Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.2345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for many years and was just getting ready to send them another check. I noticed the article and started doing some checking. BTW, I have received many cards from those that received kits. They said that the kits helped them very much and, in some cases, also wanted a 'pen pal'. I for one am proud of our vets and want to help as many as I can, especially those that are in hospitals. There are apparently some thieves in this organization, but it doesn't make the entire apple barrel bad. Does anyone know what has happened to those that are guilty and what is being done by the courts?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

prosecute those guilty and do so in such a manner that others would not want to follow. Jail time might be good for them; so they could find a sweetheart in prison.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I originally donated to Help Hospitalized Veterans in 2012 as the program SEEMED like a great idea. I am all for helping our troops. Unfortunately I failed to properly check out their organization before donating. Since my donation, I receive a mailing from them about once every two weeks requesting additional donations and including tons of personalized address labels, stickers, etc. - a complete waste of resources. To make matters even worse, I've actually had them send me real $1 bills to try to guilt me into sending it back along with another donation. I simply take the dollar bill and donate it to another worthwhile legitimate charity. Today I tried to email them from their website to request to be removed from their mailing list. I got some weird auto-response that their inbox is protected by "SpamArrest" and that I would have to go to a verification page to get my email through to them. Research on "SpamArrest" shows that although their service is to supposedly prevent spam, they actually use and sell your address you type into the "verification" page so you get spammed even more. It's incredible how shady these guys at Help Hospitalized Veterans are. No wonder the CA Attorney General is going after them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 14, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Just received a Christmastime solicitation from HHV. For an outfit that is hurting for funds and facing a CA Atty. General lawsuit, the solicitation is very elaborate: (1) Three pennies attached to a 2-sided, multi-color remittance form; a multi-colored "God Bless America" bumper sticker; (2) first-class, multi-color return envelope (no postage, thankfully), (3) a two-page, multi-fold, 3-color form letter; (4) matte postcard depicting an injured 'vet' (unverifiable photo) holding a model kit; and (5) a Christmas card to sign "for you to sign." I cannot believe that a non-profit would put that much expense into solicitation, especially given their pending litigation. They must be desperate for funds to pay their attorneys!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Re: "Help Hospitalized Veterans", I just received a 2nd request for donations so could they still be sending them out(?) I received the 1st 2-3 months ago. The photos on their brochure looked phony... Thanks for the service you are providing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

i have been a donor to hhv for some time now, in fact, to date i have received 38 completed donor cards with thank yous from vets of all services and locations. in addition, i am a disabled veteran (vietnam 69-70), and have seen the craft kits at the oklahoma city va hospital, and have spoken many times to veterans using these kits over the years. because hhv has been one of my primary charities, i emailed HHV and told them of hearing of the current allegations, and all i received as an answer was the 'canned' legalese reply posted on the HHV web-site.........i EXPECT more of an explanation of whats going on and i EXPECT hhv to be forthright in this explanation. i will NOT donate to this organization until HHV comes clean with whats up......obviously i am very disappointed and upset about this situation,because i know FIRST HAND how much these kits are appreciated by the hospitalized veterans...but i dont like being USED, and their silence has made me feel very MUCH used...... bruce allsen oklahoma city

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Donate elsewhere. If you look at their 2010 tax return, they spent $8.2 million on vets, while paying the CEO $390,000, and paying the rest of the staff $3.3 million! They spent $3.1 million in fundraiding and advertising, and another $3.9 million in "other." What is "other?" Probably more money to management. Anyway, it looks like they only spend about $0.40 of every dollar on helping vets. I've given money to this group in the past, but have figured out you need to pay attention to what they're doing with your donation. I will be giving to other outfits in the future that get the lion's share of my donation to help those that put their lives on the line for our country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers