Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
3 Reviews
123.6666745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

To all concerned with Mary W., my wife of 57 years and a stroke rehab patient at your facility from August 8 to September 30, 2011.

For myself, and on her behalf and our family, I wish to express our deep appreciation for the skilled treatment and loving care she received from all members
of your staff. She is now receiving home care rehab with every prospect for a full recovery over time. That outcome in large measure is due to the excellent therapy, encouragement and treatment she received at the Hebrew Home where everyone (doctors, nurses, therapists, aides (including kitchen workers) seems to wear (as a trademark?) a warm smile and have sincere empathy for all patients.

With heartfelt thanks,
Bob W.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2011

On behalf of the family of the late Leona C, I would like to thank you for the expert and professional service given to her during her stay at the Hebrew Home. During my visits to the Home, I found the staff courteous, well-trained and attentive to her needs. In particular, I would like to thank the staff on 3 east for all they did in keeping me aware of any health issues related to her condition and the sensitive and professional manner in which they were handled. Knowing that she was in such professional care was a blessing and for this I will always be grateful.
-Isaac C.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Great satisfaction

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

November 4, 2009

more

November 4, 2009

More than 10 years ago a group of interested citizens who had friends and/or relatives residing in the Hebrew Home formed a group to help improve care residents' were receiving. It was a groups composed of university professors of nursing and other professionals in the field along with very concerned parties. Unknown to the group the Hebrew Home used funds to hire a detective agency to "find dirt" on these individuals by searching their trash, and investigating their private business. About two years ago this was exposed in the Jewish Forward, the Washington Post, and the Washington Jewish Week. The Hebrew Home has glossed over this issue, insinuating that too much time has passed to even look into this issue or to apologize to involved individuals. Care at the Home is less than mediocre, although there is lots of hype about how good it is. "God pity" the poor people who live there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Diversify staff, send in objective investigators unknown to staff, emphasize the importance of humane and timely care.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Hire better prepared and more motivated physicians and nursing personnel

Ways to make it better...

Staff spent less time socializing and more time with patients. The homogeneous staff makes it hard to break the mold of sub standard care. It is like breaking a code of behavior that advocates doing less rather than more for patients.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Poorly motivated staff, who are not caring enough about the residents for whom they are responsible. Lack of a diversified and well educated nursing staff.

One thing I'd also say is that...

The nursing department is too weak. Social work dominates. Nursing staff need better prepared and more motivated personnel coming from diverse backgrounds.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers