Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
1234.944445
| 1 ... 3 4 5...11 |
Write A Review
March 27, 2012

more

March 27, 2012

I was very impressed by the effectiveness of the program. I attended as a mentor/volunteer. They did not pay for our airfare and instead asked the volunteers to cover that cost to keep as much as possible of the donations entirely devoted to helping the students. - The attendees seemed to feel very enriched and gained a lot from the program. Many committing to furthering their studies in a more formal setting. - It was truly amazing to see how much it affected everyone in a powerful way. - In summary: Well run organization - Amazing results.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2012

more

March 27, 2012

the week that I spent at Heritage Retreats was one of the best weeks of my life. Everything was amazing from the staff to the food to the atmosphere to the activities and the guys. the guys i met at heritage will remain my friends for the rest of my life. heritage feeds you both spiritually and physically. every morning started with interesting and exciting classes from down to earth relate-able teachers who will discuss any topic you might have. the afternoons are filled with all sorts of fun activities from surfing to golf to wine tasting and everything in between. Even though i was a mentor i still gained immensely from the program and had truly life altering changes for the better. i would definitely recommend this program to anyone. they cater to all people, beginner and expert. thank you so much heritage for changing my life

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every thing they do they are just amazing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have the program more often twice a year just is not enough

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

amazing that i could help other people

March 26, 2012

more

March 26, 2012

Heritage Retreats is a very well-run program that brings together some of the brightest minds in Judaism with some of the most inquisitive students. It's inspiring to have such special Rabbis and staff give their time. I'm glad to have met everybody involved in the program, from all over the world. A great experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

more

March 26, 2012

heritage retreats is an amazing program. i was recruited in my school to go on the trip with these guys. they gave us an experience we will never forget. we got to hear incredibly insightful speeches on topics not usually discussed on a daily basis. they have really smart orators, who are engaging and very approachable so you can hear the speech and see the man in action applying what he teaches. those professionals are around the campus so one can form a lifelong relationship with men much wiser than ourselves. this program is a must for one beginning his search for spirituality. for not only are the speeches so informative but the program is so much fun. getting an education in surfing was exhilarating and professional golf lessons on a gorgeous golf course was awesome. and it doesn't end there, they are constantly making functions throughout the year to keep up the relationships that were formed. it seems as when one program is finished, i get a new email informing me of another! the boys come out of this program spiritually charged and with lives that will never be the same. inspired would be an understatement. i gained immensely as a mentor and would love to be involved with such a program forever. thank you heritage retreats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

more

March 26, 2012

As a young college student I found this program very insightful, very pleasant, and very beneficial with regards to my overall education. The speakers and discussions encompassed much more than learning, but rather more exploration, and the basis for becoming wise, which in my opinion is a strong foundation and a wealth of principles.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

more

March 26, 2012

When I attended Heritage Retreats I was hesitant due to past Jewish experiences. Upon the completion of my retreat I had a completely different perspective. I enjoyed the warmth, intention and lessons afforded to me at Heritage and was grateful for the time spent there. The classes were informative, the teachers interesting and the journey important to my personla growth. I would recommend this path to those who want to embrace their jewish identity, those who want inspiration and self actualization and welcome the amazing environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I had a marvelous experience participating in the Heritage Retreats. It was two weeks of learning and bonding. My connection to Judaism grew and I also saw that the other participants gained tremendous amount as well. In fact, over the years following my experience on Heritage Retreats, I have encountered several other fellow participants. And I was deeply impressed to see how far they have grown as well. It is genuinely inspiring.

This is an organization worth support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

I didn't know what to expect. For weeks, I studied the website. Eventually, I decided to apply and prepared myself to spend one, long week in the wilderness with a group of Jewish women.

It wasn't summer camp and it wasn't school. It was a learning opportunity and a place to reset my
religious biological clock. Each day, we met with a variety of world renown scholars and teachers, and carefully debated and learned about ideas ranging from sacred text to societal norms. As the week continued, I found myself excited for every class and every moment to interact with women from different backgrounds countries and observance levels.

Heritage Retreats surpassed my expectations. Instead of the traditional classroom/school setting, the teachers provided me with the enough tools for me to make my own decisions. In fact, the week was not long as I originally thought, but rather not long enough. Heritage Retreats gave me more than a weeks worth of memories. The other participants and have a special connection, and I value the contributions to my future as a Jewish woman.

Photos

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

Before this trip I was in a bit of an emotional funk. After one week, however, I found my life re-oriented in a far more positive and healthy direction than the one I would have gone down had I missed out. The particpants and instructors were so kind and helpful, and the backdrop so beautiful, that I found it very hard to not take the imparted lessons to heart. I would recommend this potentially life-changing trip to, literally, anyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

After even the third day on this trip I felt my emotional and spiritual states begin to improve noticeably. These changes have stayed with me for weeks since the trip's conclusion and have come to inform my new and improved worldview.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it last longer than a week.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

This program helped me learn more about my religion. Through the classes and activities, I learned ways of incorporating more aspects of Judaism into my life. Also, I learned how to become a better individual through understanding the Torah (holy scrolls). Since this was an all girls' trip, I was able to relate to others and bond with them. I felt like we were able to connect on multiple levels no matter our affiliation within Judaism. It was a wonderful week of developing our inner selves.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

feeling more connected to my religion. I feel that I understand more about my religion and how to integrate more aspects of it into my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything. It was a wonderful week of self reflecting and self developing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Through a rabbi telling me about it.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Encouraging me to learn more about my religion on my own through reading and going to classes taught by rabbis

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers