Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Hike It Up is an organization that genuinely cares about helping others no matter their ehtnicity, background or any adversities they face. It is an organization that brings a diverse community together to eagerly help those less fortunate or simply those in need of a shoulder to lean on-all the while having loads of fun. In the process of giving back to others, this organization provides a welcoming and exciting atmosphere that not only enlightens each individuals perspective but at the same time brings upon knowledge and compassion for others. Hike It Up also provides an outlet for expression while making a lasting positive change in the world, one individual at a time: people being helped and the people helping.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

The thing that impresses me the most about Hike it Up is the family atmosphere. All of the volunteers work together like they have known each other for years. I was so impressed by the level of collegiality that I have also involved my infant daughter who not only loves helping out, but being treated like an equal.

Get involved with this group and you will help to bring about a great amount of meaningful change directly to your community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hike it Up is growing quickly and there are some obvious organizational aspects that need to be addressed. However, I know that they are enlisting and developing a board of directors that I am positive will help to guide them into growing into a spectacular organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Last weekend, I went on my first hike with Hike It Up. Not only did I get to clean out my closets and give to a very worthy organization, but I was able challenge myself on an incredibly rewarding hike. Sharing his fruit, water, trail mix, enthusiasm, and extensive knowledge of the trails, Hike led us on a great adventure. He took us on trails I never would've had the courage to attempt solo, and yet I found myself standing at the top of the world and feeling every moment of awesomeness. What a fantastic way to spend a Saturday--making new friends, giving to charity, breathing fresh air, and challenging my fitness. I will definitely be back for more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hike It Up provides a rewarding experience for everyone involved: Donations of food and clothing for those in need, great exercise from hiking, and new friendships that evolve while uncovering Los Angeles' hidden hiking secrets - courtesy of the most energetic and benevolent guide, Haig Mkhoian. It's one of the most healthy ways I know that you can help others while simultaneously helping yourself get in shape. What more can you ask for from an organization?! Keep it up, Hike it Up!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 6, 2014

more

January 6, 2014

I am so glad I found Hike It Up! Not only do you get to go on a great hike but you also get to meet some great people and on top of all that by donating clothing or food you feel amazing about yourself. Such a wonderful feeling just for joining this group. Priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing. I love everything about this group and Hike is an amazing leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 30, 2013

more

December 30, 2013

Hike it up is a great organization. Keep sharing, growing and inspiring others to do good things. You guys are awesome!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

Hike It Up helped out with our Thanksgiving event at the Star Apartments in skid row. They brought food, book donations, festive decorations including fresh flowers/plants, and friendly smiles. Skid Row Housing Trust would be happy to partner with Hike It Up for future events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

Hike it up is a great organization that promotes people to get outdoors and enjoy nature. Its leader, Hike, does a great job in exploring new venues and trails that are not as common to others. He permits the groups to go at their own pace and makes it fun. I've been to Bronson Canyon and Griffith Park Observatory hikes with the group. I look forward to more adventures!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2012

Hike it Up and its founder, Hike, are amazing. Hike is passionate about making an impact. Hike it Up has donated much needed back packs, arts and crafts supplies, and many other important items to o... more

October 30, 2013

Hike it Up is a fantastic organization. Hike and his group have donated to our nonprofit several times over the years, and they are terrific to work with. We appreciate all of Hike's hard work in organizing the community to make a difference for others!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2012

Hike it Up and its founder, Hike, are amazing. Hike is passionate about making an impact. Hike it Up has donated much needed back packs, arts and crafts supplies, and many other important items to our children's programs at North Valley Caring Services. He's put together a great group, that really makes a difference for non profits like ours!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 23, 2012

Haig is a dedicated and energetic leader; his enthusiasm and commitment are contagious. He offers local community members many opportunities to be involved in making a change in the communities where ... more

April 21, 2013

Hike It Up is one of the best community based organizations in the SFV. Hike, the organizer, works closely with the groups served by Hike It Up and gets donations of goods, services and funds directly to those agencies. Every volunteer I have encountered has had fun with Hike It Up... from lunch bag stuffing to hiking to the Hollywood sign there is always lots of laughter and positive energy flowing. Hike is a master at touching people's lives and helping them to see the benefit of even small donations becoming a force for good in the SFV. The activities are varied to allow for the greatest inclusion of those interested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2012

Haig is a dedicated and energetic leader; his enthusiasm and commitment are contagious. He offers local community members many opportunities to be involved in making a change in the communities where we live. From providing blankets to gathering foodstuffs for local shelters there is a wide variety of ways to support the organization in making our world a better place. He has the ability to provide direction to large groups of people and to help them to focus on a task for outstanding results. Just watch him organize a group of teenagers in assembling brown bag lunches! Outstanding!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Cook, serve, and eat with someone in a shelter while having fun or hike a mountain all the while helping someone in need (we collect items for shelters before starting the hike:) Volunteer