Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of HELP Humane around 2008 and adopted our cat there shortly after. I never really looked forward to going to animal shelters and had actually only ever adopted one pet at a shelter before. My memories of that place are good people, good animals but sad environment, no hope other than an occasional animal getting lucky and making it out. The animals at HELP are happy, well cared for and actually loved as individuals by the staff and the volunteers. I am happy being there, it is a place of hope, a place where good is being done and where you can join in with others and achieve something you wouldn't be able to on your own. A place to talk with other people who share my interests. I should pay them to let me work there, it provides so much stress relief for me. If every animal shelter could be like HELP Humane.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I experience a lot of satisfaction and stress relief from any and all interactions with this positive, wonderful facility. I also have adopted two cats from HELP Humane, I am so thankful they were there to rescue my two girls so they could lead happy lives with us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to the organization. I would like to see more people give a modest amount of money each month to create an dependable income that the organization could rely on allowing them to rescue more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned a lot from these folks who have been at the business of improving the lot of companion animals for so long. It's not as easy as it looks, there are no easy answers. Yes, new friends are great too

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

on a scale of 1-10 a 10

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have known this organization for several years now. I have adopted from them, fostered for them, and had their help in spaying/neutering a feral feline mother and her kittens in my neighborhood. I am happy to say that they are a shelter who truly do care for the animals in their care. They take in animals no other shelter would and give them a chance to find a home or care for them and give them veterinary care for life. What a blessing they have been to our furry friends!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own adopted pets, fostering pets, spaying/neutering feral cats in my neighborhood, and I work at an animal clinic they bring their animals to. They care for them no matter what the cost when other shelters just euthanize.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build a larger building so they could have more room for more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Better space and play area for the dogs.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

All animals can live a happy life even if they have an illness that requires continual veterinary care. They deserve a chance to find someone willing to give them a home.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me feel good and useful to help animals in need.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In 2003 I moved to an apartment complex that had a small feral cat colony that was rapidly increasing. A neighbor and I worked to trap, vet for spay/neuter/vaccinations, and release the cats back. In 2004, one of our girls got sick and I needed advice. I called and e-mailed multiple shelters and the only response I received was from HELP Humane. It did not matter that the cat was feral, and it did not matter they didn't know me, they answered all my questions, gave me ideas I had not thought about and knowledge I did not have before. I didn't know I was doing TNR, had never heard of that, but they explained to me why it works and why it is an integral part of any no-kill initiative by stopping birth of more homeless pets. HELP had been involved in TNR for many years at that time and still is.

I attended my first volunteer meeting in 2004. Since that time I have done whatever I can including trapping, transporting to clinics, foster home, shelter for ferals, volunteering at events. I have adopted and I am a proud Shelter Buddy.

HELP Humane is what other shelters should strive to be. Come visit and be amazed how the volunteers know all the cats by name on sight, no matter how much one may look like another, and can tell you their history, where they came from, how they have blossomed since arriving at HELP. At HELP all life is precious. There are no expiration dates.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

TNR in particular having trapped 100+ cats for spay/neuter and seen multiple colonies become healthy and stable with no new kittens born. I've trapped kittens and fostered them until old enough to go to the shelter where they have gone on to find loving homes. I've seen HELP bring in some very sick animals who a few months later are healthy, happy, and ready to find a loving home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the organization but wish I could give them the guaranteed funding needed and a much larger space so more dogs could be taken care of under HELP's unique, free-roaming, no-kill mission of shelter.

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When my mom and I had a house fire in 2009, one of the first people at our house to help with our cats was a volunteer with HELP. This volunteer, our very, and the director of HELP worked hands on with us and with another rescue group and with emergency responders to ensure that all cats were accounted for and received the care needed. From basic head rubs and reassurance to carrying around one that has special needs (obsessive compulsive disorder), each volunteer from HELP made a tremendous impact that day! HELP continues to impact the community on a day to day basis in everything they do! A better shelter could not exist! I am proud to call myself a volunteer at HELP Humane Society.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteer on and off before 2009. House fire in 2009. Active volunteer again, just not at actual shelter as I am allergic to cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Unknown. Hard to run a large group/shelter like this as it appears to be well run.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

New friends with similar interests

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

One hot July day I was at the kitchen window and say a momma cat and three babies. I could hardly believe my eyes so I went down the stairs to the patio door and sure enough there was a cat and three kittens. I filled a bowl with water to take to them but of course they ran away. I left the water and just watched from the basement door. It didn’t take momma long to crawl under the fence to get a drink and then she brought the babies so they could get a drink too. That was the beginning of my feral colony that still eats from my back yard. Of course I couldn’t get anywhere near momma or her babies so before too many months I had more babies and then even more babies followed that. I talked to anyone and everyone about all these babies but no one had any ideas as to how to stop the process until I was told to try HELP Humane. I talked to several other people that were familiar with the TNR program and then one day the director of HELP Humane called me and explained that I could trap these cats and take them to vets and have them spayed and or neutered. I had no idea that there was such a thing. So one lady came to my house and brought a few traps and gave me a crash course on how to set the traps and then in a few days another lady came to help me and we trapped nine cats all in the same day and within about a month to six weeks all my feral cats had been spayed and/or neutered. There were twenty cats in all that were eating from my back yard. Not all of them were babies from the original momma but some of her babies had babies of their own before I finally got the cycle stopped.

I now volunteer at the shelter where I now have adopted three cats that HELP Humane rescued. Now I foster baby kittens until they are old enough to live at the shelter and be adopted to their forever home.


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with them to trap, neuter, and return ferals. Being a foster parent for kittens and volunteering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to enlarge the dog area, we need more space for the dogs.

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Help of Raymore is the best little animal shelter in the midwest! It's often difficult to walk into some 'shelters' without feeling extreme sadness, but not so at Help. This is such a happy place to visit with a home like feel and free roaming kitties. Staff and volunteers alike are dedicated caregivers, providing excellent physical and emotional care. Help believes that all animals deserve a second chance for a quality life regardless of circumstances or disabilities. My calico cat Clarabelle wouldn't be alive today if not for the assistance of Help's open heart and open arms. Clarabelle was found on a city street paralyzed in the back end. She was taken to a local pound and was literally an hour away from being destroyed when a rescue angel spotted her and shared her story within our community. The good folks at Help immediately stepped up with sponsorship for this sweet little cat who had suffered an unknown trauma. Being a volunteer foster mom for Help (and a rehab nurse for people) I accepted Clarabelle into my home. She had no fractures and no other injuries or illnesses but her prognosis was uncertain. Over the course of two months I was blessed with the opportunity to watch over Clarabelle as her body healed and her spirits lifted. Today she walks and climbs and jumps, she plays and she loves. She's also found her forever home right here with me! Without the support of Help, Clarabelle would never have found her second chance. This lovely calico cat and I have together signed up as Shelters Buddies for Help, offering our monthly charitable donation as a sign of our ongoing faith and appreciation for all that they do for the homeless animals who need second chances.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Help's innovative approach as a no-kill animal care facility is obvious the moment you walk throught their door. The physical environment itself is entirely a cat's paradise and each cat receives individualized care and attention. The animals are the priority, clearly evidenced by the health and spirit of these shelter cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help could certainly use a larger, modernized facility, if only so they could save many more homeless animals. Being a small charitable organization they operate on a very tight budget and funding is always an issue. The majority of their dollars goes directly to the animals in their care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met so many kind and interesting people through my volunteer experiences with Help. I enjoy being part of this network of like-minded souls striving to better the lives of homeless animals.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Being a foster mom for cats has been a most rewarding experience for me. Watching a weak or injured cat return to health and vigor, helping a homeless mama cat raise her babies, and even loving the frail elderly in the final days - all are jewels in my memories!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about HELP from a dear friend who is a foster mom for HELP's kittens. We would stop in occasionally just to visit with the animals. But one day, about a year after losing our sweet Jack Russell, our visit turned into an adoption when we found an adorable Norwich terrier named Zorro. That was almost 3 years ago and since then we've also added Fiona, a 3-legged Min-Pin, and Aspen a big gray/white cat to our family. Our entire family now volunteers in some form and don't know what we'd do without HELP Humane. The people are wonderful, giving their time to rescue animals that otherwise would have NO hope. If they aren't there to rescue these precious babies, then who will???

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering and adopting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Save it so they could keep the doors open and continue the great work they do!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Need more volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has had a huge effect on me. Learned lots of new things and met a lot of great people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Happy and wishing I could do more.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I was involved with other pet rescues and shelters in the past, and when I moved to Lawrence, KS, from Florida, I started looking around to decide where to volunteer to help homeless pets. Even though HELP Humane is an hour away and there are rescues that are closer to my home, I drive there to volunteer every week because it is truly special and different.

HELP Humane is a true no-kill shelter that takes in many special needs cats that would have been put down at Kansas City shelters and not rescued by other groups. I watched them take in cats with various ailments like hyperthyroidism (like Macy), heart murmurs (Oliver), kidney failure (Jasmine), FIV (Twister and others), eye disease (Desiree), and others. Desiree, for example, came in with painful untreated eye disease that required surgical removal of her eyes. She was rescued by HELP even though her ailment looked terrible at first and she tested FIV-positive. Desiree got her surgery and good care throughout her recovery. She is now a happy, bold cat that fearlessly roams the main room at HELP Humane and licks my face when I greet her. This type of story is not uncommon at HELP Humane neither, and many such pets thus had a chance at a happy life and adoption thanks to HELP Humane!

Every pet at HELP Humane gets so much love and attention from a crew of volunteers and staff that absolutely care for each animal that comes in. The pets are kept in good health in a mostly cage-free environment until they get adopted, even if it takes years. They are happy and well-socialized. They are also matched appropriately to adoptive families because the staff and volunteers know each one so well.

I love that HELP Humane is also very active in getting the word out about their pets that are up for adoption. They take on off-site adoption events with other groups and they update a blog and a Facebook profile with updates on certain pets and fundraisers. They are doing everything right to get these pets into permanent, loving homes! They also have foster homes, hospice foster homes, adoptable cat housing at Petsmart, and a feline leukemia cottage so that they can help as many pets as possible. I cannot praise HELP Humane enough for their efforts to help homeless pets. The one thing they really need though is more Shelter Buddies to sign up to donate $10/month at www.shelterbuddies.org so that they can keep doing this great work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing pets that came in really bad shape receive care and get better, seeing adoptions happening even for special needs pets, and networking with amazing fellow volunteers that are doing all they can to keep HELP Humane open.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find them more steady sources of donations, like more Shelter Buddies, and more cleaning volunteers. But I know that we are all trying to get the word out and enlist them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers