Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I was injured in a skiing accident April 19, 2014. I fractured C4-C6 becoming a C6 quadriplegic. I also also fractured the transverse process of T8-T10 and dislocated and fractured my right hip. High Fives helped me get in to Craig Hospital where I made huge progress. High Fives has changed my life and the staff has been an amazing support system! I'm excited to see what the future holds and I wouldn't be where I am today without their support!
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

My name is Jasmin Bambur. In 2000, I was driving home after Team Handball practice and I crashed my car. I sustained several injuries including a broken back at T9, which resulted in paralysis of my lower extremities.

Today, I am an US Paralympic alpine ski racer. I have been racing for
six years. For the last three years, High Fives foundation helped me pay for some major expenses during winter months. Thanks to their support, I am able to apply myself 100% on racing and not too worried about paying bills. I am currently ranked 8th in world in Super G and my goal is to be #1. All the people working at High Fives are super easy to work with. I am so fortunate to have such great organization like High Fives helping me live my life to the fullest and compete with the best in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Back in January of 2013 I was snowboarding at a friends house building jumps and making rails. I took off after one of the jumps. I was trying to do a flip trick that I have done in the past many times. I used to be a snowboard instructor and also competed in local terrain park competitions. The jump gave out and I landed awkwardly on my neck. I broke my c6 vertebrae leaving me paralyzed with a spinal cord injury from the chest down. To this day I still have to use a battery powered wheelchair. High5 sent me a generous donation only days after my accident which far exceeded expectation. I have gotten to know some of the people in the organization and can say that they are heading in the right direction by helping others. Awesome organization. Thanks!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

in 2004 I broke my back, leaving my paralyzed from the waist down. it was a few years afterwards when the high 5's came into my world and gave me the boost i needed to continue exploring a life of adventure and sport. they have given me the resources to be the best skier i can be, which is my true passion. they have also exposed me to other sports such as surfing and wake boarding. most importantly they have connected me with a variety of other people in similar situations, allowing us to share stories and experiences, moving forward in life.

i'm really impressed with how Roy, Steve and Adam have lead by example, in life and actions. Living a life of adventure and service, as well simply being all round great people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would love to see an extension of this foundation, in canada.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

In June of 2011, I broke my back and many other things in a rock climbing accident. I was in the hospital for three and a half months and had six surgeries. I am now paralyzed below the chest and a wheelchair user. I am a recipient of a grant from the High Fives Foundation for a season pass of skiing, personal training, and a trip to a ski camp in Colorado. The High Fives Foundation has contributed a huge amount to my recovery. A major source of my joy and connection comes from adaptive sports, specifically mono skiing, and High Fives has allowed me to take part in that fully. Adaptive sports equipment and lessons are expensive, especially on a fixed income, and it is important that these organizations exist to fill that gap. I am proud to be a High Fives Athlete, and have been nothing but impressed by every interaction I have had with them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

One morning while skiing in California, I broke my leg so badly I required an amputation below the knee. An old ski friend turned me on to the High Fives Foundation while I was immobile in bed. I've gone from almost nothing physically, to a strong, happy, functioning person again. My recovery has been tough, so tough in fact that I had given up all hope, and at my lowest point High Fives come along, picked me up and put me back on my two feet. They helped buy the prosthesis I now walk on, as well as pay for intense physical therapy, enabling me to walk and ride my mountain bike again. From where I was before High Fives to this very moment I can't tell you how far I've come. High Fives and a good surgical and rehabilitation team and you can do anything! Skiing and running are next for me. I'm not there yet, but I know the day will come when I'm skiing again and I can quietly tell myself I've made a full recovery. My name is Patrick Lonsdale and I'm High Fives Athelete #52.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hold more events whenever possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

High Five is simply an amazing foundation. I was given a grant that i was able to purchase my skibike with. My life is much more fulfilled riding my skibike and working on skibike advocacy for adaptive use. I can't describe enough how much High Fives helped me achieve my goals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

High Fives is an amazing organization. They give so much to those who have been injured in life altering accidents. I am proud to call these guys my friends and love spending my time volunteering for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

I was injured in a skiing accident, and High Fives has helped me get back doing the things I love. If it wasn't with their help, I wouldn't already be doing the things I love. more

August 8, 2014

High Gives has been a great organization in my recovery. There were many things I wanted/needed to do, and they helped fund them so I could make them possible. I don't think I would be where I am in my healing if it wasn't for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

I was injured in a skiing accident, and High Fives has helped me get back doing the things I love. If it wasn't with their help, I wouldn't already be doing the things I love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 6, 2013

High Fives supported my regaining my independence by purchasing Bioness Stimulation equipment to help me walk again. I suffered a traumatic brain injury snowboarding. It has been a long journey to rec... more

August 8, 2014

This is my second review of the High Fives Foundation. They continue to support me in my journey to be the best that I can be. They are always there for me when I need to talk, to get info, and letting me know about events that I can participate in. Just recently they purchased an outdoor four season wheelchair for me so I can enjoy the outdoors with more independence. They made a video called Helmets Are Cool and they asked me to be in the video. I now travel throughout Vermont presenting my story and showing the video to schools. High Fives led the way and now I can present to schools all on my own. Check out the video on their web site. I love you High Fives!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2013

High Fives supported my regaining my independence by purchasing Bioness Stimulation equipment to help me walk again. I suffered a traumatic brain injury snowboarding. It has been a long journey to recover and High Fives continues to support me and my family with whatever it takes to help me live a wonderful, independent and successful life. I love them sooooooooooo much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help at one of the various events held year round in an effort to continue to raise funds.