Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

When our family discovered HCC, we were immediately attached to the 2 girls that we sponsored and the amazing work that they do. The founders, Bruce and Susan Keenan are delightful and hardworking. Their commitment to help these children is honorable. We look forward to traveling to Nepal this winter with our children to visit Kushi Gar.
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I visited Himalayan Children's Charities in Nepal for one month this summer. I had a fantastic time in Nepal and the experience really helped open my eyes to the tangible good that this charity has been able to and continues to accomplish. I really enjoyed interacting with the children and was quite moved by many of the stories that were shared. The charity staff create a great environment for the kids to learn and develop and a strong camaraderie exists among the kids. All in all, it was a pleasure to volunteer with this charity and I could not have more respect for the efforts of everyone involved in creating and keeping this organization running.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2013

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing wha... more

August 10, 2014

My wife and I have known the founders for 20 years and can attest to the fact that they are truly wonderful, loving people who also have the business sense to make HCC a huge success. We've sponsored Laxmi since she firs came to HCC as a shy scared little girl and have watched her grow into a confident woman who will be graduating college in just a couple of years. If not for HCC she most likely would have been left on the street to fend for herself in a very hostile environment.

I went with Susan and Bruce last year to visit Laxmi and the group home and I have to tell you it's amazing what they've done with these children. They now all have the possibility of a great future and they have a family that will always be there for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the donors more involved in the charity and the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have seen Laxmi grow from a shy, reclusive little girl into a confident young woman. I had the opportunity to join Bruce and Susan this year in Katmandu and the experience was amazing! Seeing what our dollars are doing to change these children's lives can't be put into words. The children practically adopted me during my visit and the time I spent with them and Laxmi is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money. I would love to see other donors get more involved with the children's lives but each donor does what they're comfortable doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I have enjoyed learning and supporting the work of HCC. I appreciate and impressed by the effort made to provide a platform to support children who at one point did not have hope for a better future. What I have observed with HCC is an opportunity for children to thrive, have dreams, and evolve in their country in a way that was once thought impossible. I look forward to supporting HCC more and seeing what differences are further made with the kids. How this platform changes lives and the environment in the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

My wife and I have been sposoring Jiwan for several years. We have seen Jiwan grow and develop into a great young man. We have also been able to see the growth of HCC into a great charity. Allowing people to see the impact they can have by sponsoring children is what makes it so great for us. It is so different from throwing money to places where you can not see if your donation made a difference. Knowing we could help Jiwan get the education he needed to become self sufficient and able to help others is truly gratifying.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

Having known the founders of HCC for several years, I can vouch for their integrity and commitment to the organization. HCC continues to grow and serve more children in Nepal, while at the same time expanding its outreach and funding base in the U.S. This is a true success story.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

I have been involved with HCC for a few months now. In the time that I have been helping, I have seen how much they have helped the children and truly made a difference in their lives. The children seem very happy and grateful for the opportunities that HCC has offered them. It has been a privilege to be involved with HCC and will continue to help as much as I can. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not seen anything that I would like to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

HCC gives sponsors the chance to form a personal relationship with a child and watch the unfolding of a leader, who will give back to this impoverished country and help rebuild. I am proud to have sponsored, built a relationship, supported, and nurtured Khil though letters, visits, emails, skypes, and love. I was matched with Khil when he was 12, and I have watched him transform into a thoughtful, intelligent, inspired young man who is now in college with a bright future. Not only did HCC give him schooling, but it also helped him adapt to life outside of an institution and a part of a "family," and gave continual leadership and personal development training. He is now a leader and a role model to the other 51 kids. His studies in the College of Public Health will allow him to open clinics and bring healthcare to impoverished rural areas of Nepal, and he will continue to pass it forward for years and to the generations to come, making Nepal a stronger, healthier country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it funding to expand and add group homes and more money to the college fund and vocational fund so that HCC can create more doctors, engineers, teachers, and healthworkers that the country so desperately needs!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Out of all the charities, this is one I found actually puts all of the money to the kids. We are lucky enough to be part of this great organization. HCC has the unique model of connecting the donor directly with the child where we can watch them grow into young, educated adults that will improve their communities well into the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

We are paying for one child's school fees until she graduates, which is not much to do. We are grateful for the honor, and the opportunity this organization has given us to help bring education to those who are so hungry for it. HCC is the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers