Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I feel very fortunate to have 'adopted' Driendra. It gives us a great sense of satisfaction that we can make such a huge difference in the life of a person who would otherwise live in a lonely orphanage with no hopes of a future. For such a small expense his life is forever changed. He is getting an education and a health loving family environment, and will grow up to be an integral part of his community. All this is may possible by HCC and the wonderful work they do for these children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have been sponsoring Manoj for over ten years and have seen grow from being a young boy to a young man. It began as a favor for Susan and Bruce but quickly became a commitment to him- to give him the opportunity to make some thing of himself- break the cycle, which he has fully taken advantage of- it has been tremendously rewarding for me! Many thanks to Susan & Bruce for their vision, hard work, dedication and the difference you have made in their lives... Thanks so much for all you do- please keep up the great work! I look forward to joining you on a trip soon. Thanks again- David Black

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the results in my adopted son grow from an orphaned child to an articulate, educated young man!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more sponsors so could adopt more kids!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

When I considered of what I spend $1,500. on here- to think that that basically provides a child there everything they need for a year, it was a no brainer.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To continue his support allowing him to finish his schooling.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is by far the best group I have been involved where virtually every dollar raised goes directly to support the kids!!

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

We love sponsoring our little, well not so little, Sadhana after all these years. One of these years I would love to go to Nepal and meet her in person. The HCC Board is so good about educating US about the children, the school and Nepal that I feel I know everyone at the orphanage. That is what makes HCC such a great charity. They want to expose the parents to the flavor and rhythm of their hosted Nepalese children through pictures, letters, textiles etc... I look forward to continuing to be even a small part of Sadhana's life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

What a wonderful experience to sponsor a child. I have watched him grow for over 6 years and he has now graduated high school and is going on to college. We write and email each other to keep in touch. HCC does an unbelievable job. They visit the children at least twice a year and make sure that every detail is perfect. I just started my second child, a darling little girl. The feeling you get when you change someone’s life is great.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the children they sponsor to grow and develop.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes are necessary. They are devoted to the children and their success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

A friend introduced me to HCC

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To maintain my sponsorship of my adopted son and start sponsoring a darling little girl.

What would you tell others about this organization?

There is no better way to change a child's life than HCC. All the money goes to the children.

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

Since 2011, I have had the privilege of sponsoring a lovely young lady who has been able to get an excellent education, room and board through Himalayan Children's Charities. I know she has received SO much more than just text books and meals -- by being able to grow and develop in a safe, rich, nurturing environment with other children in the midst of her own community. It is an honor to participate in the development of a child -- even one so far away. The HCC staff members make it all so straightforward and simple to enrich the life of the child, and I know all of my contributions go to her well-being. Thanks, HCC!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have had the great fortune to be a donor, sponsor, fund raiser, and friend of HCC for the past five years. My relationship with HCC, and the children it serves has grown throughout the years. In the spring of 2011 I finally made my first trip to Nepal to experience firsthand the positive impact HCC makes in the lives of many children. It was an unforgettable and transformational experience in my life. I witnessed how amazing possibilities can be created for children through the belief, sponsorship and love of those willing to actively participate in the well being, care and personal development of the sponsored children. Throughout my life I have had the great fortune to be involved in many charitable organizations, all of whom do great work, but none of which give me such such satisfaction and joy as HCC.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a sponsor with Himalayan Childrens Charities since the spring of 2010, and had the divine privilege of travelling to Nepal with HCC in October of 2010 to meet and spend time with the two girls whom I sponsor. I participate as a donor/sponsor in several different non-profit organizations, but HCC is the only one in which I have been to actually see, experience firsthand, and fully trust 100% the profoundly positive impact this organization has on its sponsored children and the local community. My two Nepali girls have blossomed in such beautiful ways since joining the HCC list of sponsored children, and I don't even want to imagine how different their lives would be without this organization's support. Every person with whom I have had the honor of knowing and interacting through HCC is made of a rare mold of the highest integrity, kindest loving heart, and genuine care and compassion for fellow human beings. I am truly humbled and honored to be a part of this organization and to do my best to assist those less fortunate than myself in one of the most directly impactful ways that I have seen yet. Thank you, Bruce and Family, for giving me this opportunity!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

Himalayan Children's Charities (HCC) is an outstanding charitable organization, where sponsors can actually see the extraordinary difference they are making in the lives of orphaned and abandoned children. Being a board member at HCC has given me a sense of accomplishment and joy that no other volunteer job has given me. There is no safety net in Nepal, so HCC truely creates a future for 50 kids. The first class schooling, group home and family atmosphere creates secure, self-confident and grateful children. The founders encourages a personal relationship between the sponsor and the child that is life changing. The founders instill in the children the importance of giving back to Nepal, so they all want to become doctors, teachers, social workers, engineers etc, and HCC supports their goals through college. Also, the kids are also taught to live in a family setting and learn cooking, laundry and taking care of the younger children---things that orphans never can learn in an institutional setting. Finally, 100% of all donations go to the care and education of the children, and that is something that is extremely rare in the charitable world. HCC is truly a class act, changing the world one child at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I first spent time in Kathmandu, Nepal and with Himalayan Children's Charities in Spring 2010. I was eager to meet the students and see what life was like in Nepal. The orphaned students were so loving and grateful that I was ecstatic at the chance to volunteer a month later. I spent a couple months teaching the orphaned students diction, grammar and art, while they taught me about their food, culture and themselves. The older students named their home, Khushighar, or Happy Home. They were so appreciative of all the care and education that HCC provides. It was incredible to see the students have so much charisma, optimism and love for one another and for those who support them. Had they not had the support presented by HCC, they would not the same opportunities for an education. I fully support this organization and the people who run it. It has made a great impact on my life and I can't wait to return to see them in their Happy Home again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I am about to undertake my volunteer experience with HCC, but I have been lucky to hear about Himalayan Children Charities from it's humble beginnings. This is an organization run out of a lot of love, and by two people with proven commitment as well as business savvy. Their devotion to the mission of HCC is clear, but what is also clear is the opportunities their work creates for the youth that are touched by HCC. By providing the students with an education and including them in the loving HCC family, these kids grow up with the encouragement they need to succeed. I will get to meet them in person soon when I undertake a role as a volunteer in Kathmandu, but for now, just hearing their stories inspires me to work harder towards my goals. It's clear the kids that come through HCC value their education and the opportunities they have, and apply themselves completely to being a part of a brighter future for their country and it's development. What I hope to do is help the organization become more connected in Nepal, so that it can grow and exchange ideas with other similar organizations in country. I can't wait to have more to share as I begin to work more and more closely with Himalayan Childrens Charities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers