Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

My husband and I are very happy clients of Hilltop Humane Society. We adopted a kitty after losing our beloved 18 year old cat to old age. We were devastated and after 2 months we decided to look around. We are so grateful that we found Hilltop because they, (Gail D.) was so personable and exceedingly interested in our personal needs and concerns. We have had our kitty Leena for almost 2 months now and she is so wonderful and extremely well adjusted thanks to Darlene who fostered the litter and bottle fed them! She obviously gave them plenty of love. We are so in love with our Leena and give a HUGE THANK YOU to our friends at Hilltop!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I have been with hilltop for over 15 or more years. The unpaid volunteers tnr where ever needed in and around the area. They then support and maintain feeding stations for the returned cats.Most of the time at their own expense. Cats are treated medically when when needed. It is a no kill shelter Most of the time they are greatly in need of funds for vet and food and medicines..I do nkow of many such facilities. It is great to be ac\ssociated with hilltop Thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

These people amaze me. It's not just that they're a no-kill shelter. It's not just that they take in and take care of cats everyone else would turn away from or give up on, ferals included. It's not just amazing stories like the momma cat and her kittens who were stuffed in a bag and thrown out of a moving car onto a busy highway and fortunately rescued by one of Hilltop's volunteers. Or the paralysed cat that they not only kept alive but kept healthy and active and enriched for something like 15 years. It's that these people know all the cats. Each one of these cats is known and cared for and loved for who they are as individuals, not just medically but personality-wise; time and care is given to each according to who they are. All by people working for no money! And what money they get goes to the cats, not people-stuff. I seriously cannot say enough good things about what this shelter does and strives to do in difficult times.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Hiltop Humane Society 17 years. The volunteers at this shelter are dedicated to helping any feral/injured/homeless cat they can. When other shelters say "we have no room" Hilltop volunteers always seem to step up and make room in their personal home to foster the cat so it will not go without the care or shelter needed to survive. There is a "where there's a will there's a way" attitude from all the volunteers I've met through the years at Hilltop. I am always amazed at the way these folks open up their homes to "misfit" and undesireable cats that no one wants and therefore they get dropped off at our doorstep sometimes with just a note, sometimes with no explanation at all. Most times we have no background information on the cats' medical record or age, etc. We have to start from scratch and get them to a vet to get examined. Often the cats that get dropped off to us have behavioral issues and each and every volunteer has personally worked with each cat until they are adoption ready. This can take months to several years. Some of our "Happy Endings" on our web site are stories about cats who finally got adopted after waiting 5+ years for a home. Please give HIlltop a fighting chance to continue the great work they do to continue helping animals in need in the Boston area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I HAVE BEEN volunteering for hilltop going on 15 years. i HAVE seen many injured, abandoned, feral, stray, and cats that owners could not take of anymore come thru its doors. They are taken care of by caring volunteers, given medical care and loved. Many of the kittens are placed in foster care until they can be adopted. This shelter relies solely on donations and every cent goes towards the care of t he cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are many feral cats in the neighborhood. ALL have needs beyond food and shelter. HILLTOP provides these needs in a very caring and loving manner to these poor little strays. They take very special care of even the most hopeless. They have given new life and loving homes to the ones fortunate enough to come under their capable care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Many stray cats/kittens have been rescued by HHS. All receive medical care, taken into the shelter or foster homes to rehome them. We are a no kill and all volunteer group covering our town and others south of Boston. We also have a TNR program for feral cats and people who feed them on a daily basis. The volunteers are commited to the care of the cats and the shelter and receive no compensation except a good feeling. Funded by donations only we have managed to exsist for many years. The unadoptable cats live in a comfortable shelter uncaged and free to roam about and look out many windows. All are well cared for. Just today I took in 3 7 week old kittens to foster that were rescued living under a resturant. I have helped them foster for over 17 years and love it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you to all the volunteers at Hilltop Humane Society for all the good work they do for the many abandoned, injured, feral and helpless cats and kittens. Barbara and many others work tirelessly in their efforts to help cats and kittens when they can and by donations only. It never ends. The goal in most cases with any luck is to place these rescued animals in loving forever homes. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I volunteer because it is such a great organization. It is amazing how many animals have been rescued because of Hilltop. And the number of animals that have been fixed means much more that did not have to be hungry, hurt or cold outside fending for themselves. I do the TNR, (trap, neuter and return feral cats), with Barbara, who may I add is one of the hardest working people I know because of her devotion and love for animals. This shelter can really use the help, funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hilltop Humane Society is a 501(c)3 non-profit strictly no-kill animal rescue organization that is completely run by unpaid volunteers. We receive no funding from any government agency and are totally dependent on contributions from the public and fundraising activities to continue operating. I am one of the main people who tries to figure out how to raise enough money to pay our huge vet bills and other expenses, and it is a very hard thing to do. We are always struggling! I became involved with Hilltop out of gratitude to Barbara Finney, the President, because she helped a relative of mine with way too many cats get those cats spayed and neutered at a clinic. I am always meeting people who were helped by Barbara! It is overwhelming trying to keep up with all of the cats that need help. This summer we have had to refer a lot of people to other shelters because we have been so full and we hate to do that. We really need the money to build a bigger shelter so we can take care of more homeless cats!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers