Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.971435
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I visited Himalayan Children's Charities in Nepal for one month this summer. I had a fantastic time in Nepal and the experience really helped open my eyes to the tangible good that this charity has been able to and continues to accomplish. I really enjoyed interacting with the children and was quite moved by many of the stories that were shared. The charity staff create a great environment for the kids to learn and develop and a strong camaraderie exists among the kids. All in all, it was a pleasure to volunteer with this charity and I could not have more respect for the efforts of everyone involved in creating and keeping this organization running.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2013

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing wha... more

August 10, 2014

My wife and I have known the founders for 20 years and can attest to the fact that they are truly wonderful, loving people who also have the business sense to make HCC a huge success. We've sponsored Laxmi since she firs came to HCC as a shy scared little girl and have watched her grow into a confident woman who will be graduating college in just a couple of years. If not for HCC she most likely would have been left on the street to fend for herself in a very hostile environment.

I went with Susan and Bruce last year to visit Laxmi and the group home and I have to tell you it's amazing what they've done with these children. They now all have the possibility of a great future and they have a family that will always be there for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the donors more involved in the charity and the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing what our dollars are doing to change these children's lives can't be put into words. The children practically adopted me during my visit and the time I spent with them and Laxmi is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money. I would love to see other donors get more involved with the children's lives but each donor does what they're comfortable doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I have enjoyed learning and supporting the work of HCC. I appreciate and impressed by the effort made to provide a platform to support children who at one point did not have hope for a better future. What I have observed with HCC is an opportunity for children to thrive, have dreams, and evolve in their country in a way that was once thought impossible. I look forward to supporting HCC more and seeing what differences are further made with the kids. How this platform changes lives and the environment in the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

My wife and I have been sposoring Jiwan for several years. We have seen Jiwan grow and develop into a great young man. We have also been able to see the growth of HCC into a great charity. Allowing people to see the impact they can have by sponsoring children is what makes it so great for us. It is so different from throwing money to places where you can not see if your donation made a difference. Knowing we could help Jiwan get the education he needed to become self sufficient and able to help others is truly gratifying.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

Having known the founders of HCC for several years, I can vouch for their integrity and commitment to the organization. HCC continues to grow and serve more children in Nepal, while at the same time expanding its outreach and funding base in the U.S. This is a true success story.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Out of all the charities, this is one I found actually puts all of the money to the kids. We are lucky enough to be part of this great organization. HCC has the unique model of connecting the donor directly with the child where we can watch them grow into young, educated adults that will improve their communities well into the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

We are paying for one child's school fees until she graduates, which is not much to do. We are grateful for the honor, and the opportunity this organization has given us to help bring education to those who are so hungry for it. HCC is the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2013

more

August 3, 2013

Our family has had the pleasure of sponsoring Suman for the last four years. It has been a true joy to get the pictures and reports of his progress in school. With HCC's work, we are fairly certain that Suman's quality of life and future opportunities are unlimited. The financial support is such a small sacrifice for our family compared to the impact it will have on Suman's life and hopefully many future generations to come. Bruce and Susan Keenan have a remarkable organization and I would highly recommend them if you want to have a direct, incredible impact on a child's life- year after year.

Hunt Family
Chattanooga, TN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

more

August 2, 2013

I love hearing the stories of the founder's visits to Nepal -- the children are all SO HAPPY. I am happy to contribute to helping a young orphan live a better life with room, board and dignity. HCC provides so much more than the basics, but helps to provide love and rich nourishment for these growing, beautiful children. I'm glad to be a part of the organization because the founders are very supportive of ME and my efforts, too!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I feel very fortunate to have 'adopted' Driendra. It gives us a great sense of satisfaction that we can make such a huge difference in the life of a person who would otherwise live in a lonely orphanage with no hopes of a future. For such a small expense his life is forever changed. He is getting an education and a health loving family environment, and will grow up to be an integral part of his community. All this is may possible by HCC and the wonderful work they do for these children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers