Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.970595
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

A fantastic charity! My partner is a board member and has visited Nepal with her son to experience first-hand the powerful work the HCC does for the children. Bruce and Susan are true champions for their cause.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

HCC under the stewardship of Susan & Bruce Keenan, has done a fantastic job helping those most in need. Bruce saw the need first hand and they have dedicated their Lives to making a difference- what I love most, is that almost 100% of the money raised goes directly to the kids... Thank you both- keep up the Great work!
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

HCC is a wonderful organization that is making a huge impact on the lives of the 55 children they serve and the future generations of Nepalis. I have had the privilege of visiting Nepal and meeting the children and was able to see first hand how HCC and all the donors have profoundly changed the future of our world.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I am incredibly touched by the long-term dedication of this organization. They make a real difference in the lives and futures of the children they educate, which then translates into a broader positive effect as well. Over many years, with a relatively small amount of resources, used strategically, HCC is truly elevating those individuals and those whose lives are and will be touched by them. I'm so glad to be part of this work through our contributions.
September 12, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 14, 2013

I have been involved with HCC for 8 years now and it has been a wonderful experience on all levels. The child we have been sponsoring has developed into a beautiful, confident, and capable young woman... more

September 12, 2014

It is a pleasure and privilege to support HCC for the past 9 years through my sponsorship and being a member on the board of advisers. The work they do is immense. Just watching Man Maya grow into such a wonderful, loving and talented young woman gives me such hope for future generations. When one child's life is saved and transformed, the ripple effect cannot yet be measured, but it certainly can be imagined. I have had the pleasure of watching over 50 children's lives be transformed. Imagine the ripple that has caused!. How inspiring!
August 14, 2013

I have been involved with HCC for 8 years now and it has been a wonderful experience on all levels. The child we have been sponsoring has developed into a beautiful, confident, and capable young woman and we are so proud of her accomplishments and what she brings to her community. With this organization everybody wins and I am proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2012

Originally I just wanted to help my best friend and her husband with their charity. I had no idea it would have such a huge impact on my life. Since then I have become a sponsor for 6 years and also a board adviser. Himalayan Children Charities is an organization that provides orphans and destitute children in Nepal with an education and a safe place to grow up in, thus changing the future of these children and the country. I started sponsoring a 12 year old girl. When she was 15 I had the opportunity of visiting her in Nepal along with all the other children HCC sponsors. It was a life changing experience. She is now 18 years old and is in college pursuing her education in business. We are deeply connected and stay in touch via email. I feel blessed to have her in my life. HCC is a wonderful charity. Please support HCC. You will make a huge difference in the life of destitute children in Nepal. They are the most loving children I have met and so grateful for the help they receive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Our family is privileged to sponsor a child from Nepal through Himalayan Children's Charities. We donate with confidence that our resources are used wisely for our precious Jasmati. She is receiving a quality education, but she also receives guidance for all aspects of her life. I believe she will blossom into a responsible adult who will give back to the world. HCC does a great job keeping in touch with donors and educating us about the work being done on our behalf.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I cannot praise HCC highly enough for the incredible work they do for the children of Nepal; and with so few resources. All of the staff/volunteers give endlessly of themselves and utterly transform the lives of the children blessed enough to be welcomed into the great hearts of these people. I don't remember the exact statistics about what percentage of the monies donated goes directly into the work, but I do recall that it is much, much more than any other charity I have ever heard of. That is a major issue with me, and I always check before I donate money to anyone. Bravo to HCC!
September 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 14, 2013

HCC gives sponsors the chance to form a personal relationship with a child and watch the unfolding of a leader, who will give back to this impoverished country and help rebuild. I am proud to have spo... more

September 10, 2014

I have sponsored Khil since he was 10 years old through HCC, and now I am helping him through college--the College of Public Health. He wants to open clinics in rural Nepal where there is no health services. He writes beautiful, loving letters, full of news about his life, schooling, friends and challenges. He is now giving back to Nepal by volunteering, building schools, and working in the community. He is so loving and grateful---he gives me much joy, and we are very close. Being a sponsor though HCC is one of the most gratifying experiences of my life. Thank you!
August 14, 2013

HCC gives sponsors the chance to form a personal relationship with a child and watch the unfolding of a leader, who will give back to this impoverished country and help rebuild. I am proud to have sponsored, built a relationship, supported, and nurtured Khil though letters, visits, emails, skypes, and love. I was matched with Khil when he was 12, and I have watched him transform into a thoughtful, intelligent, inspired young man who is now in college with a bright future. Not only did HCC give him schooling, but it also helped him adapt to life outside of an institution and a part of a "family," and gave continual leadership and personal development training. He is now a leader and a role model to the other 51 kids. His studies in the College of Public Health will allow him to open clinics and bring healthcare to impoverished rural areas of Nepal, and he will continue to pass it forward for years and to the generations to come, making Nepal a stronger, healthier country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it funding to expand and add group homes and more money to the college fund and vocational fund so that HCC can create more doctors, engineers, teachers, and healthworkers that the country so desperately needs!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

When our family discovered HCC, we were immediately attached to the 2 girls that we sponsored and the amazing work that they do. The founders, Bruce and Susan Keenan are delightful and hardworking. Their commitment to help these children is honorable. We look forward to traveling to Nepal this winter with our children to visit Kushi Gar.
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I visited Himalayan Children's Charities in Nepal for one month this summer. I had a fantastic time in Nepal and the experience really helped open my eyes to the tangible good that this charity has been able to and continues to accomplish. I really enjoyed interacting with the children and was quite moved by many of the stories that were shared. The charity staff create a great environment for the kids to learn and develop and a strong camaraderie exists among the kids. All in all, it was a pleasure to volunteer with this charity and I could not have more respect for the efforts of everyone involved in creating and keeping this organization running.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers