Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.967745
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

A wonderful organization, with great people, doing awesome, life-changing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2013

more

May 12, 2013

Thank you so much for allowing me to help and heal using my butterfly credits at Care2. It's gives me and others a chance to help with all the actions we do. It's such a great feeling sending cement and knowing I am helping families in need and helping the planet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

My experience with the Highland Support Project is one that I will keep with me for a lifetime! I had the privilege of going to Guatemala in January of 2013 and worked with the women of AMA in an experience that I can honestly say changed my life and what perspective on volunteering. The HSP is full of dedicated, hard-working, and kind-hearted people who are nothing short of incredible. I look forward to working with them in Arizona this summer and hopefully back in Guatemala in the winter (and maybe later on in life as well!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 5, 2013

more

May 5, 2013

In January 2012 and January 2013, I had the privilege of working with HSP and their community residents in three rural villages. Nine Virginia Commonwealth University Nursing Without Borders students and I built stoves and conducted health screenings and education programs during our respective 10 day and 7 day stays. What I love about HSP is its commitment to collaborative/cooperative work in the villages versus what some folks call "hit and run" (drop in with supplies, then not show up again for another month or 6 months or longer). Members of the communities are active partners in all of the work that HSP supports. Through HSP I have experienced the true meaning of empowerment in its most positive way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

I had the most amazing spring break in Guatemala through the Highland Support Project. Although my group was only there for a week, we were still able to do so many amazing things - from visiting beautiful sites in the country to learning about the Guatemalan culture and helping their families and villages grow. It was a rewarding and unforgettable trip. It has inspired me to travel to other countries in need to volunteer and learn more about the world outside of the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

I traveled to Guatemala in March of 2010 with the Mayan Arts Program through a course I took at VCU. What drew me to this organization is their focus on sustainability rather than charity. We were instructed not to bring gifts of any kind, including candy, and instead concentrate on our goals and devote ourselves to them, which made for a richer experience. We didn't feel like we were there to "help" -- instead we felt like we were there to teach and be taught. My group spent our mornings working with children in their schools, and our afternoons and evenings were filled with extremely interesting, engaging and informative sessions with local artists, activists and spiritual scholars. When I returned home, I could immediately see the changes within myself -- that I was more open-minded, cognizant of my impact on the global community, and appreciative of the opportunities I have and had been given. I never felt like I was a patronizing Westerner. I felt like I was truly part of something big. The Highland Support Project focuses on transformational opportunities for both the volunteers and the Maya communities. I say they do an amazing job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

The Highland Support Project guided me through an unforgettable experience in Guatemala. They have inspired and prepared me for future endeavors in the nonprofit sector. The staff are extremely friendly and will also accommodate people who have additional needs. I could have not asked for a better nonprofit group for my first experience and would encourage others to also join the Highland Support Project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

I have had the pleasure of going to Guatemala twice with the Highland Support Project and this summer I intend on working with them in Arizona as well. Their model of sustainability and working closely with communities is amazing. I felt as if all the interventions we did while in Guatemala made a lasting impact in the communities and helped to lay a foundation for health promotion in the rural communities. I hope to continue our partnership with HSP!

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

I had an amazing time with Highland Support project in Guatemala!! The highland support project goes above and beyond for their cause I couldn't have picked a better non profit organization to go abroad with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. Working with them and experiencing the way they do their work in Guatemala has truly inspired me. They are so committed to a honoring the culture of the communities they support and to create truly sustainable resources. I can't say enough! And can't wait to go back :)
Logistically with our trip, also, they were completely professional and organized, as well as responsive and thoughtful of our mission and skills as a group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers