Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

This group asked 8 years ago for help raising money for their Kids Camp. The costs of regular blood factor is quite high, and the families need support. We've been involved since then and help organize a yearly fundraiser in Sonoma. The annual Kids Camp teaches children how to do their own shots, and they get to meet many other kids with this same condition. We are very happy to help in a small way make that Camp happen every year, along with their other support programs, and really enjoy knowing this community of volunteers and donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have volunteered for this foundation for a few years and I love it. The events are organized and fun.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

We are bless to be part of this community. HFNC has been part of are family from the time we where told that my son had Hemophilia. I made contact with them when my son was 8 months, they send me all the info on hemophilia and books that they order for me. I was able to get to meet other Families like ares true a event that they had that was to help us parents be good parents. It was then that i found that I was not by my self and that my son will be a boy even with hemophilia. We have been involve sends that day. We have been at almost all there events. HFNC also gave my boys the opportunity to go to a Summer Camp this year and it was FREE my boys had so much fun they can wait for next year. HFNC has also been there for use in the times of crises they have help us with there Emergency funds. I thank every volunteer and every one that gives to HFNC and makes it possible for family's to get together .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Hemophilia and other bleeding disorders affect people across the socioeconomic spectrum. The financial realities of treating the conditions can lead families into poverty in order to gain access to Medi-Cal. The Hemophilia Foundation of Northern California (HFNC) runs excellent programs and outreach in order to help give its members the tools to advocate for themselves, to care for their condition, to learn about the latest advancements, and to support beneficial legislation. This all takes time, a dedicated board of directors, and a group of willing volunteers. Merlin Wedepohl is the Executive Director of HFNC, and he makes the coordination of all the details seem effortless. His ever-cheerful attitude is contagious and magnetic. People love to volunteer for HFNC because they are able to see real results. One of HFNC's biggest programs is Camp Hemotion, a week-long summer camp for kids with bleeding disorders and their siblings. The campers get to be regular kids, thanks to the help of the camp's ever-vigilant medical staff. Kids get to learn the skills necessary to be independent in their care - including the anxiety-inducing skill of poking oneself with a needle in a vein to infuse the medication multiple times a week. This is all done with patience and caring support, and the campers have memories and skills that will empower them for a lifetime. The Hemophilia Foundation of Northern California is truly a GREAT Nonprofit! Andy Blackledge

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

My family and I feel so blessed to be part of the HFNC community. Our first experience with the organization was 5 years ago at Family Camp and we found the people to be so welcoming and supportive. They always remember our names and circumstances and reach out to us throughout the year to let us know about upcoming programs and offer their support. Our daughter had a fabulous experience at kids' camp last summer and now gives herself her own medicine. This is so important for her maturity and independence and she wouldn't have been able to learn it without the HFNC's dedication and commitment to making kids' camp available to all kids with bleeding disorders and their siblings every year. We are so grateful and consider HFNC to be a top nonprofit!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

I have just begun my involvement in this organization, and can say it is so refreshing to work with such warm and caring people. I have tried to get involved in other organizations before, but this one is by far the friendliest I have ever been around. It makes me want to give back all that much more, and give me so much hope that my time will make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I have worked with the Hemophilia Foundation of Northern California (HFNC) since 1977, when I was just beginning my career as a hemophilia doctor and wanted to start a summer camp for children with hemophilia and other bleeding disorders. HFNC agreed to do the fundraising for the camp, which is now in its 35th year. In order to ensure funding for camp, each year HFNC organizes and holds several fundraisers, including a Crab Feed, Wine Taste, Golf Tournament, and Hemophilia Walk. HFNC also does all the administrative work for the camp, including sending out and receiving applications for campers and counselors, hiring the buses, providing insurance coverage etc. HFNC now also fund raises for and runs a Family Camp each year.The volunteers in this organization are an enthusiastic, high-energy group that are committed to ensuring the continuance of Summer Camp and Family Camp. This organization is the backbone of our camping program, and we could not hold these camps without their efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

They are a god send for families like mine! My son was diagnosed with a blood disorder at age two. No one in our family had ever had any experience with anything remotely close to this. I was terrified and had no idea how to proceed with everyday life but, after speaking with HFNC and attending some of their group activities, I became more at ease. They were there for any questions or concerns I had (no matter how silly!) and after five years, we are just a normal active family, with a few quirks thrown in!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I began my volunteership with HFNC about 10 years ago. It was a pretty" closed" community but once they realized I was there to help out, I was embraced to the point of it being like an indian bear hug. I have done funding program site set-ups, providing transportation for materials and people, security at camp locations, camp counselor at family and summer camps, video productions of events, staff support for the annual coastal bike ride from S.F. to San Diego, supporting and playing in the annual golf tournament, and raising donations of wines for the annual wine tasting at Sonoma Golf Club. Never been paid (in money that is) but have received " millions" in personal good feelings in my heart knowing that it actually helps someone. I think that makes me a pretty wealthy man!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

One of the best non profits - they host the best camps for children with bleeding disorders

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers