Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

HCF is a most worthy charity, providing education, food, clothing, and medical care for deserving children in the Himalayan region. HCF also supports young Buddhist monks and nuns to continue their studies and practice, and in so doing preserves a rich ancient tradition based on compassion for others. HCF is the vision of The Very Venerable Khenchen Thrangu Rinpoche, one of the great meditation masters of our time. The organization’s longtime director, Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies, does an impeccable job. Because this organization is administered by unpaid volunteers, overhead costs are minimal and donations go where they are truly needed.

I feel much gratification in donating to this fine organization. Debra Ann keeps us informed about projects through pictures and articles in the monthly newsletter. Our donations really do make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family has been involved with the Himalyan Childrens Fund for most of ten years. What initially started as a glance through a photo album of young children needing sponsors has grown to an understanding and deep appreciation for the work of the school and the huge commitment made by the volunteers, the children attending the school and the families of those children. The school provides for the physical, emotional and spiritual well being of each child that comes there - children that come from conditions in one of the poorest and most destitute areas of the world. Not only does the school succeed in remedying the assorted health ailments associated with chronic malnutrition, but it provides them with an education that easily surpasses what the Nepali government offers and compares to internationally acclaimed programs. And they do this with volunteers, lay people and ordained buddhists who accomplish the seemingly impossible through their unwavering commitment.

My family now sponsors three wonderful children and one ordained monk, and when I read their letters of what they hold valuable and sacred in their lives, I make the aspiration that my own children, who in comparison have every benefit and opportunity, can likewise embrace the world in such a heart felt, intelligent and compassionate way. When I started on the journey of first becoming involved with HCF, I had no children of my own. Now that I have two sons, I understand and appreciate much more deeply what this organization does, and how happy it makes me to be given a chance to afford some/any children to attend the school and grow into literate, healthy adults who care to serve and make a difference in those very destitute conditions from which they were born into. It is absolutely inspiring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just like to see this HCF and Shree Mangal Dvip School grow as a model that could be used by other schools in Nepal to improve them to this level. It would be wonderful some day to see support come in from political organizations around the world, for this is the type of organization that creates meaningful change in the world with no political agenda or purpose.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Himalayan Childeren’s Fund accomplishes so much with our contribution. They house, clothe, feed and provide an excellent education to the children that we sponsor. They teach morals and manners to them as well.
Several times per year we receive letters from the children and we are amazed how
well they have learned to write to us in English. The letters reflect how these children fel about their experience and it is very positive to hear from them that HCF is doing an incredible job and that HCF provides a much needed service.
The children are growing up to be caring responsible adults who will have the education to be capable of supporting themselves and contributing to society.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

We have been donating to Himalayan Children's Fund for over 10 years. We started with a nun, then it turned into 3 students at the school. As well as a Shedra studying to be a translator. We have so much joy in receiving letters from the children. Our oldest son, who is 8, gets to send drawings and share his life with the children. It's really profound. The girl we sponsor sees herself as one of my daughters and includes a picture of herself in the drawings with the picture of our family she draws. I think I cried when I got that card. These children are so special. I have a friend who recently visited and brought gifts for them. I sent 13 of the largest vitamin bottles I could find to send with her. Anything that we can do to help the health of these children, to support them and have them become literate and give back to their country is really beautiful. It is my wish that more people see just how magical this school is and how wonderful the Himalayan Children's Fund is. The giving is so little to get so much in return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't do a thing. It's wonderful as is.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

For the past five years I have had the pleasure of sponsoring a boarding school student in order to enable her to attend the Shree Mangal Dvip Boarding School. This school is one of the many wonderful projects funded by the Himalayan Children's Fund. It has been delightful receiving annual hand-written correspondence from this student and watching her grow and develop physically, spiritually, and academically. I have also been impressed by the hard work, devotion, and compassion of the Fund's director, Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies, who I know personally and admire and respect.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I originally got to know the Himalayan Children's Fund through its director, Debra Ann Robinson. I was amazed by the wide range of activities it funds. I have sponsored two residential students at SMD, both of whom established and maintain contact with me personally, which I treasure. HCF has great integrity, a confidence inspired by Thrangu Rinpoche and by all my many dealings with the organization and its projects and members. I have personally visited quite a few of the projects in Nepal and India and plan to continue to do so when I can. I urge others support these projects and to feel assured that the funds are spent wisely.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2013

I have donated to HCF for three years, and have sponsored a Buddhist nun in Nepal. I was in Nepal for a different non-profit, and extended my time in Nepal by a week so I could visit the abbey. The communication system in Nepal is not really efficient, so it took some persistence to actually connect with the nuns of Tara Abbey. But once I met them, they received me with a warm welcome. I visited the abbey and stayed in the guest room for two nights. One of the nuns who spoke fluent English was assigned to be my guide, and she was delightful. We visited some beautiful Buddhist stupas, and she gave me some lessons on the meaning of the traditions.

The nuns seemed to be genuinely delighted that I was there, and I was certainly delighted to be there.

I met the nun who we've been sponsoring for the past three years. And although she did not speak English, she let me know she was very grateful for my sponsorship. Once I heard about her devotion and practice, I feel honored to be her sponsor.

Tara Abbey is a lovely place, very peaceful and loving. I am pleased with the work that HCF is doing with Tara Abbey and the nuns who live there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful efforts to help poor children acquire an education I have ever had the honor to observe. The motivations of the people running things are as pure and noble as I could hope for. I am honored just knowing such an organization exists in this world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

We so very much appreciate the Himalayan Childrens Fund--for that it makes possible to help not only the Tibetan refugee children but also other Himalayan children. We were first drawn to donate to Tara Abbey but in time we realized that those in charge of the fund knew best where money most needed to go and let them decide what that would be. There are so many ways that one can help... which is one of the positive attributes of this non-profit. We enjoy the personal attention that Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies gives to these efforts and to us as donors. We are touched by the compassion that Ven. Thrangu Rinpoche demonstrates through these many projects in Nepal. Here there are so many people giving of their time, energy, and money in various ways. And then those who are being helped will be helping others as well, now and in the future. All the money donated goes directly to these projects.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Very inspirational in hearing the stories of the nuns and children who have been helped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money if we could.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The inspiration of Ven. Thrangu Rinpoche and the need of these displaced Tibetan nuns is so great.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

We donate yearly when we can.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Your donation will do a tremendous benefit. You will be supporting individuals and an organization that exists to benefit others.

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The HCF established by VV Thrangu Rinpoche provides food, clothing, education and lots of love for many children in the Himalayan Region. I have visited both the monasteries and schools that are part of HCF and found the children, monks and nuns to all be thriving-healthy, happy and getting an excellent education. Perhaps the most important gift these children are receiving by HCF is to be under the nurturing and compassionate love and care of Thrangu Rinpoche, a meditation master in the Tibetan Buddhist Karma Kagyu lineage. Just to catch a glimpse of Rinpoche is a great blessing and all of his senior teachers, Abbots and Abbess provide guidance in all aspects of life, scholarship and Buddhist and secular training.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers