Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

HCF is a most worthy charity, providing education, food, clothing, and medical care for deserving children in the Himalayan region. HCF also supports young Buddhist monks and nuns to continue their studies and practice, and in so doing preserves a rich ancient tradition based on compassion for others. HCF is the vision of The Very Venerable Khenchen Thrangu Rinpoche, one of the great meditation masters of our time. The organization’s longtime director, Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies, does an impeccable job. Because this organization is administered by unpaid volunteers, overhead costs are minimal and donations go where they are truly needed.

I feel much gratification in donating to this fine organization. Debra Ann keeps us informed about projects through pictures and articles in the monthly newsletter. Our donations really do make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family has been involved with the Himalyan Childrens Fund for most of ten years. What initially started as a glance through a photo album of young children needing sponsors has grown to an understanding and deep appreciation for the work of the school and the huge commitment made by the volunteers, the children attending the school and the families of those children. The school provides for the physical, emotional and spiritual well being of each child that comes there - children that come from conditions in one of the poorest and most destitute areas of the world. Not only does the school succeed in remedying the assorted health ailments associated with chronic malnutrition, but it provides them with an education that easily surpasses what the Nepali government offers and compares to internationally acclaimed programs. And they do this with volunteers, lay people and ordained buddhists who accomplish the seemingly impossible through their unwavering commitment.

My family now sponsors three wonderful children and one ordained monk, and when I read their letters of what they hold valuable and sacred in their lives, I make the aspiration that my own children, who in comparison have every benefit and opportunity, can likewise embrace the world in such a heart felt, intelligent and compassionate way. When I started on the journey of first becoming involved with HCF, I had no children of my own. Now that I have two sons, I understand and appreciate much more deeply what this organization does, and how happy it makes me to be given a chance to afford some/any children to attend the school and grow into literate, healthy adults who care to serve and make a difference in those very destitute conditions from which they were born into. It is absolutely inspiring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just like to see this HCF and Shree Mangal Dvip School grow as a model that could be used by other schools in Nepal to improve them to this level. It would be wonderful some day to see support come in from political organizations around the world, for this is the type of organization that creates meaningful change in the world with no political agenda or purpose.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Himalayan Childeren’s Fund accomplishes so much with our contribution. They house, clothe, feed and provide an excellent education to the children that we sponsor. They teach morals and manners to them as well.
Several times per year we receive letters from the children and we are amazed how
well they have learned to write to us in English. The letters reflect how these children fel about their experience and it is very positive to hear from them that HCF is doing an incredible job and that HCF provides a much needed service.
The children are growing up to be caring responsible adults who will have the education to be capable of supporting themselves and contributing to society.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My name is Palsangmo Sherpa B908 from a poor family.I graduated in 2011 and gave one year service to the school as a Hostel teacher and librarian. Right now I'm studying in Grade 11. I'm really grateful to Himalayan Children Fund for their kind support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I'm Kabita Rokaya B363 from the mountains in the northwest of Nepal. I'm working on a bachelor's degree in social work. I'd like to convey my heartfelt thanks to Himalayan Children Fund for providing support for my education up to now. My life is so much better now because I see myself working in the fields in ragged
clothes if I hadn't got an opportunity to study at SMD School.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm Tsewang Chodon B330. I graduated from Grade 10 at SMD School in 2011, then I went back to the give service for one year, as a teacher in my village.
Now I'm waiting for admission into a 3 year paramedic course which starts soon. I'm very thankful to Himalayan Childrens Fund for helping me
up to this stage.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

HCF has been very supportive to me. This non-profit organization helped me from the time I was small and now, I am studying in university. I am very much thankful and grateful to HCF family. I really appreciate the support. Your love and care to poor Himalayan kids is admirable and praiseworthy. I'd like to express my gratitude to Debra Ann for taking her personal time to help poor Himalayan kids. A Standing ovation for HCF!!!
Tsering Dhundup Lama B340a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Excellent as it is... Keep it up!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

We have been donating to Himalayan Children's Fund for over 10 years. We started with a nun, then it turned into 3 students at the school. As well as a Shedra studying to be a translator. We have so much joy in receiving letters from the children. Our oldest son, who is 8, gets to send drawings and share his life with the children. It's really profound. The girl we sponsor sees herself as one of my daughters and includes a picture of herself in the drawings with the picture of our family she draws. I think I cried when I got that card. These children are so special. I have a friend who recently visited and brought gifts for them. I sent 13 of the largest vitamin bottles I could find to send with her. Anything that we can do to help the health of these children, to support them and have them become literate and give back to their country is really beautiful. It is my wish that more people see just how magical this school is and how wonderful the Himalayan Children's Fund is. The giving is so little to get so much in return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't do a thing. It's wonderful as is.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I have been donating to the Himalayan Children's Fund, general use account, for a number of years now and am always appreciative of their activities. As a Certified Public Accountant, with over 25 years working with not-for-profits, I can appreciate the effort and dedication it take to run an operation like this, as well as they do.

I visited the school, in Nepal, and have seen first hand the benefit to the children. The facilities are well maintained, the staff is professional and caring and the children are safe and offered a fine education.

My monthly donations will continue, as long as I am able, in order that HCF can continue to benefit the children from the region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have enough inside information regarding strategic plans or tactical operations in order to offer helpful suggestions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

For the past five years I have had the pleasure of sponsoring a boarding school student in order to enable her to attend the Shree Mangal Dvip Boarding School. This school is one of the many wonderful projects funded by the Himalayan Children's Fund. It has been delightful receiving annual hand-written correspondence from this student and watching her grow and develop physically, spiritually, and academically. I have also been impressed by the hard work, devotion, and compassion of the Fund's director, Debra Ann Robinson-Menzies, who I know personally and admire and respect.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers