Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.2345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having never donated or provided my personal contact information to HHV, I was unpleasantly surprised to find an unsolicited donation request in my mailbox. Regardless of whatever work the organization does, such unsolicited donation requests (with pennies inside to deliberately guilt you into a contribution) seem to be a gross misuse of funds and staff time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Re: "Help Hospitalized Veterans", I just received a 2nd request for donations so could they still be sending them out(?) I received the 1st 2-3 months ago. The photos on their brochure looked phony... Thanks for the service you are providing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

i have been a donor to hhv for some time now, in fact, to date i have received 38 completed donor cards with thank yous from vets of all services and locations. in addition, i am a disabled veteran (vietnam 69-70), and have seen the craft kits at the oklahoma city va hospital, and have spoken many times to veterans using these kits over the years. because hhv has been one of my primary charities, i emailed HHV and told them of hearing of the current allegations, and all i received as an answer was the 'canned' legalese reply posted on the HHV web-site.........i EXPECT more of an explanation of whats going on and i EXPECT hhv to be forthright in this explanation. i will NOT donate to this organization until HHV comes clean with whats up......obviously i am very disappointed and upset about this situation,because i know FIRST HAND how much these kits are appreciated by the hospitalized veterans...but i dont like being USED, and their silence has made me feel very MUCH used...... bruce allsen oklahoma city

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'll have to rate this a One star, as I am appalled to discover the criminality with organzation. In 1980, I nearly died from hemorrhaging pneumonia (ARDS) during Tech School at an Air Force base in Texas. The craft kit I received from this organization was a help to me, and it came with a card saying that it was donated by someone thinking of a hospitalized soldier. At 18 yrs of age, this inspired me to give to veterans charities; so I am grateful for this. Too bad I can't contribute to this charity after learning what we all know now. Just awful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

July 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Donate elsewhere. If you look at their 2010 tax return, they spent $8.2 million on vets, while paying the CEO $390,000, and paying the rest of the staff $3.3 million! They spent $3.1 million in fundraiding and advertising, and another $3.9 million in "other." What is "other?" Probably more money to management. Anyway, it looks like they only spend about $0.40 of every dollar on helping vets. I've given money to this group in the past, but have figured out you need to pay attention to what they're doing with your donation. I will be giving to other outfits in the future that get the lion's share of my donation to help those that put their lives on the line for our country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In the official rules of the "sweepstakes", it is stated that this is void in Florida; it is also stated that this "sweepstakes" will not be mailed into Texas. I therefore find it suspicious that in the list of "past winners", one 3rd prize winner is listed as being in Orlando, Florida and another 3rd prize winner is listed as being from Austin, Texas. Read all the fine print if you get one of these solicitations... something isn't right.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a nurse who works for a VA facility. HHV is an organization that actually provides a product for our patients- craft kits mostly. I feel there must be a disconnect between the Administration (especially the immoral criminal Roger Chapin) and the people who actually provide the service that HHV says it does. Somewhat perplexing, but I know that our patients enjoy being able to get free craft kits to occupy their time and help them heal. I support HHV, but hope to God they have gotten rid of the scum that steal the money we give for their own use!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I share Robert's concerns and receive my sweepstakes today. Why would a charity give away a million dollar prize when that money could be used to help the veterans it professes to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 13, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 13, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

Out of the blue, I got a big envelope in the mail from HHV. I looked intently, at the envelope, before ever opening it. What struck me as odd was that NO WHERE on the arriving envelope, was there the name of the "charity" or even a return address. But it had all sorts of officius-looking statements and identified the wife and I as "A Donor of the Year"

Wow! Donor of the Year.............. for what??? There's also an official tracking code and a reply-by date AS WELL AS the promise of a commemorative certificate and a sweepstakes elegibility entry notice! Wow again, eh? But not a clue as to who it was that was being so generous towards us. Naturally, I couldn't get the thing ripped open fast enough!
Out tumbled the requisite donation/sweepstakes for as well as an EARLY BIRD bonus drawing certificate and a large flyer describing the prizes you'll be sure to have a snowball's chance of winning if you contributre to their supposed cause.

This outfit just SMELLS bad. The slick come-on, the Award as a donor of the year - when I swear I['ve never given them a dime! The phony gold-sticker'd seal on the frameable certificate (says it's "frameable" - right on the back. But then, so's a potato chip bag!)

I imagine if you're one of the lucky few Vets that get something from this scam scheme, they probably look great. But the smell that wafts out of their giant envelope.

If you're soliciting for a great cause - which I concede, veterans would qualify as - wouldn't you want prospective donors to know that at a glance? BEWARE the "Help Hospitalized Veterans" institution. Better yet, go find a veteran and do something nice for them. Your money will actually GET to them that way!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Thru a review of ONE recipient of their mission's goal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire self-serving, Mike Lynch, and give him a lynching for the fat salary he and his staff give themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

How did you learn about this organization?

Got their solicitation in the mail. And I'd NEVER sent them a donation before - even tho they were thanking me for doing so. By the way, our last name is SO uncommon that there was no way they'd made a simple mistake in addressing.

June 14, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 14, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

My son, SPC Jonathan B., was injured in Afghanistan in July of 2009, while on a mission to find and disarm IEDs. He was critically injured during an intense firefight, having received a concussion and a bullet wound to his chest. While recovering at Walter Reed, he was contacted by Help Hospitalized Veterans. Recently he received a computer system from HHV and both he and I are extremely grateful. In my opinion, this organization should be rated 5 stars!

Mike and Jackie B.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fundraising and administrative expenses should be reduced, while increasing donations to the wounded warriors.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers