Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

A first went to Heroes of the Nation(HTN) as part of a school trip. I've been to a few orphanages in the developing world before but was simply blown away by how unique HTN is. The kids have such a joy and sparkle in their eyes. It's obvious that they are not only loved and taken care of, but also very secure and confident. It brought me to tears hearing the stories of how these kids wanted to grow up to be presidents, lawyers, teachers, and pilots to change their nation. The education the kids were receiving seemed excellent as well and the kids were all very proud of their high marks on exams. As a volunteer my life was absolutely changed. I became close friends with many of the children and still stay in touch with them through letters. Our team had numerous opportunities to serve the kids and staff as well as just connect with them and love on them. I highly recommend going to HTN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have the pleasure of interning with Heroes of the Nation. This organization has forever changed my view on the model an orphanage should have. Heroes of the Nation is changing the way children in Africa see themselves and how they can impact the world. This organization is shaping the future of Africa and the world. As an intern I have been able to read the letters hand written by the kids to their sponsor. I have been so moved by testimony of how transformed these kid’s lives have become because of Heroes of the Nation. They have written saying that once they had no future and no hope but that since coming to Heroes of the Nation they see hope and a future for themselves! I can only imagine what would happen if all orphanages around the global would model what Heroes of the Nations does. The world would be forever changed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Heroes of the Nations powerfully impacts children's lives and changes them forever. Not only do they care for the physical needs of children in Africa, but their vision is to raise them up as leaders in their country in every part of society. When I began supporting a little girl three years ago, Heroes helped me feel so connected to her. It was such a joy to be a part of her journey and see how something so simple could change a child's life forever.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I visited Heroes of the Nations orphanage in the spring of 2009. I was very impressed withe staff, the school and the kids. The kids had been taught that they were the heroes of the next generation and they did not see themselves as orphans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I went to visit the HTN campus in Nyahururu in June of 2011 and was mightily impressed! The selflessness, and commitment to the kids by Weston, Violet, and all the Heroes staff is amazing. They are always looking to the needs of the kids first and provide such a loving environment for the growth and education of these kids. They truly beiieve and work to instill a sense of destiny and excellence in these kids, leaving behind the things of the past and moving them forward to become heroes! I was also very impressed with the many practical ways that Heroes as developed to achieve the goal of self-sufficiency. Their efforts in agriculture are particularly notable such as the new green houses, the corn grinding mill and chicken incubators. I look forward to see how the lives of these kids will impact the nation of Kenya and beyond!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

In 2002 I went to Kenya with the intent of starting 'a new paradigm in orphan care'. We called it Heroes of the Nation. Going into our 11th year, I believe that we have accomplished that goal. HTN takes houses, educates, trains and loves over 500 children at risk. To visit the Heroes of the Nation campus is to see the 'happiest place on Earth', in that these children know they are loved and are being given the tools to not only live productive adult lives in their future, but to be part of changing Kenya for the better. They have a heart to 'give back' the love and help they were given. Our 4 pillars are 1) a strong and healthy identity, 2) an excellent scholastic education, 3) a vision for 'self sufficiency', and 4) a heart for social justice. I am amazed that a simple vision is now a reality that affects a nation. We have an amazing staff in Kenya and the USA, that no words can express my pride in them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I believe in the work of Heroes of the Nation. When I volunteered with HTN, I felt that I wasn't just promoting an organization but that I was becoming part of a movement. It was important for me to see the faces of the children whose lives I was impacting. I knew that my efforts were making a positive change for their futures. These children will become leaders because of the practical skills and loving encouragement they receive on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I first visited the foundation's Heroes of the Nation children's home and school in Nyahururu, Kenya in 2005, and have been back twice more (most recently in October of 2012). The 500+ children are well-cared-for, and very happy and hopeful. Violet Gitonga (Mum) is an extremely competent leader, ensuring that the children receive a superior education and live in a caring, supportive atmosphere. The Home is working on several self-sufficiency programs, which I feel is crucial to their long-term sustainability, and provides me as a donor with confidence that they recognize the importance of ensuring their own future rather than trusting wholly in Western donors. I am so happy to know my donation dollars are contributing to the formation of future leaders in Kenya, and working to develop a children's home model that can be emulated throughout Africa.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

My wife and I visited their Nyahururu, Kenya children's home in March of 2010. We were totally impressed with the HOPE that the children carried. They applied themselves to their classroom studies and demonstrated their intentions to earn their rightful destiny as leaders of their country, community and in their chosen professions. We talked to many of the children and learned of their aspirations to become doctors, lawyers, politicians, teachers, nurses, dental assistants and occasionally we heard things like airline pilot and rock star. These kids are grounded and thriving in the environment provided for them through the leadership of Violet Gitonga and her team of professionals. We heard that their school was earning academic scores that ranked in the top 5% of the national results. We certainly saw the desire and dedication for each child, each of whom came from the most dire of situations, most often where there were no surviving family members. As we got to know many of the children more intimately we could see they are filled with hope and enthusiasm for their future; their destiny.
This organization is transforming today's underdogs into the leaders of tomorrow... and they are doing it better than anyone else we have seen!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I am so thankful for the work of Heroes of the Nation in Kenya. Heroes of the Nation has given Africa an example of how orphans can be adopted, educated and trained to lead Kenya and Africa in the future. I am so impressed with their focus on education and training future leaders. I love that they have protected the futures of these Kenyan children. Heroes of the Nation has an understanding of self sustaining programming that is rare. They have inspired me as I work with overseas projects to create systems that truly empower children to serve and to lead. They have given these children the gift of a future that is filled with great expectation and understanding to lead peaceable and prosperous lives. And, they have given Africa a model of children who are growing up whole, protected and empowered. My hope is that the work of Heroes of the Nation is replicated all through out Africa. Anne Kalvestrand, Director of the Art of Peace Institute

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers