Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2012

I am in a strong position to review the Highveld Horse Care Unit’s value to equines in particular and society in general, having for 7 years shared the adoption of Thandi, their first rescuee. In t... more

November 7, 2012

I have known the Highveld Horse Care Unit since its inception as an extension of the Vereeniging SPCA, and have fostered/adopted 3 of their rescuees. Sadly, the first of these, Larkspur has just had to be euthanased to spare her the indignity and pain of an infirm old age. She was 32, and the HHCU gave her 22 good years of life after they rescued her as a "no hoper" in 1990. Their selfless, compassion, bravery and hard work cannot be sufficiently praised, and every cent of the funding they receive improves the lives of the many equines under pressure in South Africa and Lesotho.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

I am in a strong position to review the Highveld Horse Care Unit’s value to equines in particular and society in general, having for 7 years shared the adoption of Thandi, their first rescuee.
In the late 1980s, when the Vereeniging SPCA rescued this little animal from pulling a coal cart, she
looked more like a shrivelled sheep than anything equine. Bev Seabourne, the then SPCA manager and her staff pitched in to do something about the crying need for more help in the area. Several years later, the Highveld Horse Care Unit had grown so big that it became a separate organisation with premises of its own.
In June 1990, they rescued a thin, injured 9-year-old mare (who looked like a worn-out coir door mat) from a situation which, I believe, would have killed her in a very short time. Although at rock bottom, she moved with pride and dignity. We adopted her and now, 22 years later, our bright chestnut Larkspur is still a loved and respected member of our family.
These are just two good-news stories of very, very many that the HHCU have helped to write. Yet the crying need remains, particularly in Lesotho and among the donkeys of South Africa. Knowing the Unit and its people as well as I do, I am certain that they will all keep working tirelessly and selflessly bring out the best in people and their animals, to the benefit of many, because compassion is contagious.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Rescue, rehabilitation and rehoming of horses, donkeys and mules.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure a regular supply of funds to consolidate and extend their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I adopted a mare from HHCU a couple of weeks ago,and i couldn't be happier. The help and service was fantastic,the work that they do is amazing. They made my dream come true.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012

more

September 25, 2012

Highveld Horse Care Unit South Africa - Rescue Unit that survives on donations and fund raising. Does a wonderful job helping out in the townships with the cart horses and donkeys, always willing to assist owners who cannot afford to keep their horses anymore. Even travels to neighbouring states to assist their. Need all the help they can get to continue their great work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers