Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12.05263345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a local pastor that know of HHV and all that they do and all they've been through over the past few months. Even though I am not intimately aware of the details of the lawsuit that was brought by Camilla Harris and the State of California, I do know that all charges were dropped and HHV has been exonerated from all charges.

It is not for me to judge innocence or guilt in this case, but I do know that this organization has done remarkable work in serving our veterans. They have a new team of people that are focused on seeing their mission fulfilled and are looking at new and creative ways to serve our military personnel.

Please do not stop supporting their work with the vets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 2, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 2, 2013

I have been a donor for many years and was just getting ready to send them another check. I noticed the article and started doing some checking. BTW, I have received many cards from those that received kits. They said that the kits helped them very much and, in some cases, also wanted a 'pen pal'. I for one am proud of our vets and want to help as many as I can, especially those that are in hospitals. There are apparently some thieves in this organization, but it doesn't make the entire apple barrel bad. Does anyone know what has happened to those that are guilty and what is being done by the courts?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

prosecute those guilty and do so in such a manner that others would not want to follow. Jail time might be good for them; so they could find a sweetheart in prison.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am SGT Melendez, Yvonne M. US ARMY Veteran,this crafts help me deal with my depression and keep my mind busy, I thank with all my heart all the volunteers and donors of this program because it makes some of us veterans who sometimes feel we cant accomplish anything that anything is possible and that we have alot of people that support us. Since I have become disabled emotionally and physically your donations have helped me feel that I can still do things with my hands. Thank you again and GOD BLESS AMERICA AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To concentrate a little in the craft the veteran enjoys doing I love to paint, my favorite craft is paint by numbers, my VA Recreation Therapy director put like five of my paintingas in a competition and where lost in a fire in the RT section of VA in Puerto Rico

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at our local VA Hospital and passed out craft kits from HHV. Our patients enjoyed them and they were high quality. THEN! We were informed by management we would no longer be receiving the kits nor would other VA Hospitals as there was fraudulent activity taking place at higher levels. (I have also given to them personally in the past. ) Shame on them! They have hurt the vets who relied on them to help pass the long hours of confinement in hospital. You may be sure I shall never donate to them again, yet I keep receiving solicitations. I just tear them up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Disband. Give up. You blew something good as a result of personal greed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 11, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I originally donated to Help Hospitalized Veterans in 2012 as the program SEEMED like a great idea. I am all for helping our troops. Unfortunately I failed to properly check out their organization before donating. Since my donation, I receive a mailing from them about once every two weeks requesting additional donations and including tons of personalized address labels, stickers, etc. - a complete waste of resources. To make matters even worse, I've actually had them send me real $1 bills to try to guilt me into sending it back along with another donation. I simply take the dollar bill and donate it to another worthwhile legitimate charity. Today I tried to email them from their website to request to be removed from their mailing list. I got some weird auto-response that their inbox is protected by "SpamArrest" and that I would have to go to a verification page to get my email through to them. Research on "SpamArrest" shows that although their service is to supposedly prevent spam, they actually use and sell your address you type into the "verification" page so you get spammed even more. It's incredible how shady these guys at Help Hospitalized Veterans are. No wonder the CA Attorney General is going after them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 31, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I just received a check in the mail for $2.50 from this organization, trying to shame us into giving them donations. The red flags immediately went up as why would a charity for veterans (supposedly) be sending out money to the public? I went to CharityNavigator.com to check them out, and sure enough they've been targeted by the state of California for huge excessive salaries siphoned off by the executives....millions, in fact. This organization is a scam and those in charge should have their sorry asses thrown in jail. They should be made to disgore every penny they took, and have the funds sent to legitimate charities for deserving veterans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a Veteran who was hospitalized several years ago. After I was released from the VA Hospital these kits began to arrive. I did not need them so I used to bring them to the Rehab Dept. at the VA Hospital. The Rehab Dept. now get their own kits from HHV and don't want mine. So, I toss them. Each kit includes post cards to thank the doners. I cannot imagine any of these kits costing more than $5. Yet, in the package I would get 2 or 3 doner cards. I have told HHV that I do not want these craft kits and that I am not in the hospital. Yet, periodically they still arrive. What a waste of donor money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

As a veteran and a volunteer for HHV, I can say first hand how helpful the craft kits are to so many veterans. They are used for therpy as well as rehab. To assist a veteran that only has use of one arm make moccasins or one that lost his sight complete a birdhouse or even a vet that had brain cancer making a wallet with his son in the workshop is priceless. I am so saddened and angry that the VA hosp is doing away with this program because of some self-centered and greedy people in this organization, Hospitalized veterans,staff and volunteers will deeply miss the "medicine that doesn't come in a bottle".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving craft kits and volunteering for HHV

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure the money donors send in be used for the intendeed purpose and that is to purchase and make craft kits for veterans

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

volunteer services at local VA

September 14, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 14, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Just received a Christmastime solicitation from HHV. For an outfit that is hurting for funds and facing a CA Atty. General lawsuit, the solicitation is very elaborate: (1) Three pennies attached to a 2-sided, multi-color remittance form; a multi-colored "God Bless America" bumper sticker; (2) first-class, multi-color return envelope (no postage, thankfully), (3) a two-page, multi-fold, 3-color form letter; (4) matte postcard depicting an injured 'vet' (unverifiable photo) holding a model kit; and (5) a Christmas card to sign "for you to sign." I cannot believe that a non-profit would put that much expense into solicitation, especially given their pending litigation. They must be desperate for funds to pay their attorneys!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having never donated or provided my personal contact information to HHV, I was unpleasantly surprised to find an unsolicited donation request in my mailbox. Regardless of whatever work the organization does, such unsolicited donation requests (with pennies inside to deliberately guilt you into a contribution) seem to be a gross misuse of funds and staff time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers