Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I'm Kabita Rokaya B363 from the mountains in the northwest of Nepal. I'm working on a bachelor's degree in social work. I'd like to convey my heartfelt thanks to Himalayan Children Fund for providing support for my education up to now. My life is so much better now because I see myself working in the fields in ragged
clothes if I hadn't got an opportunity to study at SMD School.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm Tsewang Chodon B330. I graduated from Grade 10 at SMD School in 2011, then I went back to the give service for one year, as a teacher in my village.
Now I'm waiting for admission into a 3 year paramedic course which starts soon. I'm very thankful to Himalayan Childrens Fund for helping me
up to this stage.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

HCF has been very supportive to me. This non-profit organization helped me from the time I was small and now, I am studying in university. I am very much thankful and grateful to HCF family. I really appreciate the support. Your love and care to poor Himalayan kids is admirable and praiseworthy. I'd like to express my gratitude to Debra Ann for taking her personal time to help poor Himalayan kids. A Standing ovation for HCF!!!
Tsering Dhundup Lama B340a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Excellent as it is... Keep it up!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

We have been donating to Himalayan Children's Fund for over 10 years. We started with a nun, then it turned into 3 students at the school. As well as a Shedra studying to be a translator. We have so much joy in receiving letters from the children. Our oldest son, who is 8, gets to send drawings and share his life with the children. It's really profound. The girl we sponsor sees herself as one of my daughters and includes a picture of herself in the drawings with the picture of our family she draws. I think I cried when I got that card. These children are so special. I have a friend who recently visited and brought gifts for them. I sent 13 of the largest vitamin bottles I could find to send with her. Anything that we can do to help the health of these children, to support them and have them become literate and give back to their country is really beautiful. It is my wish that more people see just how magical this school is and how wonderful the Himalayan Children's Fund is. The giving is so little to get so much in return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't do a thing. It's wonderful as is.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I have been donating to the Himalayan Children's Fund, general use account, for a number of years now and am always appreciative of their activities. As a Certified Public Accountant, with over 25 years working with not-for-profits, I can appreciate the effort and dedication it take to run an operation like this, as well as they do.

I visited the school, in Nepal, and have seen first hand the benefit to the children. The facilities are well maintained, the staff is professional and caring and the children are safe and offered a fine education.

My monthly donations will continue, as long as I am able, in order that HCF can continue to benefit the children from the region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have enough inside information regarding strategic plans or tactical operations in order to offer helpful suggestions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

For the past five years I have had the pleasure of sponsoring a boarding school student in order to enable her to attend the Shree Mangal Dvip Boarding School. This school is one of the many wonderful projects funded by the Himalayan Children's Fund. It has been delightful receiving annual hand-written correspondence from this student and watching her grow and develop physically, spiritually, and academically. I have also been impressed by the hard work, devotion, and compassion of the Fund's director, Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies, who I know personally and admire and respect.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I originally got to know the Himalayan Children's Fund through its director, Debra Ann Robinson. I was amazed by the wide range of activities it funds. I have sponsored two residential students at SMD, both of whom established and maintain contact with me personally, which I treasure. HCF has great integrity, a confidence inspired by Thrangu Rinpoche and by all my many dealings with the organization and its projects and members. I have personally visited quite a few of the projects in Nepal and India and plan to continue to do so when I can. I urge others support these projects and to feel assured that the funds are spent wisely.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Himalayan kid from Tatopani, Nepal and I am currently in Canada doing my high school. I was a student at SMD Boarding School. I was sponsored by a American man from Wyoming for 11 years. I was provided with excellent nutritious food, good clothes and challenging modern education. My sponsor donated money via HCF. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2013

I have donated to HCF for three years, and have sponsored a Buddhist nun in Nepal. I was in Nepal for a different non-profit, and extended my time in Nepal by a week so I could visit the abbey. The communication system in Nepal is not really efficient, so it took some persistence to actually connect with the nuns of Tara Abbey. But once I met them, they received me with a warm welcome. I visited the abbey and stayed in the guest room for two nights. One of the nuns who spoke fluent English was assigned to be my guide, and she was delightful. We visited some beautiful Buddhist stupas, and she gave me some lessons on the meaning of the traditions.

The nuns seemed to be genuinely delighted that I was there, and I was certainly delighted to be there.

I met the nun who we've been sponsoring for the past three years. And although she did not speak English, she let me know she was very grateful for my sponsorship. Once I heard about her devotion and practice, I feel honored to be her sponsor.

Tara Abbey is a lovely place, very peaceful and loving. I am pleased with the work that HCF is doing with Tara Abbey and the nuns who live there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful efforts to help poor children acquire an education I have ever had the honor to observe. The motivations of the people running things are as pure and noble as I could hope for. I am honored just knowing such an organization exists in this world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers