Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 25, 2012

They are very much involved in the community. They put everything in and more in what they do. They keep you uptodate constantly about all the cases which reasure you as member that the horses are get... more

April 23, 2014

They go the extra mile with a smile. Every animal that they come across will be cared for whether a horse or donkey or not. They put not just food in front of them but all of their love and time. I am proud to say that I support such an amazing organazation
September 25, 2012

They are very much involved in the community. They put everything in and more in what they do. They keep you uptodate constantly about all the cases which reasure you as member that the horses are getting the help and love they need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

You have to go to Highveld to see for yourself, even though the horses/donkeys/ponies have come from neglect, or a bad situation it is a very peacefull peace to be. The work they do and the dedication they have is amazing!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2012

I am in a strong position to review the Highveld Horse Care Unit’s value to equines in particular and society in general, having for 7 years shared the adoption of Thandi, their first rescuee. In t... more

November 7, 2012

I have known the Highveld Horse Care Unit since its inception as an extension of the Vereeniging SPCA, and have fostered/adopted 3 of their rescuees. Sadly, the first of these, Larkspur has just had to be euthanased to spare her the indignity and pain of an infirm old age. She was 32, and the HHCU gave her 22 good years of life after they rescued her as a "no hoper" in 1990. Their selfless, compassion, bravery and hard work cannot be sufficiently praised, and every cent of the funding they receive improves the lives of the many equines under pressure in South Africa and Lesotho.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

I am in a strong position to review the Highveld Horse Care Unit’s value to equines in particular and society in general, having for 7 years shared the adoption of Thandi, their first rescuee.
In the late 1980s, when the Vereeniging SPCA rescued this little animal from pulling a coal cart, she
looked more like a shrivelled sheep than anything equine. Bev Seabourne, the then SPCA manager and her staff pitched in to do something about the crying need for more help in the area. Several years later, the Highveld Horse Care Unit had grown so big that it became a separate organisation with premises of its own.
In June 1990, they rescued a thin, injured 9-year-old mare (who looked like a worn-out coir door mat) from a situation which, I believe, would have killed her in a very short time. Although at rock bottom, she moved with pride and dignity. We adopted her and now, 22 years later, our bright chestnut Larkspur is still a loved and respected member of our family.
These are just two good-news stories of very, very many that the HHCU have helped to write. Yet the crying need remains, particularly in Lesotho and among the donkeys of South Africa. Knowing the Unit and its people as well as I do, I am certain that they will all keep working tirelessly and selflessly bring out the best in people and their animals, to the benefit of many, because compassion is contagious.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Rescue, rehabilitation and rehoming of horses, donkeys and mules.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure a regular supply of funds to consolidate and extend their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

HHCU does what only so many of us wish we could do. I do not have the emotional strength to put up with what HHCU does and therefore I help as much as I can with my financial donations monthly. They are a voice for each equine they rescue and give each rescued equine a second chance to experience a good life. It is unbelievable how human kind can abuse and neglect animals, fortunately there is HHCU to make a difference (and man do they try hard!) I really do appreciate that they try first to educate equine owners in properly caring for and maintaining the good health of their working equines, in essence this is making difference. But I am very relieved that in extremely severe cases they confiscate the equines and rehabilitate them. Thank you HHCU for all the work you do and for having the emotional strength to keep at it. I sleep better at night knowing that you guys are using every cent and resource that you have available to you to save the ill treated equines out there. I will work hard at my day job just so that I can keep supporting you financially. I believe in you guys. God bless*

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not had a personal experience with this organisation as yet, but I do keep myself up to date with their projects and the progress of each and am absolutely amazed at the results they get and work they do for all abuseed and neglected equines.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to make a change in their financial structure. They work off of donations from the public which is not a stale financial structure that affords them a consistent inflow of financial resources. I think that they could benefit more from a stable financial set up which can afford them a consistent cash inflow to help them maintain their facilities for the rehabilitation and treating of rescued/ill/abused equines, without having to cry out for help each time they rescue an equine.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The problems which prompt my donations are the poor education and lack of resources available to township people who own working equines. All of HHCU projects to help educate these people to better care for their working equines inspires me to donate, because in essence that is fixing the root of the problem, lack of knowledge about properly caring for these equines.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I believe in HHCU and every project they embark on. I have seen the benefits from all the donations and purely because I want to help.

What would you tell others about this organization?

They are an amazing organization with regards to the hours they are willing to work, the conditions they put up with, the most horrific scenes and situations of abuse and neglect they endure on every project with minimal resources, and all to help animals which can never repay them for their work. I think HHCU finds their reward in seeing rescued equines rehabilitated and that's what keeps them motivated and driven to continue helping abused and neglected equines.

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

In April 2011 it came to HHCU's attention that a very thin frieian mare was for sale by the previous owner. This mare more resembled a starving bovine than the baroque type frieian mare she was supposed to be. HHCU removed her from the owner and after a few months I was able to adopt this girl. I drove to thir premises to meet her first,and I take my hat off to every single person that works with the sad sad cases of animal neglect and cruelty. I am a medical professional and yet will never be able to deal with the pain and suffering these angels see on a daily basis. My friesian mare today is our happy,stocky paddock ornament..she will never be ridden. Not only was this girl starved,but she must have endured horrible acts of abuse and cruelty. If it was not for HHCU this mare would have been sold on,bred with and prob ridden..all with a oreviously broken pelvis and a shutdown soul. HHCU has my utmost respect and admiration. Dr Helena Hendriks

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I adopted a mare from HHCU a couple of weeks ago,and i couldn't be happier. The help and service was fantastic,the work that they do is amazing. They made my dream come true.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

This organization is of the utmost importance they not only rescue horese in distress but help to educate and assit with the working hosres and donkeys in the less fortunate arears were they are desperatley needed. I personaly have adopted from them . They are compassionate knowlegable and caring people who sometimes have to bare abuse . Without this organization our country would be a poorer place. They are angels . Bring care and respect to to the hard working equines and also thier owners. Please help where you can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

Highveld horse care unit gave me my dream back by giving me my amazing horse....he has brought such joy in my life, he is gentle, plasid and just WONDERFUL!!! I'm so grateful for the work they do and they are truely wonderful and caring people!!! I take my hat off to them for the work and effort they do for these animals!!!! You guys are amazing!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

Was very impressed with the neatness of the Unit and the dedication that staff displayed towards the equines. This Unit is making a difference to the lives of so many horses and donkeys and deserves each and every person's support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

Wonderful people doing a fantastic job. They not only care for their equine friends, they also publicise the cases of awful abuse they discover and sometimes the names of the perpetrators.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers