Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.967745
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

I have to say that this is still the MOST AMAZING experience I have had in my life. Going to Guatemala, building stoves, planting trees, and engaging with people in the community was not only eye-opening, but life-changing. The HSP does wonderful work WITH the communities they serve, and brings AWARENESS to causes that should be important to everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

The Highland Support Project is a great non-profit organization and one of the few that actually does more help than harm in the communities they serve. HSP's mission is not only to develop, empower, and transform communities, but also to educate the more privileved communities through service-learning projects and lectures on Mayan history and culture. My experience in Guatemala, working alongside the wonderful people of HSP and AMA, is one I will treasure always. Together, we built stoves in the communities, worked in the schools presenting afforable art programs utilizing recycled materials, and participated in reforestation projects. I cannot wait to go back to Guatemala and once again volunteer my time and energy with the Highland Support Project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

Amazing trip to Guatemala AND I learned a lot. Just ask Ben why community development is better than plain charity and what he has to say will change your views. Eye opening experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Highland Support Project is an organization truly passionate about creating transformational change. I volunteered with HSP on a trip to Guatemala in 2009 and was blown away by the wealth of knowledge staff members had, the genuine relationships the organization had formed with people in partner countries, and the vision HSP had for both their volunteers and the communities they visited. I was so impressed that, when looking for a meaningful internship experience the following year, I immediately thought of Highland Support. I wanted to be a part of a goal-oriented organization with genuine values and transformative vision. HSP embodied all of these qualities and many, many more. My love for HSP and my belief that it is one of the rare, empowering agents of social change, have not wavered. The Highland Support experience is one that takes volunteers across geographic, socioeconomic, and cultural borders and truly changes the lives of everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The Highland Support Project (HSP) is a stellar organization of social change. The organization balances substantive and meaningful solutions with culturally sensitive development tactics. For hands-on-volunteers, get involved in HSP's operations both in the United States and Guatemala. You will be part of meaningful cultural experiences. For businesses, establish relationships with the organization and learn from their model to foster independence. Top private sector firms are looking to build relationships with HSP. For other non-profit organizations, reach out to the leadership team to find ways for collaboration and resource sharing. This is an organization that marches towards strong values of exchange, empowerment, and creative solutions/enterprise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Highland Support Project is absolutely wonderful! HSP provides a volunteer experience like no other. I have been on two different volunteer trips with HSP and I have worked with them as an intern for a month and a half in Guatemala. Each time I have had wonderful experiences. I have been on many volunteer trips outside of HSP and by far they are providing the best experiences! They are one of few organizations that legitimately provide a volunteer experience that benefits long term sustainable change for the communities they work in. This organization has found the perfect balance of "work", play, and education for their volunteers. Not only have I come back from their trips feeling good, but I feel educated on the issues happening in Guatemala and what we, as global citizens, can do to help! Coming from an education in International Affairs and Humanitarian Affairs, I can confidently attest to HSP's functional and brilliant model for change and empowerment. I love this organization! I have not worked with a better organization to date!!! Support HSP!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering with HSP and going to Guatemala was eye opening and life changing. Everyone involved was amazing and I met many people i hope to work with again in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

My experience with HSP is a few years back now ... I felt like we were doing real work providing housing for war widows and their families. For anyone who is dedicated to service and wishes to see real people who are coming together to do relief and social justice the Highland Support Project is a class act! They've been around I'm guessing almost 20 years now providing housing, job skills training, immunizations and health screening. They provide supplies at reasonable prices to indigenous craftsmen and artisans... as well as supporting a market for their goods. They are dedicated to outreach and education about community, poverty, and how to cooperatively find solutions. I am always willing to give my time and resources to a fine organization such as this.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I loved the Highland Support Project, it was definitely one of the highlights of my college career. I truly felt that we made an impact on the lives of the people we helped, getting to know their beautiful country and their people, and making strong friendships while working with those who truly wanted to make a difference. I would highly recommend this to anyone who simply wants to help others while embarking on a wonderful life experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

The Highland Support Project has been my true college. This non-profit is quite amazing. I traveled with them as a student and continued participation with them until even now, as a teacher. My experiences in working with this non-profit have shaped my life and career. They have facilitated grants and projects and are always open for new ideas .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers