Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I have been with hilltop for over 15 or more years. The unpaid volunteers tnr where ever needed in and around the area. They then support and maintain feeding stations for the returned cats.Most of the time at their own expense. Cats are treated medically when when needed. It is a no kill shelter Most of the time they are greatly in need of funds for vet and food and medicines..I do nkow of many such facilities. It is great to be ac\ssociated with hilltop Thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Hiltop Humane Society 17 years. The volunteers at this shelter are dedicated to helping any feral/injured/homeless cat they can. When other shelters say "we have no room" Hilltop volunteers always seem to step up and make room in their personal home to foster the cat so it will not go without the care or shelter needed to survive. There is a "where there's a will there's a way" attitude from all the volunteers I've met through the years at Hilltop. I am always amazed at the way these folks open up their homes to "misfit" and undesireable cats that no one wants and therefore they get dropped off at our doorstep sometimes with just a note, sometimes with no explanation at all. Most times we have no background information on the cats' medical record or age, etc. We have to start from scratch and get them to a vet to get examined. Often the cats that get dropped off to us have behavioral issues and each and every volunteer has personally worked with each cat until they are adoption ready. This can take months to several years. Some of our "Happy Endings" on our web site are stories about cats who finally got adopted after waiting 5+ years for a home. Please give HIlltop a fighting chance to continue the great work they do to continue helping animals in need in the Boston area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I HAVE BEEN volunteering for hilltop going on 15 years. i HAVE seen many injured, abandoned, feral, stray, and cats that owners could not take of anymore come thru its doors. They are taken care of by caring volunteers, given medical care and loved. Many of the kittens are placed in foster care until they can be adopted. This shelter relies solely on donations and every cent goes towards the care of t he cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you to all the volunteers at Hilltop Humane Society for all the good work they do for the many abandoned, injured, feral and helpless cats and kittens. Barbara and many others work tirelessly in their efforts to help cats and kittens when they can and by donations only. It never ends. The goal in most cases with any luck is to place these rescued animals in loving forever homes. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I volunteer because it is such a great organization. It is amazing how many animals have been rescued because of Hilltop. And the number of animals that have been fixed means much more that did not have to be hungry, hurt or cold outside fending for themselves. I do the TNR, (trap, neuter and return feral cats), with Barbara, who may I add is one of the hardest working people I know because of her devotion and love for animals. This shelter can really use the help, funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hilltop Humane Society is a 501(c)3 non-profit strictly no-kill animal rescue organization that is completely run by unpaid volunteers. We receive no funding from any government agency and are totally dependent on contributions from the public and fundraising activities to continue operating. I am one of the main people who tries to figure out how to raise enough money to pay our huge vet bills and other expenses, and it is a very hard thing to do. We are always struggling! I became involved with Hilltop out of gratitude to Barbara Finney, the President, because she helped a relative of mine with way too many cats get those cats spayed and neutered at a clinic. I am always meeting people who were helped by Barbara! It is overwhelming trying to keep up with all of the cats that need help. This summer we have had to refer a lot of people to other shelters because we have been so full and we hate to do that. We really need the money to build a bigger shelter so we can take care of more homeless cats!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer for Hilltop Humane Society. In fact, it is run entirely by volunteers and nobody receives any compensation for what they do. If you are looking to donate your money for a truly worthy cause, please consider giving to Hilltop Humane Society. Every penny donated will go entirely to the actualy rescue, medical care and housing of abandoned and injured animals. Hilltop is also a No-Kill shelter and no animal is ever killed due to a treatable condition or for convenience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Rescued thousands of cats. Found homes for hundreds of cats every year. Provide no-kill housing (cage free) to homeless cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could only raise 1 million for this worthy group. We could show the other "humane" societies what a million dollars can do.

November 28, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

we are a no kill shelter with a lot of cats and kittens up for adoption . there are more this year because of peoples money problems. all the money goes to the health of the cats and food. please help us

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping them as much as i can when doing fund raising

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more volunteers

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers