Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

I used to have two perfect cats. The first cat I got when I was in 2nd grade, and the 2nd cat when I was in 5th grade. They grew up with me, and remained the loves of my life all through my teen years and half way into my twenties. When they passed on, each at their own time, I was devastated, and I couldn't imagine ever having another cat again. I couldn't replace my little girls. Life continued, I fell in love, moved to Kansas, got married, and as time continued to pass I started wishing we had a little four legged friend around our home to keep us on our toes, but I just wasn't sure. I figured I'd look, just in case I find a cat that stands out from the others, a cat that I just had to have. I couldn't handle visiting a typical shelter with rows and rows of caged homeless pets that looked so unhappy. Seeing all those sad animals stuck in cages with no homes would break my heart too much. While looking on Petfinder for a possible contender to add some cuteness to our home, I came upon some cats from Help Humane Society, so I checked out their website and learned that they were not the typical animal shelter. The animals roam free, and all of the volunteers work around the clock to play and spend lots of time with them, making this shelter a very fun and happy place for the animals. Visitors are allowed to roam around the shelter and spend as much time there as they like, and multiple visits to insure the right pet for them is considered is encouraged. During my first visit to the shelter I was not only greeted by two very nice ladies who could tell you anything you wanted to know about each animal in their care, but I was also greeted by a couple of their very friendly and outgoing feline tenants. I liked that I was able to spend as much time as I needed on my own looking around the shelter, and I met some very friendly tenants who were very content there, making my decision not to take them home with me feel less terrible. I decided a second visit would be best, and it was during my second visit that my new family member caught my eye. The ladies of the shelter told me what they could about this particular cat, and still not wanting to rush into any decision I decided to sleep on it and make a third visit later. By the third visit I decided I couldn't stand to let this cat go to someone else. My three visits to this very happy place is the reason I now have the most sweetest little cat who never fails to surprise me with how smart she is. The Help Humane Society took her in when she was a stray kitten, and made sure she was healthy, well taken care of and safe until someone came along and fell in love with her. I am so grateful for a shelter like Help Humane where the animals are loved like family, and not treated like stray animals. It is a very happy and friendly place to find your next family member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a bigger shelter so they can help more animals. Help Humane doesn't just provide shelter for unwanted and stray animals, they provide a temporary loving home for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

When i discovered Help of Raymore I found them online. I went in to visit a particular cat Angelo. His picture caught my eye and i just had to meet him. When we walked in the door we were greeted by two very friendly and patient women who told me all about him and his history. I was able to view the whole cat section of the HELP home and i just loved all the kitties. Their were old, young, friendly and not so friendly cats but most of all i loved the set up of the different rooms we could walk through and look at all the cats just hanging out. They seemed well cared for. Angelo was a timid boy and one of the women helped me get him into the carrier and even clipped his claws for me prior to us leaving. A great, friendly staff! They really do care about their pets! As angelo and i were leaving one of the ladies he was close to was close to tears! The compassion these people have is amazing! I feel so blessed to have found Angelo he is the best cat i have ever owned. He is cuddly, personable and playful. My advice? Go adopt a cat today! They change your life! I wouldn't have changed a thing about my adoption experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish (as a college student) i had more to give to this organization. They helped me find my best furry friend!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

We had lost our two cats within a year of each other, one lived to be very old but the other was younger and we were not expecting that to happen. We waited a couple of years and then we decided we had to have another one, actually our kids begged us to get another one. It was time to go to the dreaded shelters. I love shelters for the thought that they help animals but HATE going into them, all those fury babies with no homes, living in cages, and then sent off to die if no one takes them. When I walked into HELP Humane, it was just a whole new experience. The cats are free roaming, some are in cages as they adjust but most are roaming around in different rooms. It is like a big home for cats/kittens (and they also have dogs too, just not as much space for those babies so not as many) and not a depressing place to go. The people who take care of those babies have so much love for them. We did find our fury baby there a couple of years ago. When I went to pick her up, she was being snuggled by her volunteer and her volunteer was crying as she was happy she had a home but sad to see her leave. That is the love they have for those sweet babies. I knew I would be back, no question. We have been back, over and over, to visit and have become shelter buddies. My kids even save money, on their own, to give to them. They love going there and we are always checking on who got a new home, and the kids know most of their names. They always ask, were any of them adopted and who was it. They get big smiles when they get a home. We walked in to the shelter to get a cat/kitten, we walked out with so much more. Please get your baby from this shelter, volunteer or donate. It will change your lives more than it will change theirs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

HELP is truly an amazing no-kill shelter run by the most hardworking, loving and dedicated people I have ever met. I foster kittens for them when they are too young/sick to safely be in a shelter environment and it has been a wonderful experience. There is nothing better than hearing the news that one of 'our' foster kittens has been adopted into their furever home and knowing that without HELP this probably wouldn't have been possible. HELP does amazing work in our community with their TNR program to help reduce the feral cat population, but sadly, I bet most of the local residents don't even know. They are unsung heroes who genuinely care about each and every animal they take in and have created the most wonderful free-roaming shelter. I used to dread the idea of going into an animal shelter because I knew it would break my heart, but HELP is truly a wonderfully happy & peaceful place to visit after a long stressful day and just hang out with the cats for a while.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I first went to HELP to donate items from my cat when she passed away in 2009. I could not believe the number of cats free roaming and playing with each other. I was also free to roam and look around. I could not believe every corner I turned was another room full of cats. What surprised me the most was the number of special needs cats that they had that would be well cared for and loved for the rest of their lives. This is truely a NO-kill shelter that wants nothing more then to show the animals that have already been thrown away by someone that they are special and they have nothing to fear or worry about any longer.
I love my volunteer time with all the animals at HELP and hope I help bring a little peace and joy to their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I first came to Help Humane as a visitor and was so impressed that I an now volunteering there. The care given to animals is as near like a home as possible. They are a "no kill" shelter and give their animals the dignaty they deserve until they are adopted by a good family or pass. I have become attached to the animals and the wonderful staff and volunteers. I would suggest that anyone who can donate their time and money to this great place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I have been a volunteer with HELP Humane for 3 years. HELP is a free roaming absolutely no kill shelter located in Belton Mo. This shelter takes animals that are hardship cases, such as FIV+ cats, F... more

April 5, 2013

So many people say they could not volunteer at or even visit an animal shelter because it is so depressing. They have not visited HELP Humane in Belton Missouri. There is nothing depressing about our shelter. We do have some cats in cages, but these are either new kitties, or kitties that must be confined due to medical or behavior issues. We have some sad cases, but whatever chance they have for a life as normal as possible, they are given that chance at HELP including medical care. The employeees and volunteers love the animals here like they are our own. We are happy when one of our babies gets adopted, but sad at the same time because we miss them so. HELP is a strictly no kill shelter and operates solely on donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with HELP Humane for 3 years. HELP is a free roaming absolutely no kill shelter located in Belton Mo. This shelter takes animals that are hardship cases, such as FIV+ cats, FELV cats, any medical issue, no matter the severity. They receive medical care, and more importantly, the love and care of the staff and volunteers. Many get better, many don't, but we make sure that their time is quality time. The goal of the shelter is to find quality homes for these precious kitties and dogs. If they are not adopted, they will always have a home in the shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was looking for another companion cat for my other two, so I went on Petfinder.com. The shelter did not matter to me, only the cat's heath and personality. I was linked to HELP's website and was amazed at the beautiful pictures of each animal, the detailed description on their behavior and most important: the background or history. The knowledge of each animal plus they were a free roaming shelter made up my mind to adopt from them. I went with a special needs cat and have never regretted it. The staff have hearts of gold and compassion beyond belief. I have been a supporter (shelter buddy) ever since! I am also now educated about the TNR program and how important it is since it gives the best option for a cat to live.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 25, 2011

This is a shelter like no other I've ever seen. Almost 2 years ago, we decided it was time to add another dog to our family. I don't believe in buying from breeders or pet shops, so I knew a shelte... more

October 19, 2012

I am so proud to be a part of this shelter! HELP takes on some very hard luck cases and turns their precious lives around. They have recently been able to purchase their own facility and reduced rent expanse so they can spend even more of their budget to care for the animals. This means more animals can be saved and live a comfortable life while waiting for their forever families to find them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

This is a shelter like no other I've ever seen. Almost 2 years ago, we decided it was time to add another dog to our family. I don't believe in buying from breeders or pet shops, so I knew a shelter animal was what we needed. I was so scared to go though - I'd seen pictures of traditional shelters and was afraid I'd want to bring all the animals home with me.
We found Sammie on Petfinder and went to meet him. HELP was nothing like I expected from a shelter! I was greeted at the door by friendly kitties before a person had a chance to say "hello". The place was not lined with cages of scared animals, the animals were walking around interacting with each other & people who came in. They were all so happy & cared for, it was really a nice surprise. I met Sammie, filled out an application, then brought my family to meet him. After we were approved to adopt, we brought our other dog to meet him and the people there had no problem with that. They didn't just want to send him out to a home, they wanted to make sure we were all a match. Sammie did come home with us and is a wonderful addition to our family.
Because I was so impressed with the whole experience, I now tell everyone looking for a pet that they need to go there and check it out. I cannot volunteer on a regular basis, but am a Shelter Buddy ($10 per month to help with animal care!) and donate time & goods whenever I can.
HELP is a unique kind of shelter that I wish all others could be like. They don't have a big budget but do a lot of good with every penny that they get.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting a new four legged family member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a huge budget so they can save more animals.

August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of HELP Humane around 2008 and adopted our cat there shortly after. I never really looked forward to going to animal shelters and had actually only ever adopted one pet at a shelter before. My memories of that place are good people, good animals but sad environment, no hope other than an occasional animal getting lucky and making it out. The animals at HELP are happy, well cared for and actually loved as individuals by the staff and the volunteers. I am happy being there, it is a place of hope, a place where good is being done and where you can join in with others and achieve something you wouldn't be able to on your own. A place to talk with other people who share my interests. I should pay them to let me work there, it provides so much stress relief for me. If every animal shelter could be like HELP Humane.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I experience a lot of satisfaction and stress relief from any and all interactions with this positive, wonderful facility. I also have adopted two cats from HELP Humane, I am so thankful they were there to rescue my two girls so they could lead happy lives with us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to the organization. I would like to see more people give a modest amount of money each month to create an dependable income that the organization could rely on allowing them to rescue more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned a lot from these folks who have been at the business of improving the lot of companion animals for so long. It's not as easy as it looks, there are no easy answers. Yes, new friends are great too

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

on a scale of 1-10 a 10

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers