Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.950825
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

I have worked with horse rescues for over 10 years. I decided one day to drop in on Heaven Can Wait and was blown away. The horses are well integrated with each other and they actually accepted me into their herd. It is the first time I ever walked among horses without needing eyes in the back of my head. A short while later I began volunteering for HCW in promotions even though I live 90 miles away. Through the newsletter you can find some amazing wins that people have had there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Susan in 2003 and spent many hours with her and her wonderful horses. I've seen her bring horses from a "bag of bones" state to healthy, happy, and friendly. These gentle horses now give back to others in the community with the outreach programs set up at Heaven Can Wait. HCW is so much more than a rescue operation for equines, it's a rescue operation for humans and the interaction between the animals and the humans is nothing short of miraculous. Susan has dedicated her life to making a better place for equines and shares their wonderful spiritual nature with the community. It may be called Heaven Can Wait, but there is a little bit of Heaven on earth at HCW. I have since moved out of the area but continue to support HCW because I know the effect it has on the animals and the community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hi - I just wanted to lift up and highly recommend Heaven Can Wait Equine Sanctuary in San Miguel California. I worked for two years in another rescue before I was told about Heaven Can Wait. If a horse or donkey winds up at Heaven Can Wait Sanctuary, they are blessed and loved for the rest of their lives. Susan Schwartz is the Director/Owner of the Sanctuary and she is an amazing person who always puts her animals first. Most importantly, she also keeps the numbers of of rescued animals to the level that she can guarantee quality of life. This means proper food, needed medications, farrier and veterinary care. Many well meaning people fail in this area. Susan does not. She also provides holistic care as a proactive method in helping bring comfort to the animals. A rescue is not a rescue or a sanctuary if you just take in animals as another place where they suffer lack of basic needs. I abhor rescues that do that regardless of how well the intentions might have been. Heaven Can Wait is an integral part of the community. Children come to Heaven Can Wait for reading programs. Some children and adults come because of their disabilities - both physical, mental and emotional. I have never seen a cleaner more well run rescue or sanctuary than Heaven Can Wait. We, as a community, are blessed to have Heaven Can Wait in our area. I wish I lived closer than 70 miles away. I would be there on a regular basis. It's that special. Thank you for giving everyone an opportunity to give special recognition to a rescue facility that truly deserves it. Jeri Young

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

Heaven can wait not only helps the animals but helps our community. I have a girl scout troop that wanted to learn more about horses and how to take care of them. Heaven can wait graciously offered a class for my girls and is even letting them do a photography badge there as well. The facility is clean, beautiful and peaceful and the animals well trained and cared for. You can see that all of the donations go directly to care and volunteers and visitors I have talked to outside of the facility rave about it! Please consider a donation to this facility. With the price of hay in our town I'm afraid heaven can wait will be at capacity for quite a while.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

Susan and her volunteers takes Great care of the animals. They are healthy, fat, happy and LOVED!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

Heaven Can Wait is an amazing organization who offers therapy to people as they assist with the equines. They have also been a wonderful home to rescued horses and donkeys who had injuries, disabilities as well as aging problems! I strongly support their work and recommend them as well! I have had horses for 50 years, when I started riding at 5 years old. I have also raised miniature donkeys for 12 years! Susan and the volunteers and workers at Heaven Can Wait are the Best, as they take excellent care of the animals and people in their lives!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

My daughter volunteers at Heaven Can Wait Equine Sanctuary when she has school breaks. She spends the entire day there is given the freedom to interact with the animals and just loves coming to this fantastic place. Susan Schwartz is so devoted to the equines and has given them a wonderful home where they get love and attention and the chance to be horses again. They are truly given the freedom that every horse deserves, living in a true herd atmosphere, and my daughter gets to learn about real equine behavior. This is a wonderful organization, and I can't praise Susan and the other HCW workers and volunteers enough for their efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Heaven Can Wait is an exceptional facility for abandoned equine. The horses and donkeys and other abandoned animals that find their way to this organization are lovingly nursed back to health and provided excellent health care. HCW has numerous outreach programs into the community for kids, vets, and others that benefit from contact with the animals. It is a well run facility that really makes a big difference in our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I really appreciate what Susan does for the animals.....she clearly gives them the care and love they need to rebound for whatever bad situation they encountered before coming to HCW.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

100 Women Who Care reference

Why did you make your donation at this time?

The newsletter I received was comprehensive and well written. The content was terrific. Reading about the care forthe animals and the community outreach programs prompted me to support the organization.

What would you tell others about this organization?

HCW makes a difference....donate!!

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

My family and I were able to enjoy the peaceful enjoyment of being able to walk freely with the horses at Heaven Can Wait. We help brush, wash and I even massaged one. I have two special needs boys and they were so gently and playful with them. Those horses are like humans and they want to socialize just like we do. The connection between those in need and these majestic animals cannot be described in words only in the peace and love one feels from being around them. If I didn't live 2 hours away, this would be my weekend haven.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the reinforcement of knowing these horses are gifts from God and they are here to help us become better people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing. Susan is amazing at what she does and she is somehow able to create opportunities for others that are invaluable from what little she has to work with (funding wise).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Move closer to my home. :)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned skills on how to take care of horses. I learned that each one has a different personality just like humans. They are so fun to be around.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful! I felt like I was where I belonged. I felt accepted with no judgements on my shoulder. There aren't too many places I can go that make me feel like that.

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

We love Heaven Can Wait! Susan maintains the property and all of the wonderful rescued equines that reside there with a lot of love and care. We bring our children with us so that they can learn about the horses and how to care for them as well. Susan is so gracious and accommodating to us and our family. I only wish that more people knew about this very special place that does SO much good not only for the equines but for the special needs children and veterans suffering from PTSD that come to work with the horses as part of their therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers