building a community center in the Donetsk region of Ukraine that assists kids and adults, who probably have "aged out" of the orphanage system in Ukraine. There is a special place in heaven for Teresa, her family and her volunteers. By the way, NONE of the funds collected were used for administrative costs; ALL of it benefited the kids.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My family recently met Teresa Fillmon, director of Hiskidstoo, after learning that they deliver humanitarian aid to the same shelter that my 2 sons had lived in before we adopted them. Teresa is an amazing woman who has devoted many years of her life to helping the orphans and widows in Ukraine. She currently works with 27 orphanages, delivering aid, speaking to prospective adoptive and foster parents, collecting donations and countless other projects to help in the survival of the families and children in Ukraine. They recently opened a community center for the children in the town of Dzerzinsk to have a place to go to have fun and learn about God. She, her family and many volunteers work tirelessly in their efforts. She works hard at keeping up the www.hiskidstoo.org web site so that people can actually see that all of their time, energy and donations are being delivered and appreciated!! Seeing is believing and I encourage everyone to go to the site, see the pictures, watch the videos and fall in love with these amazing children!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I started traveling with HisKidsToo in2000 and have made 15 trip through the year. In these years we have seen some changes but for the most part children are cared for very poorly. HisKidsToo has given thousand of articale of clothing , gifts of health care item shoes and many other needs have been supplied. In 2008 a grant was received to purchase housing for children leaving the orphanages to learn to live out in real world. There is on question ever dollar is used for the benifit of children . We have been involed in helping inslaved grils escape and live in safe places. Also working to free disable children from the hands of people who say they do not need a education are health care. With this grant funds for a community center has been built to have a place for children and adults to study about God and learn to trust other people as they have a very hard time trusting other.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I first became aware of the plight of orphans in Ukraine when my family adopted a little girl from the same region where HisKidsToo serves many orphans. This organization is hard working, diligent committed and passionate about helping orphans in this country. I know that the gifts I give will go to the kids in need. I have come to know one of the founders personally and have found her to have integrity and honesty, but mostly a passion to see orphans assisted and loved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

visit schools and ask for their 'lost and found' collecting it for orphans; visit local stores asking for in-kind donations; assemble stockings for Christmas; send out e-mails to encourage others to support charity; if you were in Ukraine, you would visit orphan facilities and interact with orphans