Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.2345
Write A Review
May 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We all must understand that even though some of the Board of Directors may have used more than their fair share of money for their selves, the organization Help Hospitalized Veterans, does in fact help veterans in numerous ways! I personally over the many years have seen many veterans receive, work on rehabilitate, help veterans in numerous ways. This organization personally helped me when I was not getting very little help from anyone! They gave me Hope for the future when I had no hope and I thought my life was at it's end! They saved my life in the literal sense and I am ever grateful to Help Hospitalized Veterans and all of the donors out their who made it possible for me! Many of my veteran friends got these craft kits and it has helped all of them in many various ways.
I do find it wrong that the organization got fined $500,000 from the courts. I see the courts as being no better than those who took the money for their personal selves! It makes more sense to fine those involved, but not the actual entity of the Nonprofit organization, which it is not a person and had no control over what those people (Board of Directors) who had to pay a fine! That money $500,000 would have been best used with the organization as the courts and our government took that from those who donated it to go to the veterans NOT THE COURT! All of the board members have been replaced by a new group of board members! This Nonprofit organization was not always like that, as many celebrities have gotten involved with helping to raise money for Help Hospitalized Veterans, some of these celebrities I am sure you probably know, like Bob Hope! Now that the weeds have been pulled out from HHV, I expect that they will continue to help veterans, as I have personally seen them do! Thank you Helped Hospitalized Veterans, you helped me when not many people would help me and I greatly appreciated all of your help!!!!.... Help Hospitalized Veterans always treated me extremely well!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not! It has already been done (New Board of Directors (all of them have been replaced)!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am SGT Melendez, Yvonne M. US ARMY Veteran,this crafts help me deal with my depression and keep my mind busy, I thank with all my heart all the volunteers and donors of this program because it makes some of us veterans who sometimes feel we cant accomplish anything that anything is possible and that we have alot of people that support us. Since I have become disabled emotionally and physically your donations have helped me feel that I can still do things with my hands. Thank you again and GOD BLESS AMERICA AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To concentrate a little in the craft the veteran enjoys doing I love to paint, my favorite craft is paint by numbers, my VA Recreation Therapy director put like five of my paintingas in a competition and where lost in a fire in the RT section of VA in Puerto Rico

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a Veteran who was hospitalized several years ago. After I was released from the VA Hospital these kits began to arrive. I did not need them so I used to bring them to the Rehab Dept. at the VA Hospital. The Rehab Dept. now get their own kits from HHV and don't want mine. So, I toss them. Each kit includes post cards to thank the doners. I cannot imagine any of these kits costing more than $5. Yet, in the package I would get 2 or 3 doner cards. I have told HHV that I do not want these craft kits and that I am not in the hospital. Yet, periodically they still arrive. What a waste of donor money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

As a veteran and a volunteer for HHV, I can say first hand how helpful the craft kits are to so many veterans. They are used for therpy as well as rehab. To assist a veteran that only has use of one arm make moccasins or one that lost his sight complete a birdhouse or even a vet that had brain cancer making a wallet with his son in the workshop is priceless. I am so saddened and angry that the VA hosp is doing away with this program because of some self-centered and greedy people in this organization, Hospitalized veterans,staff and volunteers will deeply miss the "medicine that doesn't come in a bottle".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving craft kits and volunteering for HHV

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure the money donors send in be used for the intendeed purpose and that is to purchase and make craft kits for veterans

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

volunteer services at local VA

June 14, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 14, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

My son, SPC Jonathan B., was injured in Afghanistan in July of 2009, while on a mission to find and disarm IEDs. He was critically injured during an intense firefight, having received a concussion and a bullet wound to his chest. While recovering at Walter Reed, he was contacted by Help Hospitalized Veterans. Recently he received a computer system from HHV and both he and I are extremely grateful. In my opinion, this organization should be rated 5 stars!

Mike and Jackie B.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fundraising and administrative expenses should be reduced, while increasing donations to the wounded warriors.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers