Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

We so very much appreciate the Himalayan Childrens Fund--for that it makes possible to help not only the Tibetan refugee children but also other Himalayan children. We were first drawn to donate to Tara Abbey but in time we realized that those in charge of the fund knew best where money most needed to go and let them decide what that would be. There are so many ways that one can help... which is one of the positive attributes of this non-profit. We enjoy the personal attention that Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies gives to these efforts and to us as donors. We are touched by the compassion that Ven. Thrangu Rinpoche demonstrates through these many projects in Nepal. Here there are so many people giving of their time, energy, and money in various ways. And then those who are being helped will be helping others as well, now and in the future. All the money donated goes directly to these projects.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Very inspirational in hearing the stories of the nuns and children who have been helped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money if we could.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The inspiration of Ven. Thrangu Rinpoche and the need of these displaced Tibetan nuns is so great.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

We donate yearly when we can.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Your donation will do a tremendous benefit. You will be supporting individuals and an organization that exists to benefit others.

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The HCF established by VV Thrangu Rinpoche provides food, clothing, education and lots of love for many children in the Himalayan Region. I have visited both the monasteries and schools that are part of HCF and found the children, monks and nuns to all be thriving-healthy, happy and getting an excellent education. Perhaps the most important gift these children are receiving by HCF is to be under the nurturing and compassionate love and care of Thrangu Rinpoche, a meditation master in the Tibetan Buddhist Karma Kagyu lineage. Just to catch a glimpse of Rinpoche is a great blessing and all of his senior teachers, Abbots and Abbess provide guidance in all aspects of life, scholarship and Buddhist and secular training.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have contributed to HCF for close to a decade and have visited many of the projects that have been funded by HCF. I am particularly impressed with the high quality educational and medical work undertaken by the Fund. The Fund's support for education of girls and women and the providing of both secular and religious studies is important to me. I have confidence that the Fund makes very effective use of donor contributions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have been contributing to Himalayan Childrens Fund since its inception.. Early on, before HCF, I had sponsored a little girl who attended Thrangu Rinpoche's school, Mangal Dvip. She was from a very poor family: her father was partially blind and could not make living and her mother had tuberculous. The famiiy was concerned about this little girl's health but couldn't afford the cost of boarding school. Fortunately, I was able to sponsor her so she received a good education in a healthy environment. She is now married with a child of her own and living in the United States. Before the founding of Himalayan Children's Fund the sending of money to sponsor this child was complicated. Currently I am sponsoring a nun from Thrangu Tara Abbey through HCF. This sponsorship is much easier for me. I have been to Nepal many times and have visited Thrangu Rinpoche's beneficent projects. I cannot speak too highly of HCF.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have followed the philanthropic activity of HCF closely for the past seven years and have developed a clear understanding of the value and importance of their charitable activity in the Himalayan region, which is one of the poorest regions in the world. The donations, and sponsorship money go to very worthy causes and, because this is a volunteer organization, with no paid staff positions, administrative costs are kept to an absolute minimum. In addition, the organization monitors the distribution and allocation of funds closely which means that every dollar contributed makes a real difference to the lives of the needy children they care for.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 28, 2012

I have profound respect for the work being accomplished by the Himalayan Childrens Fund which I have been associated with as a donor for over twenty-years. I have visited Shree Mangal Dvip school in Nepal many times and have seen first hand the high quality of education that is being offered there. It is through the generosity of so many skilled and generous volunteers that the work of this organization is able to do so much where the need is great and resources limited. I intend to continue my support of this organization and urge others to consider contributing as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

The impact this organization has on the population of Nepal and surrounding Himalayan regions is completely profound and virtually unmatched. This is the poorest country in Asia and children would literally starve and have absolutely no future without this brilliant uplifted organization. Their work and impact is superior. A model of goodness and effectiveness. What a non-profit should be and how all the world should take care of one another.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I have donated to HCF for the past several years. It is heartwarming to see the smiles on these children monks and nuns who so appreciate the assistance and education they recieve. I am pleased that monies that the HCF recieves goes directly to supporting all of the projects. I have great confidence in those who run the organization which is why I am a part of this wonderful community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I have sponsored a day student at the Shree Mangal Dvip for several years. I thoroughly enjoy the correspondence I receive throughout the year from my student. It is very heartwarming knowing that my small contribution can make such a huge difference in the life of a child. I am also pleased to know that every penny is spent to educate and care for the children. It is my pleasure to be linked to such a loving and caring organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

An interest in Buddhist Studies led my husband and me to a teacher who opened our hearts to the extraordinary commitment that Thrangu Rinpoche has made to educate and care for underprivileged young people from the Himalayan region. Our hearts joined with many others' when my husband began sponsoring 10 young nuns from Tara Abbey via the contributions he received from teaching yoga. It is a lovely relationship of one community (yoga) supporting another community (students). I was inspired by a personal visit to Shree Mangal Dvip Boarding School (SMD) and Tara Abbey in Nepal that confirmed the wealth of scholarship, personal development, and broad world view provided for these endearing students by the Himalayan Childrens Fund - all from an operating budget that is unimaginably lean. I now support a nun attending monastic college in her quest for a graduate degree. Our warm correspondence with these 11 young women has made the world a much smaller place. We are grateful for the heart connection we share.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers