Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Hike It Up is an organization that genuinely cares about helping others no matter their ehtnicity, background or any adversities they face. It is an organization that brings a diverse community together to eagerly help those less fortunate or simply those in need of a shoulder to lean on-all the while having loads of fun. In the process of giving back to others, this organization provides a welcoming and exciting atmosphere that not only enlightens each individuals perspective but at the same time brings upon knowledge and compassion for others. Hike It Up also provides an outlet for expression while making a lasting positive change in the world, one individual at a time: people being helped and the people helping.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

The thing that impresses me the most about Hike it Up is the family atmosphere. All of the volunteers work together like they have known each other for years. I was so impressed by the level of collegiality that I have also involved my infant daughter who not only loves helping out, but being treated like an equal.

Get involved with this group and you will help to bring about a great amount of meaningful change directly to your community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hike it Up is growing quickly and there are some obvious organizational aspects that need to be addressed. However, I know that they are enlisting and developing a board of directors that I am positive will help to guide them into growing into a spectacular organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Last weekend, I went on my first hike with Hike It Up. Not only did I get to clean out my closets and give to a very worthy organization, but I was able challenge myself on an incredibly rewarding hike. Sharing his fruit, water, trail mix, enthusiasm, and extensive knowledge of the trails, Hike led us on a great adventure. He took us on trails I never would've had the courage to attempt solo, and yet I found myself standing at the top of the world and feeling every moment of awesomeness. What a fantastic way to spend a Saturday--making new friends, giving to charity, breathing fresh air, and challenging my fitness. I will definitely be back for more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 30, 2013

more

December 30, 2013

Hike it up is a great organization. Keep sharing, growing and inspiring others to do good things. You guys are awesome!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

Hike It Up helped out with our Thanksgiving event at the Star Apartments in skid row. They brought food, book donations, festive decorations including fresh flowers/plants, and friendly smiles. Skid Row Housing Trust would be happy to partner with Hike It Up for future events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 23, 2012

Haig is a dedicated and energetic leader; his enthusiasm and commitment are contagious. He offers local community members many opportunities to be involved in making a change in the communities where ... more

April 21, 2013

Hike It Up is one of the best community based organizations in the SFV. Hike, the organizer, works closely with the groups served by Hike It Up and gets donations of goods, services and funds directly to those agencies. Every volunteer I have encountered has had fun with Hike It Up... from lunch bag stuffing to hiking to the Hollywood sign there is always lots of laughter and positive energy flowing. Hike is a master at touching people's lives and helping them to see the benefit of even small donations becoming a force for good in the SFV. The activities are varied to allow for the greatest inclusion of those interested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2012

Haig is a dedicated and energetic leader; his enthusiasm and commitment are contagious. He offers local community members many opportunities to be involved in making a change in the communities where we live. From providing blankets to gathering foodstuffs for local shelters there is a wide variety of ways to support the organization in making our world a better place. He has the ability to provide direction to large groups of people and to help them to focus on a task for outstanding results. Just watch him organize a group of teenagers in assembling brown bag lunches! Outstanding!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 23, 2012

Hike It Up is a great organization that I had the privilege to volunteer on various occasions. I have seen Hike It Up over the years grow and benefit many in the community. I recall assisting Hike I... more

April 20, 2013

Hikeitup for many years has helped to make positive changes in the community. I had the privilege of volunteering for Hikeitup and have helped make a small positive change on my part. I have assisted painting the LA Youth Shelter, cleaning , landscaping. Hikeitup also organized fun physical activities with the youth and anyone from the community. Most fun for me was the Christmas 5k Marathon Hikeitup had organized with the homless youth. Amazing experience! Hikeitup is well organized non profit and always active with new creative ideas to make positive changes in the community.

Naz. Volunteer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2012


Hike It Up is a great organization that I had the privilege to volunteer on various occasions. I have seen Hike It Up over the years grow and benefit many in the community. I recall assisting Hike It Up with painting local foster youth center and re-landscape the surroundings. I have
tremendously enjoyed the hikes, the runs and taking part in a 10K Christmas marathon. I congratulate him and all the volunteers and donors for all THEY have achieved and will continue to achieve. Great work Hike It UP! Nazareth Mkhoian.




More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

Hike It Up...and it's founder, Haig (Hike) Mkhoian is the most amazing volunteer organization I've ever experienced. I was a Director of Volunteers for Hathaway Children's Services, the American Heart Association, and the American Red Cross and I can truthfully say that Hike puts me to shame. He proves that one person...just ONE PERSON!...can make a huge difference. He rallies individuals, organizations, and communities to come together to raise money, donate goods, provide (and cook!) food...all to help children and others in need. This is an organization that is very, very worthy of your support. Not one dime, not one minute of time is wasted here - it all goes directly to the recipients. This is an organization you will feel proud to be associated with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

I just helped a back to school drive with Hike it up for the first time. The mommy and me meetup group and I felt so good helping such a generous cause as helping homeless children to stay in school. we donated many school supplies and it was so easy even for a buys mom of 2 preschoolers like me. All I had to do was drop off our large box to a coffee house and knew it was in good hands. Thank you Hike for putting together such great drives for people in need. I will be helping and asking other parents to help as much as possible. thanks again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

I've been part of Hike It Up from the beginning and can't say enough good things about it. Haig is a selfless individual with a huge heart who has created an amazing organization. He gets everyone involved in the greater good and makes it fun doing it. Unlike other charitable organizations where people behind the scenes have questionable motives and are getting rich in the process, Hike It Up is a true philanthropic venture that rewards those involved by letting them see for themselves the good they are doing for the less fortunate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Cook, serve, and eat with someone in a shelter while having fun or hike a mountain all the while helping someone in need (we collect items for shelters before starting the hike:) Volunteer