Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

The people at HELP humane society are so friendly and warm. I love feeling welcomed instead of like a burden like i have in other shelters. All of the animals seem at home and well cared for which is the most important thing.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

It is hard to know where to start with my review of HELP Humane; I have had many different roles! : -)
I first heard of HELP at a Feral Friends meeting in Kansas City; this meeting was focused on Trap/Neuter/Return, an issue I had quite recently studied and embraced. (I am still very active
in TNR.)

I subsequently visited HELP to participate in a TNR project and fell in love with all the HELP cats. This led to a weekly volunteer night of scoop/water/feed, which made me even more familiar with the cats, to the point where I was convinced I had my own "fan club" in a particular room (nope; they loved everyone, which was even more awesome.) When the Shelter Buddy program started, I joined, and I also contributed to various HELP causes as I could (there were quite a few of these over the years; I would have to check my tax receipts; remember, everyone, that donations to HELP are tax deductible!)

One thing I would like for people to keep in mind--there are many wonderful reviews of HELP's treatment of their animals, with lots of references to how happy and safe the animals are. Well, it's true, they are! But please, everyone, keep in mind that if you adopt from HELP, you are still saving a life--any animal you adopt from HELP gives HELP a chance to save an animal who is not yet safe! HELP rescues animals who are in need, so if you adopt from HELP, you save a life, because you have now given a spot to another needy furbaby!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 27, 2011

I have had many occasions to visit HELP in the last few years, 2 of my adopted fur children have ciome from there as well. The shelter is exceedingly clean, friendly, and inviting. I would encourage... more

September 24, 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of HELP Humane, I have never seen the love, compassion and caring that these animals are given in a shelter elsewhere. No matter how poor a condition or health issues,
this organization is willing and does go all out to provide the care that each case requires. I
first became aware of HELP Humane several years ago after a traumatic loss of several pets due to a total loss house fire and have watched it grow from fosters in peoples homes to the homey atmosphere it has today. I have adopted several animals from HELP , volunteered for some time, and fostered numerous cats and dogs as well. It is a truly NO-Kill shelter and survives solely on donations and the support and dedication of volunteers. It is truly worth you time to make a visit.
August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have had many occasions to visit HELP in the last few years, 2 of my adopted fur children have ciome from there as well. The shelter is exceedingly clean, friendly, and inviting. I would encourage anyone who can open their heart and home to a cat or dog to please go there. I know there will be one who you cannot walk out without!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

One of my cats was rescued as abused by HELP. He is the most loving, sweetest and social cat I have ever had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If they had room to expand that would only be to everyone's benefit, the animals and the prospective adopters.

August 26, 2011

more

August 26, 2011

As a dog owner and someone who grew up in a home where dogs were treated like human beings, my passion for animals being cared for and treated humanely is a priority.
The Humane Society of Greater KC has been a great resource to have. While I personally haven't had dealings, I know others who
have & they've spoken highly of them.
Without a great organization like this, a lot of animals would not receive the care that they deserve.
Keep up the good work that you do for our metro area Humane Society!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally experienced results from this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to make that I'm aware of.

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

A few months ago, one of my children was diagnosed with severe dog allergies. His rashes were so bad they were open and bleeding. He was constantly having respiratory infections. When we found out it was the dog, we had to act quickly.

We loved our dog very much. He was a poodle mix. We
rescued him from the pound 2 1/2 years earlier, when he was just a pup. He was family. There was no way I would take him back to the pound, and I couldn't find any family to take him.

HELP Humane was the only shelter I contacted that was willing to take him in. I was very upset when I was driving him to the shelter, but after I met the staff and saw the facility I felt such relief.

My dog loved cats, and there were cats greeting him at the door. He was so happy. I was also so thrilled that he was not going to be caged all day. The staff was so kind and understanding of my pain in losing him. They really helped me get through that horrible day with their kindness and assurance that he would be well cared for.

I tried to follow my precious pup on Facebook and saw that they found him a nice home within just a couple of weeks.

Thanks so much HELP Humane.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

(see review for personal experience)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see them get an even larger facility. Their free-range environment is awesome.

August 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As an animal lover and someone who gets really sad seing animals in kennels/cages, I have always found myself unable to go to local shelters and unable to volunteer. I didn't like not being able to reach in and pet them, I was sad that they had such a confined space to live. One day I found HELP Humane Society through Facebook. I followed their story for several months. Then came across post that they were having a kitten shower/open house. Very skeptical to go, I wanted to help the animals. I came with donation of food, toys and litter, and braced myself to enter the shelter. I was so happy once inside. I saw lots of cats, roaming freely. Lots of hammocks for them to nap on, lots of beds, lots of toys, lots of scratch pads, lots of chairs and sofas, lots of food, lots of litter boxes, and lots of volunteers. I had an instant smile. I went from room to room finding most of the cats are roaming free in their room, no cat fights, just cats......happy to have food, water, shelter and love. I grabbed a kitten, sat in a chair and spent an hour loving him. It enlightened me on what a shelter CAN be.
So, after that I became a Shelter Buddy, giving $10 a month. I wanted to help make sure they remain open. One day they asked for help with an adoption event. Once again, I wanted to help so I volunteered. It was such an enlightening experience. The volunteers really love the animals and are so proud to be a free roaming no kill shelter. They take on cases that other shelters won't touch. They have cats with FeLV, FIV, cats that are blind, cats that require daily medication. They truly believe in the no kill theory and they will make sure all animals get the medical help they need. I'm thankful to have found such a wonderful shelter, but so worried they might have to close their doors, leaving hundreds of animals homeless. We need to all fight to save this special home to these special animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've volunteered once, and I'm a shelter buddy. I plan on visiting the shelter as much as I doing what I can as a volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do whatever I could to ensure HELP Humane doesn't have to close their doors. They are truly amazing and it would be tragic if they close.

October 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 25, 2011

This is a shelter like no other I've ever seen. Almost 2 years ago, we decided it was time to add another dog to our family. I don't believe in buying from breeders or pet shops, so I knew a shelte... more

October 19, 2012

I am so proud to be a part of this shelter! HELP takes on some very hard luck cases and turns their precious lives around. They have recently been able to purchase their own facility and reduced rent expanse so they can spend even more of their budget to care for the animals. This means more animals can be saved and live a comfortable life while waiting for their forever families to find them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

This is a shelter like no other I've ever seen. Almost 2 years ago, we decided it was time to add another dog to our family. I don't believe in buying from breeders or pet shops, so I knew a shelter animal was what we needed. I was so scared to go though - I'd seen pictures of traditional shelters and was afraid I'd want to bring all the animals home with me.
We found Sammie on Petfinder and went to meet him. HELP was nothing like I expected from a shelter! I was greeted at the door by friendly kitties before a person had a chance to say "hello". The place was not lined with cages of scared animals, the animals were walking around interacting with each other & people who came in. They were all so happy & cared for, it was really a nice surprise. I met Sammie, filled out an application, then brought my family to meet him. After we were approved to adopt, we brought our other dog to meet him and the people there had no problem with that. They didn't just want to send him out to a home, they wanted to make sure we were all a match. Sammie did come home with us and is a wonderful addition to our family.
Because I was so impressed with the whole experience, I now tell everyone looking for a pet that they need to go there and check it out. I cannot volunteer on a regular basis, but am a Shelter Buddy ($10 per month to help with animal care!) and donate time & goods whenever I can.
HELP is a unique kind of shelter that I wish all others could be like. They don't have a big budget but do a lot of good with every penny that they get.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting a new four legged family member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a huge budget so they can save more animals.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers