Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.930235
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I love Hike It Up. It's such a noble and honorable organization and cause. The kids that benefit from the work and commitment are wonderful and deserve it so much. Haig is a force of nature.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Hike It Up is an amazing organization serving the needs of homeless men, women and children in the greater Los Angeles area. What I like most about this organization is how our efforts have an immediate impact. When Hike brought volunteers together to make lunches for the homeless, for instance, those lunches were loaded up into vehicles and immediately distributed to those in need. It was a simple and direct way to make an immediate impact. My kids were so proud of the lunches they helped make and it was a great way for them to start out in what I hope will be a life long endeavor to help those in need and give back to the community they live in. Equally as important as the immediate impact Hike's work has, is the long term support Hike It Up provides for homeless shelters and individuals - providing supplies for many basic needs on a monthly basis, so that the men, women and children in these shelters can focus on moving forward rather than on whether or not they have a warm blanket or a backpack to keep their schoolwork in. Furthermore, when I am unable to volunteer my time, there are many opportunities to donate money for very specific purposes. I never have to wonder if my donation is being used for administrative costs or overhead. I know that if I donate $10 to provide a backpack with school supplies for a child in need, that somewhere in the LA area, sometime very very soon, a child in need will have that new backpack with school supplies. It's as simple as that. I think that may be the single most important thing about Hike It Up. With his organization, Hike has taken on a very large, very complicated and very overwhelming problem and has made it very easy for volunteers and/or donors to get involved. Instead of seeing the problem and wondering, "How on earth do I even begin to make a difference," you go on a hike and provide basics, you volunteer your time and distribute food, or you donate a bit of money to provide much needed supplies. It's as simple as that. That's how you start. That's how you make a difference. Thank you Hike, for giving me and so many others the opportunity to so easily get involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Hikeitup RockI had a great experience for Hike, amazing hike around Griffith Park.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Hike it up is awesome! It's a small non-profit that try's to help as much as it possibly can locally! Over all I'm very happy and grateful for the experiences that I have had with Hike It Up. HIKE IT UP KEEP
WORKING HARD!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I had a wonderful time volunteering for Hike It Up. Hike has a wonderful personality and is very kind hearted. I've been to many of his hiking events and he has led the group with excitement that you don't even feel that you went on a hike. He collects many donations that day that his jeep is filled to the brim. He has had many events to feed the homeless and he knows how to interact and is very social. Everyone has a great time and the day passes by quickly. I've been to one of his events for people who are mentally or physically disabled and when you go to one of Hike's events you will realize that everyone is happy, dancing, and talking. Overall I'm pleased with his events and I had a great time, learned, and gain more experiences/memories.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing, everything was perfect

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

This is a great organization run by a great guy with like-minded friends and families -- thank you for all of your hard work!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

Hike it up is an amazing little non-profit. It's powered by Hike M. A friendly fellow who often will give needed items to the homeless by taking up donations. Sometimes the donations are brought for wonderful hikes he leads through our local mountains and canyons. When volunteering for Hike it up, we have prepared lunches including sandwich, fruit snack and water. Alongside many cheerful volunteers. Then going to Skid-row and handing those bagged lunches to whoever wanted one.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hike is great, can we have two of him?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 20, 2013

Hikeitup for many years has helped to make positive changes in the community. I had the privilege of volunteering for Hikeitup and have helped make a small positive change on my part. I have assisted... more

August 9, 2014

Hike it Up ROCKS! Non profit that cares for the community and provides assistant for the needy. I am a past volunteer and have enjoyed my experience with Hike It Up tremendously!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 20, 2013

Hikeitup for many years has helped to make positive changes in the community. I had the privilege of volunteering for Hikeitup and have helped make a small positive change on my part. I have assisted painting the LA Youth Shelter, cleaning , landscaping. Hikeitup also organized fun physical activities with the youth and anyone from the community. Most fun for me was the Christmas 5k Marathon Hikeitup had organized with the homless youth. Amazing experience! Hikeitup is well organized non profit and always active with new creative ideas to make positive changes in the community.

Naz. Volunteer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2012


Hike It Up is a great organization that I had the privilege to volunteer on various occasions. I have seen Hike It Up over the years grow and benefit many in the community. I recall assisting Hike It Up with painting local foster youth center and re-landscape the surroundings. I have
tremendously enjoyed the hikes, the runs and taking part in a 10K Christmas marathon. I congratulate him and all the volunteers and donors for all THEY have achieved and will continue to achieve. Great work Hike It UP! Nazareth Mkhoian.




More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 7, 2014

Last weekend, I went on my first hike with Hike It Up. Not only did I get to clean out my closets and give to a very worthy organization, but I was able challenge myself on an incredibly rewarding hik... more

August 9, 2014

"Hike It Up" not only provides a way to give back to the community by collecting donations for homeless people, but it also is a great way to discover, or rediscover, numerous hiking adventures in and around the Los Angeles area. A few months ago, I joined Hike and about 20 other people for an amazing hike around Griffith Park. I felt great because I was sweaty, saw some beautiful views, and was able to donate some items from my house that I no longer needed. Hike is a very knowledgeable hike leader, and I felt I was in good hands as I challenged myself to go further than I thought I ever could. "Hike It Up" is a spectacular organization. I hope it gets the support it needs to continue to give back to our community! Way to go, Hike!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Last weekend, I went on my first hike with Hike It Up. Not only did I get to clean out my closets and give to a very worthy organization, but I was able challenge myself on an incredibly rewarding hike. Sharing his fruit, water, trail mix, enthusiasm, and extensive knowledge of the trails, Hike led us on a great adventure. He took us on trails I never would've had the courage to attempt solo, and yet I found myself standing at the top of the world and feeling every moment of awesomeness. What a fantastic way to spend a Saturday--making new friends, giving to charity, breathing fresh air, and challenging my fitness. I will definitely be back for more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 17, 2013

Hike It Up helped out with our Thanksgiving event at the Star Apartments in skid row. They brought food, book donations, festive decorations including fresh flowers/plants, and friendly smiles. Skid ... more

August 9, 2014

Hike It Up makes volunteering easy and fun!! It's a great way to make a postive difference in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2013

Hike It Up helped out with our Thanksgiving event at the Star Apartments in skid row. They brought food, book donations, festive decorations including fresh flowers/plants, and friendly smiles. Skid Row Housing Trust would be happy to partner with Hike It Up for future events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Cook, serve, and eat with someone in a shelter while having fun or hike a mountain all the while helping someone in need (we collect items for shelters before starting the hike:) Volunteer