Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.807695
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HEAL is greatly needed in the community and is the highest ranked program of it's kind in NM. HEAL, as well as it's dedicated and motivated staff, have made great strides throughout the years to become a safe place for DV survivors and their children to live. HEAL offers life changing skills and guidance to residents to help them overcome the past and move into a great new future. In the short time I have been a resident of Ruidoso, NM, I have gained a new found awareness and respect for the HEAL program. I have seen and heard first hand the stories of survivors and the incredible positive impact it has on the lives of all who are involved. May God Bless You All!!!
October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

HEAL is a wonderful non-profit organization! After hearing so many wonderful things about this great organization from numerous people and previous board members, my husband and I knew we just had to become a part of it. All of the staff are wonderful and they have always been extremely helpful. I love knowing that everyone on that staff, including the Executive Director, Coleen Widdell, are actually there to really make a difference and help make the shelter the safest place to be for both women & children!! It's wonderful knowing that the residents are involved in so many programs which will help them to become productive citizens as well as gain new skills required to become more independent. I've also been fortunate to be able to work with the women and children as well. They are a part of my life now and they are like my family. I'm also amazed with the energy driven media team who strive to spread awareness to help end violence. My husband and I are proud supporters of the Nest!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I credit my wife of 19 yrs. with giving me a clearer understanding of the scope and effects of domestic violence. As a DV survivor from her first marriage, she has a unique understanding and perspective of DV. Were it not for her, I would not have become involved with the fine people and services provided by HEAL/the NEST. For 2 years, my wife worked as an Advocate/Outreach Coordinator with HEAL/the NEST. During that time, I became associated with the staff and I came to know the dedication, devotion, and compassion given to each and every client served by HEAL/the NEST. In May 2012, I became a member of the HEAL board of directors and in July 2013, my fellow board members honored me with the privilege of serving as president of the board for the next year. HEAL/the NEST is blessed to have a fine staff, who are committed to assisting our clients in starting new lives free of violence and oppression. I am blessed to work with board members who are no less committed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

HEAL is widely recognized as the Number 1 program in the state. This title did not come easy. With a wonderful director at the helm and a great team consisting of trained advocates, a supportive board, employees and community volunteers, this domestic violence program is thriving. Never one to be in the back of the pack, HEAL is always one step ahead of the curve and constantly strives to be the leader in innovative programming.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

I do not like to see one organization gain favor by trouncing on other non profits organizations and often, obstructing the ability of other agencies to network and secure donations. This is but one very small organization in our small town.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find an administrator willing to work constructively and respectably with other leaders in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a heal employee for the last 4 plus years, I have learned so much from these women they are truly amazing and have such strength, they just need a lot of hope and encouragement in this upside down world. although this a very stressful job the support that we receive from staff makes it all possible!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Benefits, raises...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I would like to say that The Nest is a great program. It has served many women from the Mescalero reservation; empowering and getting women back on their feet. The staff have also come into the Mescalero community to share their knowledge of domestic violence prevention at health fairs and also in our Head Start program, having Domestic Violence Training for the parents and guardians. As a former employee, The Nest will always have an impact on my life, especially in understanding what Domestic Violence is really all about.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Both my husband and I got involved with The Nest (HEAL) because its goals and philosophy are what we strive to maintained.
Domestic Violence has touched our lives in a very personal way, and because of this we have supported The Nest in any way we possibly could.
Even though I no longer
sit on the Board I volunteer any way I can. Whether it is on a committee or traveling to Santa Fe to Lobby for more funding, I will be there for them
Many do not realize that Grants are aimed at specific projects and are great in their own right), or that the funding received from the State is distributed through a single agency and must cover the entire state, and all organizations dealing with Domestic Violence and Child Abuse.
When the Grants run out or are not available and the state funding is cut, the expenses of running the The Nest still remain. Over the past several years the funding from all areas has begun to dry up. This means that programs like, Education and Outreach must take a back-seat so that the basic needs of the women and children of The Nest can be met in the best way possible.
Domestic Violence is a fact in the United States. Only we as citizens can change how Domestic Violence is perceived. Until that time the need for Women's shelters is growing at and alarming rate and that means that we as citizens must support them in any way we can. From personal donations, and volunteering to communication with our State and Federal Representatives to advise them of the needs of these women and their children.
It is my opinion The Nest (HEAL) is the best run and provides the safest environment of ANY shelter in the United States and should become the proto-type for all shelters.
It is further my wish the the need for shelters become non existent, but that can only happen with the ending of Domestic Violence and Child Abuse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would establish more Federal and State funding so that the teen and preteens could be educated about Domestic Violence, which includes Date Rape,Bulling, Animal Abuse, and all forms of Child Abuse. Teach them while their young and hopefully they can put a stop to this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked with Help End Abuse for Life for the better part of a year now. It has a great team driving it forward and a strong community supporting its endeavors. I have seen the advocates serving many women and helping them to create entirely new lives for themselves, the board members developing plans to make our services more accessible, available, broader, and better, and the administrative and managing staff acting as a shining example of how non-profits should be run. HEAL has acted as a catalyst of hope and change for hundreds of women setting out to make some of the most difficult decisions of their lives and it has excelled in doing so.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it a louder megaphone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I love being a part of HEAL. some of my favorite people on earth are women; my Mom. My Sisters My Wife and my Daughters... I always strive to be an example to my girls to ensure they realize their importance and how they should expect to be loved and cherished by their future partner. being part of HEAL has opened my eyes to how many women out there wer not cherished and loved as they deserved to be. These Women have become like my own sister and daughters and I want to fight the great fight to make their lives and the lives of their children as great as it should have always been. being a part of this organization has made me a better man. im proud to be a member of a team whose goal is to make the world a better place

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at our Sweet Charity Resale Boutique, a store that benefits the Nest.