Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
123.37545
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 19, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 19, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I have supported Heifer International for a number of years now, however I was somewhat disturbed and disappointed to get a call this past weekend from a paid solicitor trying to get me to make a donation. I don't know the finanacial details, of course, but telephone solicitation is, I bleieve, an expensive way to get donations. I do hope that Heifer Int'l abandons telephone solicitations, as I won't be giving any money that way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Instead of giving to Heifer International (a Christian-based org), I give to Plan Canada (no I am not Canadian). The difference is that I'm not forcing Christian beliefs on other faiths (mostly Muslim), but I do not get a tax break, nor should anyone expect one. That's what "charity" is all about, people. And that's OK with me. At least with Plan Canada I know where my gift is going without forcing Christianity on folks who already have their OWN faith. Go to plancanada.ca/greatgifts. Big NO to Heifer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 15, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 15, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

My 7 gift cards to be sent to receipients did not include the extra specific message. One was written as if the receipient made the donation to her last name from her first name. There is no email access for answering questions. Telephone personnel was very uninformed. Had to give the complete order twice and was read back the messages and they still did not appear. I will NOT dionate again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Heifer Foundation locates needy people in needy countries and teaches them how to raise animals AND share them with their neighbors, allowing them to earn enough to pay school fees for their kids and eat better and even, sometimes, afford medical attention. Did I forget something? And Betty's slide shows about the people who are involved in their homes makes the whole deal very real. Thank you Betty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

My sisters and i have donated funds to this organization for several years. We use it as Christmas gifts to each other as we do not need more stuff. I had to write, email, and finally call them to get them to stop sending me solicitations for funds. It was redundant in my case for them to try to convince a donor to donate. Finally I yelled at them on the phone and the solicitations stopped. I still donate and plan on sending a little more this year as one of my sisters went to Kosovo on business and got to eat a meal with a woman and her daughter who had received a cow. As most people know a lot of men were killed in Kosovo and so the women were left to farm on their own. The lady told my sister that the cow literally saved their lives. The milk products and the hope the gift inspired.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I always recommend this charity to others. The objective is to provide a sustainable life, mainly to women and children. I have given since 2003. They produce a magazine that I read from cover to cover about conditions and solutions in various areas of the world. I am a much better educated person about the difficulties in the world due to their information. I then leave the magazine in doctor's offices or my university to pass along the information to others. Since the work is meant to be self sustaining, the impact of my contributions lasts beyond the animal given. I consider it more than a one time gift. That being considered, there is more impact per dollar than a gift of clothing or food. I will continue to donate in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 21, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

December 21, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

In 1980 I worked as a student in international development in Panama. I met a development worker there who excoriated Heifer International. He said HI's gift of an animal trapped impoverished farmers in a cycle of debt because they could not afford the necessary feed so Heifer gave them a loan for it which they could only pay back by selling the food they produced rather than eating it. A year ago I met someone involved in HI who said they have changed. But I don't have personal experience of that change. It is time to sign up to make monthly contributions to my favorite charities through my employer, the University of Massachusetts, and I want to give to a charity that helps the poorest of the poor help themselves, and HI talks the right talk, but I need to know that it walks the walk, too, and does not draw the poor into a monetary system in which they start out so far behind in the game that it is a harm rather than a help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 18, 2011
15 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 18, 2011
15 people found this review helpful

After researching Heifer International, it seemed it was a reliable place to use my money to help people. I proceeded to donate money. I felt excited that rather than using money for my own material goods, I'd be helping people in an impoverished part of our planet. I donate to many charities, but this seemed to really get to needy people more directly to help themselves. I envisioned donating money and marking a map to show where my donations where used. I hoped to cover the map with my donations. I didn't want to know a specific person receiving the donation, but rather what country/region where my funds were used. I thought that was a reasonable expectation: Where was my donation used? I asked Heifer International roughly where my donation was used so that I could start marking my map, and continue to donate. What Heifer Internation stated was they couldn't tell me where my funds were used. Furthermore, they didn't even provide me any message (card/email/letter) to provide me of proof that I even had made the donation. They told me to print my own statement from the website. In fact, they seemed surprised I asked. The whole experience left me wondering if indeed they even used my donation to help people? Why couldn't they tell me where my funds were used if it is a honest organization? Just how honest is Heifer International ? Sure they show a few key places in their brochure where donations were used, but shouldn't they have to account for every dollar?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 10, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from JustGive
December 10, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

We have donated to Heifer International for many years primarily due to the work that they conduct and the people they serve around the world. Their focus on educating the recipients of the cow, chickens, beehive and more about how to care for their animals, sustain themselves and their families from what they produce (milk, eggs, honey) and then paying forward through generosity of teaching someone else in their village and giving them an offspring to sustain their family -- and on and on -- is a charity grounded in dignity and respect. I've also had the privilege to spend a week at Heifer Ranch in Arkansas to learn beekeeping from Heifer's master beekeeper, Chuck Crimmins. This gave me an opportunity to see, first-hand, the care, dedication and belief the entire Heifer staff and organization embraces in service of others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 5, 2011
16 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2011
16 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to Heifer for a number of years now; it is the main charity that I donate to each year. I believe in its mission and its approach. However, the one thing that always causes me pause every year is the ratio of money donated to money that actually gets spent on the program - it is "only" about 73%. The biggest problem I see is that they spend far too much money on fundraising, mostly in the form of about 5 or 6 glossy catalogs I receive each year. I would like NOT to receive this, and just get emails instead, to save the money for the actual program. Unfortunately, there is no way to opt out of not receiving all the mailings. I consider this a problem for the charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers