Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2013

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing wha... more

August 10, 2014

My wife and I have known the founders for 20 years and can attest to the fact that they are truly wonderful, loving people who also have the business sense to make HCC a huge success. We've sponsored Laxmi since she firs came to HCC as a shy scared little girl and have watched her grow into a confident woman who will be graduating college in just a couple of years. If not for HCC she most likely would have been left on the street to fend for herself in a very hostile environment.

I went with Susan and Bruce last year to visit Laxmi and the group home and I have to tell you it's amazing what they've done with these children. They now all have the possibility of a great future and they have a family that will always be there for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the donors more involved in the charity and the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing what our dollars are doing to change these children's lives can't be put into words. The children practically adopted me during my visit and the time I spent with them and Laxmi is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money. I would love to see other donors get more involved with the children's lives but each donor does what they're comfortable doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

My wife and I have been sposoring Jiwan for several years. We have seen Jiwan grow and develop into a great young man. We have also been able to see the growth of HCC into a great charity. Allowing people to see the impact they can have by sponsoring children is what makes it so great for us. It is so different from throwing money to places where you can not see if your donation made a difference. Knowing we could help Jiwan get the education he needed to become self sufficient and able to help others is truly gratifying.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

Having known the founders of HCC for several years, I can vouch for their integrity and commitment to the organization. HCC continues to grow and serve more children in Nepal, while at the same time expanding its outreach and funding base in the U.S. This is a true success story.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

HCC gives sponsors the chance to form a personal relationship with a child and watch the unfolding of a leader, who will give back to this impoverished country and help rebuild. I am proud to have sponsored, built a relationship, supported, and nurtured Khil though letters, visits, emails, skypes, and love. I was matched with Khil when he was 12, and I have watched him transform into a thoughtful, intelligent, inspired young man who is now in college with a bright future. Not only did HCC give him schooling, but it also helped him adapt to life outside of an institution and a part of a "family," and gave continual leadership and personal development training. He is now a leader and a role model to the other 51 kids. His studies in the College of Public Health will allow him to open clinics and bring healthcare to impoverished rural areas of Nepal, and he will continue to pass it forward for years and to the generations to come, making Nepal a stronger, healthier country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it funding to expand and add group homes and more money to the college fund and vocational fund so that HCC can create more doctors, engineers, teachers, and healthworkers that the country so desperately needs!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Out of all the charities, this is one I found actually puts all of the money to the kids. We are lucky enough to be part of this great organization. HCC has the unique model of connecting the donor directly with the child where we can watch them grow into young, educated adults that will improve their communities well into the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2013

more

August 3, 2013

Our family has had the pleasure of sponsoring Suman for the last four years. It has been a true joy to get the pictures and reports of his progress in school. With HCC's work, we are fairly certain that Suman's quality of life and future opportunities are unlimited. The financial support is such a small sacrifice for our family compared to the impact it will have on Suman's life and hopefully many future generations to come. Bruce and Susan Keenan have a remarkable organization and I would highly recommend them if you want to have a direct, incredible impact on a child's life- year after year.

Hunt Family
Chattanooga, TN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

more

August 2, 2013

I love hearing the stories of the founder's visits to Nepal -- the children are all SO HAPPY. I am happy to contribute to helping a young orphan live a better life with room, board and dignity. HCC provides so much more than the basics, but helps to provide love and rich nourishment for these growing, beautiful children. I'm glad to be a part of the organization because the founders are very supportive of ME and my efforts, too!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I feel very fortunate to have 'adopted' Driendra. It gives us a great sense of satisfaction that we can make such a huge difference in the life of a person who would otherwise live in a lonely orphanage with no hopes of a future. For such a small expense his life is forever changed. He is getting an education and a health loving family environment, and will grow up to be an integral part of his community. All this is may possible by HCC and the wonderful work they do for these children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have been sponsoring Manoj for over ten years and have seen grow from being a young boy to a young man. It began as a favor for Susan and Bruce but quickly became a commitment to him- to give him the opportunity to make some thing of himself- break the cycle, which he has fully taken advantage of- it has been tremendously rewarding for me! Many thanks to Susan & Bruce for their vision, hard work, dedication and the difference you have made in their lives... Thanks so much for all you do- please keep up the great work! I look forward to joining you on a trip soon. Thanks again- David Black

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the results in my adopted son grow from an orphaned child to an articulate, educated young man!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more sponsors so could adopt more kids!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

When I considered of what I spend $1,500. on here- to think that that basically provides a child there everything they need for a year, it was a no brainer.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To continue his support allowing him to finish his schooling.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is by far the best group I have been involved where virtually every dollar raised goes directly to support the kids!!

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

We love sponsoring our little, well not so little, Sadhana after all these years. One of these years I would love to go to Nepal and meet her in person. The HCC Board is so good about educating US about the children, the school and Nepal that I feel I know everyone at the orphanage. That is what makes HCC such a great charity. They want to expose the parents to the flavor and rhythm of their hosted Nepalese children through pictures, letters, textiles etc... I look forward to continuing to be even a small part of Sadhana's life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers