Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

HCC under the stewardship of Susan & Bruce Keenan, has done a fantastic job helping those most in need. Bruce saw the need first hand and they have dedicated their Lives to making a difference- what I love most, is that almost 100% of the money raised goes directly to the kids... Thank you both- keep up the Great work!
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

HCC is a wonderful organization that is making a huge impact on the lives of the 55 children they serve and the future generations of Nepalis. I have had the privilege of visiting Nepal and meeting the children and was able to see first hand how HCC and all the donors have profoundly changed the future of our world.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I am incredibly touched by the long-term dedication of this organization. They make a real difference in the lives and futures of the children they educate, which then translates into a broader positive effect as well. Over many years, with a relatively small amount of resources, used strategically, HCC is truly elevating those individuals and those whose lives are and will be touched by them. I'm so glad to be part of this work through our contributions.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Our family is privileged to sponsor a child from Nepal through Himalayan Children's Charities. We donate with confidence that our resources are used wisely for our precious Jasmati. She is receiving a quality education, but she also receives guidance for all aspects of her life. I believe she will blossom into a responsible adult who will give back to the world. HCC does a great job keeping in touch with donors and educating us about the work being done on our behalf.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I cannot praise HCC highly enough for the incredible work they do for the children of Nepal; and with so few resources. All of the staff/volunteers give endlessly of themselves and utterly transform the lives of the children blessed enough to be welcomed into the great hearts of these people. I don't remember the exact statistics about what percentage of the monies donated goes directly into the work, but I do recall that it is much, much more than any other charity I have ever heard of. That is a major issue with me, and I always check before I donate money to anyone. Bravo to HCC!
September 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 14, 2013

HCC gives sponsors the chance to form a personal relationship with a child and watch the unfolding of a leader, who will give back to this impoverished country and help rebuild. I am proud to have spo... more

September 10, 2014

I have sponsored Khil since he was 10 years old through HCC, and now I am helping him through college--the College of Public Health. He wants to open clinics in rural Nepal where there is no health services. He writes beautiful, loving letters, full of news about his life, schooling, friends and challenges. He is now giving back to Nepal by volunteering, building schools, and working in the community. He is so loving and grateful---he gives me much joy, and we are very close. Being a sponsor though HCC is one of the most gratifying experiences of my life. Thank you!
August 14, 2013

HCC gives sponsors the chance to form a personal relationship with a child and watch the unfolding of a leader, who will give back to this impoverished country and help rebuild. I am proud to have sponsored, built a relationship, supported, and nurtured Khil though letters, visits, emails, skypes, and love. I was matched with Khil when he was 12, and I have watched him transform into a thoughtful, intelligent, inspired young man who is now in college with a bright future. Not only did HCC give him schooling, but it also helped him adapt to life outside of an institution and a part of a "family," and gave continual leadership and personal development training. He is now a leader and a role model to the other 51 kids. His studies in the College of Public Health will allow him to open clinics and bring healthcare to impoverished rural areas of Nepal, and he will continue to pass it forward for years and to the generations to come, making Nepal a stronger, healthier country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it funding to expand and add group homes and more money to the college fund and vocational fund so that HCC can create more doctors, engineers, teachers, and healthworkers that the country so desperately needs!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

When our family discovered HCC, we were immediately attached to the 2 girls that we sponsored and the amazing work that they do. The founders, Bruce and Susan Keenan are delightful and hardworking. Their commitment to help these children is honorable. We look forward to traveling to Nepal this winter with our children to visit Kushi Gar.
August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2013

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing wha... more

August 10, 2014

My wife and I have known the founders for 20 years and can attest to the fact that they are truly wonderful, loving people who also have the business sense to make HCC a huge success. We've sponsored Laxmi since she firs came to HCC as a shy scared little girl and have watched her grow into a confident woman who will be graduating college in just a couple of years. If not for HCC she most likely would have been left on the street to fend for herself in a very hostile environment.

I went with Susan and Bruce last year to visit Laxmi and the group home and I have to tell you it's amazing what they've done with these children. They now all have the possibility of a great future and they have a family that will always be there for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the donors more involved in the charity and the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing what our dollars are doing to change these children's lives can't be put into words. The children practically adopted me during my visit and the time I spent with them and Laxmi is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money. I would love to see other donors get more involved with the children's lives but each donor does what they're comfortable doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been sposoring Jiwan for several years. We have seen Jiwan grow and develop into a great young man. We have also been able to see the growth of HCC into a great charity. Allowing people to see the impact they can have by sponsoring children is what makes it so great for us. It is so different from throwing money to places where you can not see if your donation made a difference. Knowing we could help Jiwan get the education he needed to become self sufficient and able to help others is truly gratifying.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

Having known the founders of HCC for several years, I can vouch for their integrity and commitment to the organization. HCC continues to grow and serve more children in Nepal, while at the same time expanding its outreach and funding base in the U.S. This is a true success story.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers