Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 12, 2012

more

March 12, 2012

I appreciate the thank you letter from Father and I think everyone does a very ggod job, Thank you all for doing what you do and God Bless You.Carol

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2012

My husband and I have been sponsoring a child for about three and a half years now through Help the Helpless. This organization is extremely efficient with funds received, and certainly does care for the children they sponsor, and even those they are waiting to sponsor.
We did not
know what to expect when we sponsored our child, but all we wanted was to help a child in need through a trust worthy organization, and we did not have much money.
When we began our sponsorship, we were delighted to see a picture of the dear child we were to help. She was not smiling. Since we have been sponsoring her we have received a video taken by a sponsor who was actually at St. Mary’s School and took video footage of the children. Almost every child was smiling!
Help the Helpless is a great way to help a child in need! The cost is $15 to help a child who has a handicap and $10 to help a child who does not have this extra special need.
We could send a check monthly, or have an automatic withdrawal taken out monthly. Fr. Antony said himself that he personally handles extra funds for the child, and speaks with them personally.
It was one of the best blessings of our lives, and I’m guessing that our dear child’s life is also improved!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

I have worked as a volunteer with Help the Helpless for ten years and treasure the chance to serve those who are considered the least, in the eyes of the world, and the greatest, in the eyes of God, an immense blessing. I work with a small group of people who make much greater sacrifices in time and effort than I, but have the same dedication to funding the work of St. Mary's School for special needs children and orphans. I think I can speak for all of us when I say that we are all motivated by the same words of our Lord....."whatsoever you do unto these, the least of mine, you do unto me".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

more

March 8, 2012

I'll start again because I hit the "enter" button and my review disappeared. I have been a monthly donor for several years with Help the Helpless and I'm thoroughly satisfied and amazed at the significant progress this group of staff, voluneers and children have achieved. I learned of this organization through a trusted television program. I made contact and received a valuable packet of information. The packet included a map of the specific geographic area where this needs exists, a brief history about the local peoples (their way of life, government, religious and cultural beliefs). I learned how great the need is for help with the deaf/mute, with loss the loss of limbs (legs/arms), food, shelter and educational training. For the most part these children are mentally sound but grossly lack advocates with their government and the poverty prevents assistance. The founding Father Anthony and his staff and volunteers have established a truly wonderful vibrant, living and growing community. Children are receiving education with meaningful skills. Many are becoming teachers fully certified by the Indian government and graduates are sort after. These young adults are receiving salaries to lift themselves and their families out of poverty. Others are being taught employable skills based on their highest abilities. Finally, I receive udates from the field with written notes from the sponsored child. This organization is top of the line. The mission and its execution are beyond reproach. Bless Father Anthony, his successors, staff, volunteers, children and donors. THANK YOU for giving me this opportunity to share my experience and beilief in this outstanding group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

I have sponsored a child through Help the Helpless. They have excellent schools and homes for those living in poverty who are also handicapped. Just a few dollars goes a long way with this charity. I would highly recommend Help the Helpless as a very good way to help the poor in India.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012

I researched this organization and there is very little overhead so almost all the donations go to help the kids in India. There is such a great need so this is the least that I can do. I am making monthly donations and receive feedback from Help the Helpless and one specific child so I know that my money is being well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012

This charity is small and primarily staffed by volunteers, hence the lack of "transparency" that has dropped it's rating over the years. It's an orphanage/school run by the catholic church in rural India, and they take in many children and give them a good education and health support. They also have a good program in place to help disabled (including quite a few deaf) children, and work to get them able to communicate (for the deaf kids) and get them a marketable skill so that they can get jobs. No religious schooling is preached/allowed in India, if that's a concern of yours. All in all I'm very impressed with this organization and it's accomplishments towards helping the helpless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2011

I have donated to this organization for years and am in touch with the founder Father Anthony. I have not been able so find out much information about how the money is handled but know they do good work and I have adopted 3 foster children through the years through this organization. In general education is what they do. I do not know what medical care or assistance or dental care, etc these impoverished children receive. I also have been told that boys receive preferential treatment. I do not know this and wish more knowledgeable people who have visited India and this school would jump in and review it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers