Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

HELP is truly an amazing no-kill shelter run by the most hardworking, loving and dedicated people I have ever met. I foster kittens for them when they are too young/sick to safely be in a shelter environment and it has been a wonderful experience. There is nothing better than hearing the news that one of 'our' foster kittens has been adopted into their furever home and knowing that without HELP this probably wouldn't have been possible. HELP does amazing work in our community with their TNR program to help reduce the feral cat population, but sadly, I bet most of the local residents don't even know. They are unsung heroes who genuinely care about each and every animal they take in and have created the most wonderful free-roaming shelter. I used to dread the idea of going into an animal shelter because I knew it would break my heart, but HELP is truly a wonderfully happy & peaceful place to visit after a long stressful day and just hang out with the cats for a while.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I first went to HELP to donate items from my cat when she passed away in 2009. I could not believe the number of cats free roaming and playing with each other. I was also free to roam and look around. I could not believe every corner I turned was another room full of cats. What surprised me the most was the number of special needs cats that they had that would be well cared for and loved for the rest of their lives. This is truely a NO-kill shelter that wants nothing more then to show the animals that have already been thrown away by someone that they are special and they have nothing to fear or worry about any longer.
I love my volunteer time with all the animals at HELP and hope I help bring a little peace and joy to their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I first came to Help Humane as a visitor and was so impressed that I an now volunteering there. The care given to animals is as near like a home as possible. They are a "no kill" shelter and give their animals the dignaty they deserve until they are adopted by a good family or pass. I have become attached to the animals and the wonderful staff and volunteers. I would suggest that anyone who can donate their time and money to this great place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I have been a volunteer with HELP Humane for 3 years. HELP is a free roaming absolutely no kill shelter located in Belton Mo. This shelter takes animals that are hardship cases, such as FIV+ cats, F... more

April 5, 2013

So many people say they could not volunteer at or even visit an animal shelter because it is so depressing. They have not visited HELP Humane in Belton Missouri. There is nothing depressing about our shelter. We do have some cats in cages, but these are either new kitties, or kitties that must be confined due to medical or behavior issues. We have some sad cases, but whatever chance they have for a life as normal as possible, they are given that chance at HELP including medical care. The employeees and volunteers love the animals here like they are our own. We are happy when one of our babies gets adopted, but sad at the same time because we miss them so. HELP is a strictly no kill shelter and operates solely on donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with HELP Humane for 3 years. HELP is a free roaming absolutely no kill shelter located in Belton Mo. This shelter takes animals that are hardship cases, such as FIV+ cats, FELV cats, any medical issue, no matter the severity. They receive medical care, and more importantly, the love and care of the staff and volunteers. Many get better, many don't, but we make sure that their time is quality time. The goal of the shelter is to find quality homes for these precious kitties and dogs. If they are not adopted, they will always have a home in the shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 25, 2011

This is a shelter like no other I've ever seen. Almost 2 years ago, we decided it was time to add another dog to our family. I don't believe in buying from breeders or pet shops, so I knew a shelte... more

October 19, 2012

I am so proud to be a part of this shelter! HELP takes on some very hard luck cases and turns their precious lives around. They have recently been able to purchase their own facility and reduced rent expanse so they can spend even more of their budget to care for the animals. This means more animals can be saved and live a comfortable life while waiting for their forever families to find them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

This is a shelter like no other I've ever seen. Almost 2 years ago, we decided it was time to add another dog to our family. I don't believe in buying from breeders or pet shops, so I knew a shelter animal was what we needed. I was so scared to go though - I'd seen pictures of traditional shelters and was afraid I'd want to bring all the animals home with me.
We found Sammie on Petfinder and went to meet him. HELP was nothing like I expected from a shelter! I was greeted at the door by friendly kitties before a person had a chance to say "hello". The place was not lined with cages of scared animals, the animals were walking around interacting with each other & people who came in. They were all so happy & cared for, it was really a nice surprise. I met Sammie, filled out an application, then brought my family to meet him. After we were approved to adopt, we brought our other dog to meet him and the people there had no problem with that. They didn't just want to send him out to a home, they wanted to make sure we were all a match. Sammie did come home with us and is a wonderful addition to our family.
Because I was so impressed with the whole experience, I now tell everyone looking for a pet that they need to go there and check it out. I cannot volunteer on a regular basis, but am a Shelter Buddy ($10 per month to help with animal care!) and donate time & goods whenever I can.
HELP is a unique kind of shelter that I wish all others could be like. They don't have a big budget but do a lot of good with every penny that they get.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting a new four legged family member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a huge budget so they can save more animals.

August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of HELP Humane around 2008 and adopted our cat there shortly after. I never really looked forward to going to animal shelters and had actually only ever adopted one pet at a shelter before. My memories of that place are good people, good animals but sad environment, no hope other than an occasional animal getting lucky and making it out. The animals at HELP are happy, well cared for and actually loved as individuals by the staff and the volunteers. I am happy being there, it is a place of hope, a place where good is being done and where you can join in with others and achieve something you wouldn't be able to on your own. A place to talk with other people who share my interests. I should pay them to let me work there, it provides so much stress relief for me. If every animal shelter could be like HELP Humane.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I experience a lot of satisfaction and stress relief from any and all interactions with this positive, wonderful facility. I also have adopted two cats from HELP Humane, I am so thankful they were there to rescue my two girls so they could lead happy lives with us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to the organization. I would like to see more people give a modest amount of money each month to create an dependable income that the organization could rely on allowing them to rescue more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned a lot from these folks who have been at the business of improving the lot of companion animals for so long. It's not as easy as it looks, there are no easy answers. Yes, new friends are great too

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

on a scale of 1-10 a 10

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have known this organization for several years now. I have adopted from them, fostered for them, and had their help in spaying/neutering a feral feline mother and her kittens in my neighborhood. I am happy to say that they are a shelter who truly do care for the animals in their care. They take in animals no other shelter would and give them a chance to find a home or care for them and give them veterinary care for life. What a blessing they have been to our furry friends!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own adopted pets, fostering pets, spaying/neutering feral cats in my neighborhood, and I work at an animal clinic they bring their animals to. They care for them no matter what the cost when other shelters just euthanize.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build a larger building so they could have more room for more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Better space and play area for the dogs.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

All animals can live a happy life even if they have an illness that requires continual veterinary care. They deserve a chance to find someone willing to give them a home.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me feel good and useful to help animals in need.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In 2003 I moved to an apartment complex that had a small feral cat colony that was rapidly increasing. A neighbor and I worked to trap, vet for spay/neuter/vaccinations, and release the cats back. In 2004, one of our girls got sick and I needed advice. I called and e-mailed multiple shelters and the only response I received was from HELP Humane. It did not matter that the cat was feral, and it did not matter they didn't know me, they answered all my questions, gave me ideas I had not thought about and knowledge I did not have before. I didn't know I was doing TNR, had never heard of that, but they explained to me why it works and why it is an integral part of any no-kill initiative by stopping birth of more homeless pets. HELP had been involved in TNR for many years at that time and still is.

I attended my first volunteer meeting in 2004. Since that time I have done whatever I can including trapping, transporting to clinics, foster home, shelter for ferals, volunteering at events. I have adopted and I am a proud Shelter Buddy.

HELP Humane is what other shelters should strive to be. Come visit and be amazed how the volunteers know all the cats by name on sight, no matter how much one may look like another, and can tell you their history, where they came from, how they have blossomed since arriving at HELP. At HELP all life is precious. There are no expiration dates.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

TNR in particular having trapped 100+ cats for spay/neuter and seen multiple colonies become healthy and stable with no new kittens born. I've trapped kittens and fostered them until old enough to go to the shelter where they have gone on to find loving homes. I've seen HELP bring in some very sick animals who a few months later are healthy, happy, and ready to find a loving home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the organization but wish I could give them the guaranteed funding needed and a much larger space so more dogs could be taken care of under HELP's unique, free-roaming, no-kill mission of shelter.

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When my mom and I had a house fire in 2009, one of the first people at our house to help with our cats was a volunteer with HELP. This volunteer, our very, and the director of HELP worked hands on with us and with another rescue group and with emergency responders to ensure that all cats were accounted for and received the care needed. From basic head rubs and reassurance to carrying around one that has special needs (obsessive compulsive disorder), each volunteer from HELP made a tremendous impact that day! HELP continues to impact the community on a day to day basis in everything they do! A better shelter could not exist! I am proud to call myself a volunteer at HELP Humane Society.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteer on and off before 2009. House fire in 2009. Active volunteer again, just not at actual shelter as I am allergic to cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Unknown. Hard to run a large group/shelter like this as it appears to be well run.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

New friends with similar interests

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

One hot July day I was at the kitchen window and say a momma cat and three babies. I could hardly believe my eyes so I went down the stairs to the patio door and sure enough there was a cat and three kittens. I filled a bowl with water to take to them but of course they ran away. I left the water and just watched from the basement door. It didn’t take momma long to crawl under the fence to get a drink and then she brought the babies so they could get a drink too. That was the beginning of my feral colony that still eats from my back yard. Of course I couldn’t get anywhere near momma or her babies so before too many months I had more babies and then even more babies followed that. I talked to anyone and everyone about all these babies but no one had any ideas as to how to stop the process until I was told to try HELP Humane. I talked to several other people that were familiar with the TNR program and then one day the director of HELP Humane called me and explained that I could trap these cats and take them to vets and have them spayed and or neutered. I had no idea that there was such a thing. So one lady came to my house and brought a few traps and gave me a crash course on how to set the traps and then in a few days another lady came to help me and we trapped nine cats all in the same day and within about a month to six weeks all my feral cats had been spayed and/or neutered. There were twenty cats in all that were eating from my back yard. Not all of them were babies from the original momma but some of her babies had babies of their own before I finally got the cycle stopped.

I now volunteer at the shelter where I now have adopted three cats that HELP Humane rescued. Now I foster baby kittens until they are old enough to live at the shelter and be adopted to their forever home.


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with them to trap, neuter, and return ferals. Being a foster parent for kittens and volunteering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to enlarge the dog area, we need more space for the dogs.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers