Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
123.37545
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
January 15, 2013

I would like to respond to the review written in October 2011 from the person who thinks Heifer recipients treat animals as a commodity. They don't sell the animals because they can't feed them. Bef... more

April 15, 2014

Heifer International's goal is to work with communities to end hunger and poverty while caring for the Earth. When I first heard about Heifer International, I read the information, saw the YouTube videos, and participated in a Heifer project at my church. I knew they sponsored projects in the US and abroad. They gave animals to families to improve nutrition and health (such as heifers that provide milk). Part of their program included training for families in animal husbandry before they received the animals. Each family that received animals was expected to "Pass the Gift," or give the first born animal to the next family in need, after training that family in animal husbandry. This all sounds very good and sounds like an organization I could and would willingly support. But I am one of those people who want to know for sure this is what the organization does. So I travelled for 21 day with Heifer International in the Philippines. I met and talked with people in communities with whom Heifer works. I listened to their stories, and I watch the respect they showed to the Heifer workers. I watched the care they gave to their animals and how they taught others to care for the animals, so they would be ready when their animals came to them. And I am here to say that "HEIFER INTERNATIONAL DOES WHAT IT PROFESSES TO DO!" I listened to parents talk about the malnourishment their children suffered before Heifer came into their lives. Parents shared with me how they were able to send their children back to school, because they sold the extra eggs, milk, etc. their family did not use. I guess one farmer truly put it in perspective for me. He said, "If I die, my children will weep. If my water buffalo dies, my children will starve." For me that was the turning point in my relationship with Heifer International. I am now a regular donor and have added Heifer International as a beneficiary in my will. I volunteer for them whenever they need me, working with schools, civic organization, and churches to introduce them to Heifer and / or assist them with their Heifer projects. In my book, HEIFER INTERNATIONAL IS THE REAL THING!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the plan they follow works well and I can't think of anything that I would change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 15, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

I would like to respond to the review written in October 2011 from the person who thinks Heifer recipients treat animals as a commodity. They don't sell the animals because they can't feed them. Before they receive an animal from Heifer, they receive training from Heifer about caring for their animals, using the bi-products of the animals (milk, manure, muscle, etc) to bring their families out of hunger and poverty and to educate their children. They have a CAHV worker (Community Animal Health Volunteer) in each community or a nearby community that is trained by help families when their animals become sick, need vaccinations, give birth, etc. They teach families that all members within the family have value and are equal. They sponsor projects for women, who, in many countries, are considered less valuable than men and are not allowed to own land or animals. As far as being a religious based group that inflicts their religious values on the projects' participants, that is not true. They would with community members who are Catholic, Presbyterian, etc., and at no time did I witness Heifer trying to convert the Filipino natives toward any specific religion. That is not the mission of Heifer. Their mission is work with communities to end hunger and poverty and doing it in a manner that cares for the earth. So, before making statements about an organization, especially one that does so much to help millions of people in the US and abroad, you might want to check your information. Having seen Heifer doing their work up close and personal in the Philippines, I know those statements to be untrue. And by the way, their pride in their animals is very apparent. The animals are cleaner than any animals I have seen on farms in NC. I have watched them wash and care for their animals with great compassion. The animals that end up in US supermarkets should be so lucky!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

I became familiar with Heifer International in 2000 when I made a donation to the organization. In 2004 I travelled with several volunteers and staff members to the Philippines to see if Heifer did what it said it did with the funds it received. I visited Heifer projects on the island of Mindanao, Cebu, Bohol, and Luzon. I stayed in project participants' homes and talked to them one on one. I can say, with all confidence, that Heifer International does exactly what it says is its goal: "To end hunger and poverty while taking care of the earth." The project participants were some of the poorest people I have ever met, but they were the first to offer us the best they had to give. One man said some thing to me as he tried to express to me the importance of Heifer in his life and the lives of his family, "If I die, my children will weep. If our water buffalo dies, my children will starve." I will never forget those words and the profound meaning they had for me. I finally understood what Heifer meant to these people and what a change Heifer had made in their lives. I became a volunteer for Heifer in 2004 and have continued my work as a volunteer, speaking at schools and organizations about Heifer international.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

I became involved with Heifer Projects International in 2005 when I travelled for 21 days with Heifer in the Philippines. Being my first trip out of the US, I had no idea what to expect. What occurred for me was a life changing experience. I had the opportunity to see Heifer projects in action. I talked to the people participating in the projects and listened to them explain how Heifer had helped them to change their lives and the lives of others in their community. They explained how Heifer had provided them "a hand up, not a hand out" and had equipped them to help other members of their community by "Passing on the Gift" of animals, knowledge, and know-how. One man really put in perspective for me what Heifer meant to his family, "If I die, my children will weep. If my water buffalo dies, my children will starve."

Since that trip I have also been a volunteer for Heifer, going into schools, churches, community events, etc., and speaking about Heifer. Heifer does what it says it does, "Heifer works with communities to end hunger and poverty and protect the Earth." I know this to be true. I have seen it for myself.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Since my trip to the Philippines, I have also been a volunteer for Heifer, going into schools, churches, community events, etc., and speaking about Heifer. Heifer does what it says it does, "Heifer works with communities to end hunger and poverty and protect the Earth." I know this to be true. I have seen it for myself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make in this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

My trip to the Philippines with Heifer Projects International.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Your donations are used as Heifer says it uses them. You can rest assured that your money is having an impact in the US and around the world. The people who work for Heifer within the countries are native to the area and understand the problems faced by the communities and villages.They can identify with the people and the problems and are welcomed into the communities. They take a personal interest in the people and work tirelessly to help them end hunger and poverty, and do so without damaging their pride and self-esteem.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2014

more

April 11, 2014

I have been donating to Heifer for several years now. I generally only donate to local charities, but when I first heard of Heifer, I researched them and found that I really agreed with their approach - help each community to become self-sufficient. It is a practical approach that I believe in.

My main complaints/concerns are similar to ones already mentioned. When I make a donation, don't acknowledge it with another appeal for money. Also, reduce the number of appeals. Thankfully, I have not been contacted by phone. That would be a huge issue for me.

I fully plan to continue my modest donations. They help out the poorest people live a better life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reduce number of appeals sent out.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I made a small donation to this organization at Christmastime. Since then, I have received emails, phone calls and heavy, glossy mailers sent first class postage asking for more, more, more. Now, it does not bother me that a charitable organization would be trying to solicit donations, but I feel at this point (only a month after making my donation) that my money has been swallowed up campaigning for me to give more, rather than going to the poor who I intended my donation to help. I will never donate to them again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 12, 2014

more

January 12, 2014

I gave to this charity because I respect what they are doing globally. They not only donate an animal to a family in need and train them how to take care if it, they also require that the family donate the first female offspring to another family in need. And then that family must do the same. It's what they call "passing on the gift."

Like a lot of other people have said, my donation left a bad taste in my mouth when the card they sent to say "thank you" also included requests for more money. Saying thank you with your hand out for more is not being thankful at all.

I will say, though, that Heifer is not the only charity that does this. I have donated to Christian Children's Fund, Samaritan's Purse, the American Red Cross, and the ASPCA, and they all do that. It's a real turn-off.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop with the constant requests for more money and just show gratitude to those who give.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 14, 2013

more

December 14, 2013

I have donated to Heifer for several years now. And every year, I'm impressed at the good work they've done, and the improvements they've made in their organization.

I would also like to mention that they've been around for sixty years, and have received hugely prestigious awards for the
work they do.

I see a lot of one-star reviews here that contain things that are flat-out wrong about the organization (They don't push Christian ideology, for example.) Others involve well-intentioned people who are simply misinformed as to the facts. (Animals are a vital part of a farm's sustainable ecosystem, for example.)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let the donor chose their level of future engagement. I love Heifer and the work they do, and I know they have to solicit from donors to bring in money and make the world a better place.... but right now, new donors sometimes feel harassed or bombarded by the amount of attention they get from the charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

A couple of years ago, I donated to Heifer as a part of a donor matching program. Donate $10, it was matched.

The problem is, they have since spent every dime of the money I donated trying to solicit more. Now, I don't mind the nice Christmas labels and address labels they send each
year, but the glossy brochures and mailings I regularly receive far outweigh the very small donation I was able to afford. Further research on this charity has unearthed an unsettling amount of negative feedback. I don't regret my donation, but I won't be bothering again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend more on programs, instead of soliciting so heavily from small one-time donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 4, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

more

August 4, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

I made a small donation to Heifer International last December, writing "one-time donation" on my check. Since then, I have been bombarded with phone calls and mail solicitations for more money. The amount they are spending on the calls and printed materials has long surpassed the amount of money I sent them. I would never give to this organization again, and I have spent time e-mailing and telephoning in order to be removed from their call/mailing lists. Even an assurance that I would be removed from the lists from their customer relations manager has been a farce, since I received yet another solicitation three days ago. Enough is enough! I have reported this company to the BBB with the hopes of getting some action.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...stop spending money on call centers and printed materials in order to send them to people who explicitly have asked not to get them. ...use the money I've been given more wisely and for the purpose for which it was intended.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am 81 years old, and Thank God, manage to bear my infirmities and serious physical limitation. My wife and I live on a very modest monthly income which often does not see us all trough the month. We are THANKFUL for what we have and we have long ago decided that that there is NOTHING which approaches the reward of GIVING FROM ONES NEED and not from ones EXCESS. So the 1st $279 we receive each month must go to WORKS such as HEIFER PROJECTS. Our only regret is that we don't have more so we could GIVE MORE. We are BLESSED and we simply CANNOT AFFORD NOT TO GIVE TO SUCH FOR DOING KINDNESSES WHICH WE, PERSONALLY, ARE SIMPLE UNABLE TO DO! THANK THANK YOU, HEIFER, FOR BEING THERE FOR US!
Corpsman---Semper Fi......... Jim

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 1, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

I have donated to Heifer many times in the past.

This year they called & my husband made a pledge over the phone. When the invoice arrived, I paid it within the week. Not surprisingly my check to them cleared the bank within the next two weeks.

Since that time, I have
received 3 more invoices reminding me of our pledge & asking me to send in the amount we pledged. I suspect that I'm going to be receiving these letters for the rest of the year if not longer- each one beginning with the line"occasionally a delay may occur in posting new gifts to our system, so please accept my sincerest apology if you have already sent in your gift & our letters crossed in the mail." Right- likely they are just hoping that we've forgotten we sent it in, or that someone else gets the mail & sends in another. It's been months now & I'm officially fed up.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

Heifer International is not a "christian based" charity as some have stated. They do NOT try to force any form of religion on the recipients of their gifts. They are concerned with helping people to survive and better themselves by giving them the knowledge and tools to take care of any animal given.

Before a recipient receives an animal Heifer investigates the land and discovers what animal will be able to survive in the prevailing conditions. Also they educate the recipients on how to protect the land from over use by the animal given and how to use the animals by-products (manure, etc) to enrich the earth. Recipients are given all the information and training needed to keep their animal(s) healthy and feed while at the same time not further destroying the land. I believe this is one of the best "direct to the needy" charities around. Knowledge acquired and then shared continues on and on. Heifers' goal is to give the poorest people the chance to change their lives by giving them knowledge along with the gift of an animal.

I tell everyone who wishes to give me something, to give a donation to Heifer International instead. I do not need a card saying they gave in my name...nor do i need a fancy receipt from Heifer when i donate. Charity is charity. Yes, I list them on my taxes but proof comes in the form of credit card statement or sometimes even a canceled check! If the IRS doubts me...no big deal, it is not like i am giving millions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers