Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.2345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 25, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I am a local pastor that know of HHV and all that they do and all they've been through over the past few months. Even though I am not intimately aware of the details of the lawsuit that was brought by Camilla Harris and the State of California, I do know that all charges were dropped and HHV has been exonerated from all charges.

It is not for me to judge innocence or guilt in this case, but I do know that this organization has done remarkable work in serving our veterans. They have a new team of people that are focused on seeing their mission fulfilled and are looking at new and creative ways to serve our military personnel.

Please do not stop supporting their work with the vets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 31, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 31, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I just received a check in the mail for $2.50 from this organization, trying to shame us into giving them donations. The red flags immediately went up as why would a charity for veterans (supposedly) be sending out money to the public? I went to CharityNavigator.com to check them out, and sure enough they've been targeted by the state of California for huge excessive salaries siphoned off by the executives....millions, in fact. This organization is a scam and those in charge should have their sorry asses thrown in jail. They should be made to disgore every penny they took, and have the funds sent to legitimate charities for deserving veterans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having never donated or provided my personal contact information to HHV, I was unpleasantly surprised to find an unsolicited donation request in my mailbox. Regardless of whatever work the organization does, such unsolicited donation requests (with pennies inside to deliberately guilt you into a contribution) seem to be a gross misuse of funds and staff time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'll have to rate this a One star, as I am appalled to discover the criminality with organzation. In 1980, I nearly died from hemorrhaging pneumonia (ARDS) during Tech School at an Air Force base in Texas. The craft kit I received from this organization was a help to me, and it came with a card saying that it was donated by someone thinking of a hospitalized soldier. At 18 yrs of age, this inspired me to give to veterans charities; so I am grateful for this. Too bad I can't contribute to this charity after learning what we all know now. Just awful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In the official rules of the "sweepstakes", it is stated that this is void in Florida; it is also stated that this "sweepstakes" will not be mailed into Texas. I therefore find it suspicious that in the list of "past winners", one 3rd prize winner is listed as being in Orlando, Florida and another 3rd prize winner is listed as being from Austin, Texas. Read all the fine print if you get one of these solicitations... something isn't right.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I share Robert's concerns and receive my sweepstakes today. Why would a charity give away a million dollar prize when that money could be used to help the veterans it professes to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 13, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 13, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

Out of the blue, I got a big envelope in the mail from HHV. I looked intently, at the envelope, before ever opening it. What struck me as odd was that NO WHERE on the arriving envelope, was there the name of the "charity" or even a return address. But it had all sorts of officius-looking statements and identified the wife and I as "A Donor of the Year"

Wow! Donor of the Year.............. for what??? There's also an official tracking code and a reply-by date AS WELL AS the promise of a commemorative certificate and a sweepstakes elegibility entry notice! Wow again, eh? But not a clue as to who it was that was being so generous towards us. Naturally, I couldn't get the thing ripped open fast enough!
Out tumbled the requisite donation/sweepstakes for as well as an EARLY BIRD bonus drawing certificate and a large flyer describing the prizes you'll be sure to have a snowball's chance of winning if you contributre to their supposed cause.

This outfit just SMELLS bad. The slick come-on, the Award as a donor of the year - when I swear I['ve never given them a dime! The phony gold-sticker'd seal on the frameable certificate (says it's "frameable" - right on the back. But then, so's a potato chip bag!)

I imagine if you're one of the lucky few Vets that get something from this scam scheme, they probably look great. But the smell that wafts out of their giant envelope.

If you're soliciting for a great cause - which I concede, veterans would qualify as - wouldn't you want prospective donors to know that at a glance? BEWARE the "Help Hospitalized Veterans" institution. Better yet, go find a veteran and do something nice for them. Your money will actually GET to them that way!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Thru a review of ONE recipient of their mission's goal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire self-serving, Mike Lynch, and give him a lynching for the fat salary he and his staff give themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

How did you learn about this organization?

Got their solicitation in the mail. And I'd NEVER sent them a donation before - even tho they were thanking me for doing so. By the way, our last name is SO uncommon that there was no way they'd made a simple mistake in addressing.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers