Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

The Higgins and Langley board and organization is one of the most passionate organizations I have ever come across. The members go above and beyond in getting the word out about water safety and drowning prevention. They also do a wonderful job in recognizing those who put their life on the line to save others in water rescues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011

I lost my son in the summer of 09. As many people feel after loosing a love one in a (sometimes) preventable accident, like drowning, I felt the compelling need to make sense of my son’s death by trying to do something to help prevent other families from experiencing the same loss. My search to make a difference took me to our local fire department in Albany Oregon where I talked to Keith Gillespie who told me of Drowning Support Network and gave me Nancy Riggs contact information. I contacted Nancy Rigg, founder of Higgins And Langley Memorial and Education Fund, DSN and DSN Advocacy. Nancy has offered great support and went a step farther to introduce me to Taneka Burwell-Means, who is with American Medical Response and is the River Rescue Program Specialist here in Oregon. I have hopes that this new connection will help me in my unfailing desire to make a greater awareness of open water swimming safety to teens, young adults, and parents, by expanding this program at other river recreational sites. I have learned about other programs and other agencies that are doing their part in making our children safer in all areas of water recreation through DSN. This is only part of what they do and for me I feel encouraged because of the support and help I have received from them. DSN helped get me connected to others who had shared the same type of loss and helped me to feel not alone. Thank you for all you do ~

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Support that is helping with my greif and healing process and also received helpful and current contact informaton for a local program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, I can not think of anything......

February 18, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2011

As one who has lost a loved on to a drowning accident I found this organization through Drowning Support Network. This online support has been a wonderful support in validating feelings, understanding the process and begin my healing journey. To know that others understand first hand what you are going through makes a huge difference and helps to lift the weight.
Last year, we started an organization in our area for drowning prevention. Through the knowledge and experience of the Higgins and Langley Foundation members and Nancy Rigg we were guided through many necesary steps to get set up. The DSN Advocacy group has offered many resources, answers, support and encouragement to help in this journey as well. I am so thankful and blessed to have benefited from many aspects of this foundation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The friendships and connections that I have made through the Drowning Support Network. I have gained so much information and have been able to help others through the impact that DSN has made for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I love that the DSN is available at any time through the internet. The spam of support covers around the globe and I think it is a wonderful way to reach out to so many. I can't think of a way I would change or improve the way that this organization reaches out to familes.

February 4, 2011

more

February 4, 2011

The Higgins and Langley Memorial and Education Fund sponsors many worthy programs, including the Higgins & Langley Memorial Awards in Swiftwater Rescue. These awards honor outstanding achievement in the technical rescue discipline of swiftwater and flood rescue. They are not heroism awards, but rather recognize preparedness, teamwork, and a job well done, sometimes under extreme conditions, where training is vital to the success of rescue missions, as well as the safety of rescue personnel.

The awards are named in honor of Earl Higgins, a writer and filmmaker who lost his life in 1980 while rescuing a child who was swept down the flood-swollen Los Angeles River, and Jeffrey Langley, a Los Angeles County Fire Department firefighter-paramedic and swiftwater rescue pioneer, who lost his life in a helicopter incident in 1993.

In addition to the awards, the Fund sponsors the Drowning Support Network, which lends guidance to families who have lost loved ones to drowning or in other aquatic accidents. Through DSN Advocacy, we promote drowning prevention and water safety awareness programs.

The Fund was established in 1993, and for a very small, all volunteer nonprofit organization, awesome work is achieved worldwide. I am so proud of this nonprofit and the many dedicated volunteers and sponsors who have ensured its continuation year after year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Since the inception of the Higgins & Langley Memorial Awards in 1993, I have proudly watched this technical rescue discipline grow and thrive, thanks, in part, to the encouragement agencies have received from being presented with one of our prestigious awards. I have also been deeply moved by the journey through grief shared by other families who have lost loved ones to drowning and other aquatic accidents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would that we could eliminate the need for The Drowning Support Network by reducing the number of deaths annually. Most drowning deaths are preventable, but there is so little funding available to really address this danger.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

This organization was created by the Swiftwater Rescue Committee of the National Association for Search and Rescue (NASAR) in honor of my fiance, Earl Higgins, and firefighter-paramedic Jeffrey Langley, who was a friend and colleague. I have supported it since its inception in 1993.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Funding for the annual presentation of the Higgins & Langley Memorial Awards in Swiftwater Rescue. Funding for the development of a comprehensive river safety program for the non-boating public - people who wade, swim, go tubing, and otherwise use rivers for recreation, despite dangers which people are not well enough educated about.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To survive in a nonprofit world where funding is based on service to a local community. We are a small nonprofit, but we serve a worldwide community, which makes it very difficult to qualify for much needed grant funding.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers