Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.970595
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer and also a disabled veteran. I have been involved in two chapters of HOW. One in California and now the one in North Dallas. My experiences volunteering and helping out my fellow veterans at every event I have attended has been great. We have great fellowship and can relate to one another about our unique circumstances in ways no one can imagine. I have been with HOW since 2010 and will always try and attend each event and lend a hand when time permits.

What is so great is to see the veterans who first come to the events leave relaxed and saying what fun they had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible make a few trips to the ocean here in Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had been kayak fishing for several years when I was approached with volunteering at a HOW outing. I was not sure what assistance I could provide since I am not a vet, but signed up anyway. What an experience! I now volunteer whenever I can. There is no distinction on who is who. Everyone is there to have a good time and enjoy the outdoors. Most importantly, these have been all family events, meaning families can get out together and enjoy being together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

I recently volunteered for HOW for the first time. This experience was nothing short of amazing. Prior to the event, I had no kayak or fishing experience, but felt very comfortable within a matter of minutes on the water. Community connections were made on a personal level. I feel truly blessed to have met and fished with veterans from my area. I will continue to volunteer at any HOW event in the future!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a HOW for a couple of years now. It is a great Organization. The Soldiers and their Families really enjoy their time away fishing. It is especially nice to see the kids come out to an event and catch some fish.

I take every opportunity to talk about the HOW Organization.
My employer also supports my volunteering efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Support/provide for the immediate families at the same level as we provide for our Soldiers. The immediate families are the front-line support and they need the same considerations that are afforded to the Soldiers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Heroes On The Water is a great organization. I had no kayak or saltwater experience until I started fishing with HOW. I have learned a lot about both during my experiences with HOW. I have also learned a lot about my self through sharing experiences with other wounded warriors I have meet during our fishing trips. A big thank you to South East Texas HOW.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HOW is a wonderful organization that I am proud to be a part of! There's no better way to help others than to do it by way of something you are already passionate about. The Tidewater Va chapter welcomed me in as an injured active duty participant, but I quickly found myself helping new friends less mobile than I land fish. As my healing progresses (and I get my first kayak trip under my belt), I look forward to volunteering more, aiding my brothers and sisters in an activity I've been fortunate enough to enjoy my entire life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I joined HOW as a volunteer with no kayak experience but with a love of fishing. The chapter coordinator quickly put me in a kayak and told me to try it out. Since that day I have been hooked. As a volunteer, I am also active duty. I have made some great friendships and seen smiles on the faces of people who have given much and still have a reason to smile. One of the best memories I have is of a vet that was almost completely paralyzed paddle a kayak with the biggest smile on his face. And a soldier who was stand offish to other people open to me and joke and laugh. Wouldn't trade those memories for the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

I'm a firm believer in the healing power of the water in general, combine that with fishing, kayaks, and veterans who have experienced the same as you, and you've got Heros On The Water. Its the ultimate anti-therapy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eventually volunteer my time on the helping side of the organization. I'm a firm believer in them and would love to be a part of it from the other side one day

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HOW events with veterans enjoying the outdoors through kayaking and fishing are a blessing for all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Heros on the water saved me. I have learned to destress and relax through fishing. Kayaking had helped me with balance and posture. The friendships I have formed are life long. The volunteers have given so much and I can't say thank you enough. I have five special needs children that have fished with me at the events. The volunteers treated them like thy were apart of the family. I know have a skill set that I can use the rest of my life. Thank you so much to the HOW.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers