Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.871795
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

j_flow Please,please look up NJ Chapter on Facebook.We havea few outtings left this year,we book up quickly.If your interested,i will guarantee a spot on whatever trips you want,i know you will not have a bad experience with us,some great men and women.You will love this bunch......Also contact me on Facebook and i will fill ya in more with the great outtings we have and what to expect.....https://www.facebook.com/bill.peraino.........https://www.facebook.com/HeroesOnTheWaterNewJerseyChapter
July 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 15, 2014

J_flow - We are disappointed to read your post. Please contact me at 214-295-4541 or Jim.dolan@heroesonthewater.org.
Jim Dolan – Founder and CEO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread it to all 50 states

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

J_flow I'm truly sorry that the HOW event you attended did not go as well as you hoped. We would love to have you attend one of our events in New Jersey. I will personally make sure you have everything you need to have a great day fishing with us. Please look at our facebook page and hopefully we have an event that works with your schedule or maybe we could just go fishing if your in the area. Hope we get to meet soon and thank you for your service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

J_flow, hello I am so sorry you were treated that way. Rest assured you will be welcomed with open arms(also a loaner kayak, fishing pole, all bait and tackle, breakfast and lunch) when you register for an event with "Heroes on the Water New Jersey - chapter". Please look us up on FB ASAP. Introduce yourself and please say Dave this is J_Flow. I hope you see this and reply. When do you plan on returning to NJ? Hurry home, we still have at leadt 5 more outings this season.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Heroes on the Water New Jersey - chapter needs no fixing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2014

I’m a member of the Armed Forces stationed at Fort Hood, TX. I attended a Heroes On the Water (HOW) event North of Dallas, my experience was horrible. The event coordinator was an arrogant individual that talk down to me I could tell he had issues with people of my ethnic background and sex. HOW claims they let veterans use their Kayak, fishing rods and tackle, I was talk down to after the event coordinator asked me if I had a fishing rod and tackle. I didn’t have anything to fish with. This and the way I was being treated made me feel so uncomfortable so I left. Maybe other chapters treat people with dignity and respect but I would not recommend the Dallas HOW chapter. I’m going to give back home, the local chapter (New Jersey chapter) a try. Hopefully I’ll be treated better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer and also a disabled veteran. I have been involved in two chapters of HOW. One in California and now the one in North Dallas. My experiences volunteering and helping out my fellow veterans at every event I have attended has been great. We have great fellowship and can relate to one another about our unique circumstances in ways no one can imagine. I have been with HOW since 2010 and will always try and attend each event and lend a hand when time permits.

What is so great is to see the veterans who first come to the events leave relaxed and saying what fun they had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible make a few trips to the ocean here in Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had been kayak fishing for several years when I was approached with volunteering at a HOW outing. I was not sure what assistance I could provide since I am not a vet, but signed up anyway. What an experience! I now volunteer whenever I can. There is no distinction on who is who. Everyone is there to have a good time and enjoy the outdoors. Most importantly, these have been all family events, meaning families can get out together and enjoy being together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently volunteered for HOW for the first time. This experience was nothing short of amazing. Prior to the event, I had no kayak or fishing experience, but felt very comfortable within a matter of minutes on the water. Community connections were made on a personal level. I feel truly blessed to have met and fished with veterans from my area. I will continue to volunteer at any HOW event in the future!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a HOW for a couple of years now. It is a great Organization. The Soldiers and their Families really enjoy their time away fishing. It is especially nice to see the kids come out to an event and catch some fish.

I take every opportunity to talk about the HOW Organization.
My employer also supports my volunteering efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Support/provide for the immediate families at the same level as we provide for our Soldiers. The immediate families are the front-line support and they need the same considerations that are afforded to the Soldiers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Heroes On The Water is a great organization. I had no kayak or saltwater experience until I started fishing with HOW. I have learned a lot about both during my experiences with HOW. I have also learned a lot about my self through sharing experiences with other wounded warriors I have meet during our fishing trips. A big thank you to South East Texas HOW.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers