Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I cannot think of another nonprofit that has more heart and soul than HERA Women's Cancer Foundation. HERA was founded by Sean Patrick in 2002 after she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Sadly, Sean succumbed to her cancer in 2009 but her outstanding spirit and vision live on through the organization.

One of HERA's primary vehicles for involvement and fundraising is the Climb for Life series. Along with being a metaphor for the struggles we all face in life, Sean saw rock climbing as a way to build community and to just give folks a chance break totally free of their daily issues. If you are ever lucky enough to attend one of these events, you'll see a pretty amazing community of survivors and supporters.

On the practical side, this is an organization that returns a full 88% of the funds raised to their programs: funding cutting edge research and community support and awareness. The E.D., Meg Steitz, runs a tight ship and is 100% focused on the mission. Both the board and advisory team are made up of incredibly talented and passionate people. We give a sizable donation to HERA every year and I am 100% confident these funds are used judiciously and in a way that has real world implications for women facing ovarian cancer.

If you have the time, check out the KUED documentary on Sean and HERA. http://www.kued.org/productions/climb-for-life/?area=videos

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I got involved with HERA earlier this year as a public relations advisor and consultant. Coincidentally, my mother was diagnosed with ovarian cancer last fall, so the passion I have for this cause goes well beyond my professional life. From the time I got involved with HERA, I knew that this was an organization that changes lives. HERA helps all women and their families by increasing awareness of the signs and symptoms of ovarian cancer, hopefully encouraging early detection. The organization supports survivors and their families with its inspirational programs and events like Climb4Life and the Ovarian Cancer Summit in Denver. Finally, HERA is working to advance ovarian cancer research through its grants to well-respected medical institutions and professionals around the country. This is an organization that is making an impact on ovarian cancer in both the present and future. The knowledge and resources I've gained throughout my work with HERA have been invaluable and have helped my mother and family in our fight against this horrible disease. I am confident HERA is doing the same for countless other people nationwide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a sponsor of the HERA Climb4Life events it has been a pleasure working with Meg and the HERA Foundation. Every year we can rely on well organized events, friendly faces and a great cause to invest our resources and energy. We look forward to continuing our support for the organization to do our part to raise awareness for women's cancer and bring rock climbing to a new community of like-minded individuals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

dear all, my aunt had breast cancer 4 years ago, after breast amputation she was ok, undergoing her regular examinations, but this year in August she was troubled by backache, and as it appeared she has two hubs on vertebra - one on neck and second to the lower back.. and she needs immediate procedures that cost too expensive in our country, (Tbilisi/ Georgia) otherwise her life is under question mark ... please advise to us some international organization that can financially support her.. please be kind and do not hesitate to answer us.. best regards Teona

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This foundation was formed to increase awareness among women about ovarian cancer and they do it in a way that's connected with the outdoors! What's not to love! I've been a long term supporter/sponsor of HERA Foundation because I believe what they do is going to make a positive impact on the lives of women. Keep up the great work HERA!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

HERA Foundation helped save my life by keeping me aware of the symptoms of ovarian cancer and empowering me to realize that as the owner of my body I know when something is wrong.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with the HERA women's cancer foundation since the first Climb4life (C4L) event, which was around the same time my mother was diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer. The guidance, support and community I found in this organization was phenomenal. HERA's mission is to stop the loss of women's lives from ovarian cancer. They do this by educating the community about the symptoms of ovarian cancer through their events such as C4L and by raising funds to support research and the ovarian cancer community. All who come in contact with HERA via their events are deeply touched by the passion and commitment of the foundation and those involved. HERA is a lean organization that gives back over 85% of it's monies to it' s mission. I have played many roles in this exceptional foundation and am proud and honored to currently be a board member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Great!! Glad they are here! An exceptional organization with great ideas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The HERA Women's Cancer Foundation is an exceptional organization that has served not only the medical community through it's science grants but the support community as well through community grants. The Climb4Life Series as well as the Run Like a Girl series give creative ways for everyone to participate and help end this vicious and and aggressive cancer. During my work on Climb4Life Boston, I heard countless stories of lives ravaged by ovarian cancer. I learned that more than 15,000 women will die of this disease each year. Through activism and activity this organization has been bringing awareness, funding and a commitment to Health Empowerment Research and Awareness. Working with them has changed my life and the lives of so many women who might otherwise not have known the symptoms or had a support system during and after their illness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I discovered the HERA Women's Cancer Foundation a year into my mother's ovarian cancer diagnosis. It was quite obviously the most difficult time of my life. Not a day goes by that I don't miss my strong, beautiful mum. But in the midst of all that darkness, HERA shined a light. The people I have met have changed my life in so many positive and beautiful ways. I have since become a member of the Board and my family and I have raised over $100,000 for the cutting edge research that HERA funds. There are many deserving organizations raising money for hundreds of good causes, but I don't believe there is one that does more to lift the souls and spirits of survivors and their families than HERA does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers