Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

Himalayan Children's Charities (HCC) is an outstanding charitable organization, where sponsors can actually see the extraordinary difference they are making in the lives of orphaned and abandoned children. Being a board member at HCC has given me a sense of accomplishment and joy that no other volunteer job has given me. There is no safety net in Nepal, so HCC truely creates a future for 50 kids. The first class schooling, group home and family atmosphere creates secure, self-confident and grateful children. The founders encourages a personal relationship between the sponsor and the child that is life changing. The founders instill in the children the importance of giving back to Nepal, so they all want to become doctors, teachers, social workers, engineers etc, and HCC supports their goals through college. Also, the kids are also taught to live in a family setting and learn cooking, laundry and taking care of the younger children---things that orphans never can learn in an institutional setting. Finally, 100% of all donations go to the care and education of the children, and that is something that is extremely rare in the charitable world. HCC is truly a class act, changing the world one child at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I first spent time in Kathmandu, Nepal and with Himalayan Children's Charities in Spring 2010. I was eager to meet the students and see what life was like in Nepal. The orphaned students were so loving and grateful that I was ecstatic at the chance to volunteer a month later. I spent a couple months teaching the orphaned students diction, grammar and art, while they taught me about their food, culture and themselves. The older students named their home, Khushighar, or Happy Home. They were so appreciative of all the care and education that HCC provides. It was incredible to see the students have so much charisma, optimism and love for one another and for those who support them. Had they not had the support presented by HCC, they would not the same opportunities for an education. I fully support this organization and the people who run it. It has made a great impact on my life and I can't wait to return to see them in their Happy Home again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I am about to undertake my volunteer experience with HCC, but I have been lucky to hear about Himalayan Children Charities from it's humble beginnings. This is an organization run out of a lot of love, and by two people with proven commitment as well as business savvy. Their devotion to the mission of HCC is clear, but what is also clear is the opportunities their work creates for the youth that are touched by HCC. By providing the students with an education and including them in the loving HCC family, these kids grow up with the encouragement they need to succeed. I will get to meet them in person soon when I undertake a role as a volunteer in Kathmandu, but for now, just hearing their stories inspires me to work harder towards my goals. It's clear the kids that come through HCC value their education and the opportunities they have, and apply themselves completely to being a part of a brighter future for their country and it's development. What I hope to do is help the organization become more connected in Nepal, so that it can grow and exchange ideas with other similar organizations in country. I can't wait to have more to share as I begin to work more and more closely with Himalayan Childrens Charities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I'm a new board member with Himalayan Childrens Charities, helping with marketing efforts and spreading the word about the amazing work done by this organization. The founders have a strong passion for their mission of providing a safe educational environment for orphaned and abandoned children in Nepal. While it is known that Nepal is a very poor country with an unstable government, the facts regarding children are startling: 74 out of every 1000 children die by the age of five, 39% do not receive education beyond the fifth grade; 31% are engaged in some form of child labor; and approximately 970,000 children are street children and orphans. These children deserve better, and this organization is changing lives, one at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers