Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have been a sponsor for many years. I most like the connection I have with the girl I sponsor. We stay connected through letters, then more recently emails and now we occasionally visit on Skype! She brings so much richness to my life. My father passed away recently and she had traditional butter lamps lit to honor him. I had the good fortune to visit the school a couple of times and the friendliness and smiles were immense. I could see how warm and caring the staff were and how privileged the children felt to be there. I bow to all those that help the existence of this school.
Sincerely, Donna McLaughlin
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have been involved with HCF for most of the last decade. I was introduced by friends in a meditation group. Over that time, I've worked hard to contribute every month to help support the efforts of the group. The work done with the students is amazing and I know that Thrangu Rinpoche's influence is part of every step taken.

I have received regular communication from students I've sponsored as well as the regular newsletter. The efforts of HCF need to continue as the benefits to the students are so crucial in their lives. The integrity of HCF is beyond question and I will always make sure that I contribute regularly.

HCF is a group that deserves your support in any and every way possible.

October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have been a donor for the last 3 years, and have loved every minute of it. The Himalayan Children's fund has been providing for the basic needs of the Himalayan Children. I am greatly honored to be associated with an organization like the HCF. Words can not describe their accomplishments.
May
their work continue to flourish.

Emmanuel
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I've been a HCF donor for over 15 years and every year I am more blown away at the amazing work that this charity provides. I could not give it a higher ranking or recommendation!!
October 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 15, 2014

The Himalayan Children's Fund supports education and basic healthcare for the children of Himalayas. This noteworthy organization not only supports but also brings opportunity to these children. It is a joy to the volunteers and donors to see contributions are well allocated and put to good use.
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

HCF is a most worthy charity, providing education, food, clothing, and medical care for deserving children in the Himalayan region. HCF also supports young Buddhist monks and nuns to continue their studies and practice, and in so doing preserves a rich ancient tradition based on compassion for others. HCF is the vision of The Very Venerable Khenchen Thrangu Rinpoche, one of the great meditation masters of our time. The organization’s longtime director, Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies, does an impeccable job. Because this organization is administered by unpaid volunteers, overhead costs are minimal and donations go where they are truly needed.

I feel much gratification in donating to this fine organization. Debra Ann keeps us informed about projects through pictures and articles in the monthly newsletter. Our donations really do make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family has been involved with the Himalyan Childrens Fund for most of ten years. What initially started as a glance through a photo album of young children needing sponsors has grown to an understanding and deep appreciation for the work of the school and the huge commitment made by the volunteers, the children attending the school and the families of those children. The school provides for the physical, emotional and spiritual well being of each child that comes there - children that come from conditions in one of the poorest and most destitute areas of the world. Not only does the school succeed in remedying the assorted health ailments associated with chronic malnutrition, but it provides them with an education that easily surpasses what the Nepali government offers and compares to internationally acclaimed programs. And they do this with volunteers, lay people and ordained buddhists who accomplish the seemingly impossible through their unwavering commitment.

My family now sponsors three wonderful children and one ordained monk, and when I read their letters of what they hold valuable and sacred in their lives, I make the aspiration that my own children, who in comparison have every benefit and opportunity, can likewise embrace the world in such a heart felt, intelligent and compassionate way. When I started on the journey of first becoming involved with HCF, I had no children of my own. Now that I have two sons, I understand and appreciate much more deeply what this organization does, and how happy it makes me to be given a chance to afford some/any children to attend the school and grow into literate, healthy adults who care to serve and make a difference in those very destitute conditions from which they were born into. It is absolutely inspiring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just like to see this HCF and Shree Mangal Dvip School grow as a model that could be used by other schools in Nepal to improve them to this level. It would be wonderful some day to see support come in from political organizations around the world, for this is the type of organization that creates meaningful change in the world with no political agenda or purpose.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Himalayan Childeren’s Fund accomplishes so much with our contribution. They house, clothe, feed and provide an excellent education to the children that we sponsor. They teach morals and manners to them as well.
Several times per year we receive letters from the children and we are amazed how
well they have learned to write to us in English. The letters reflect how these children fel about their experience and it is very positive to hear from them that HCF is doing an incredible job and that HCF provides a much needed service.
The children are growing up to be caring responsible adults who will have the education to be capable of supporting themselves and contributing to society.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My name is Palsangmo Sherpa B908 from a poor family.I graduated in 2011 and gave one year service to the school as a Hostel teacher and librarian. Right now I'm studying in Grade 11. I'm really grateful to Himalayan Children Fund for their kind support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I'm Kabita Rokaya B363 from the mountains in the northwest of Nepal. I'm working on a bachelor's degree in social work. I'd like to convey my heartfelt thanks to Himalayan Children Fund for providing support for my education up to now. My life is so much better now because I see myself working in the fields in ragged
clothes if I hadn't got an opportunity to study at SMD School.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers