Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.950825
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I have been out to the facility several times and it always amazes me how great all the animals look and how clean the property is. Susan gives it her all every day to make sure these animals can live out their lives in peace and comfort. She works tirelessly and it shows in all the happy healthy animals in her care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

We visited twice. Super clean. Healthy animals: horses, donkeys, goats, dogs. All need special care. Owners make good use of volunteers and provide needed services to community. Very dedicated and selfless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I first started coming to Heaven Can Wait in the fall of 2008 when I brought my 4-H horse group there to volunteer their time - cleaning stalls and grooming horses. We were so taken with the rescued horses that we returned time and time again. These wonderful animals whom Susan has rescued are paying it forward many times over. They have taught not only my 4-Hers but many children what it means to responsible and caring. They have given comfort and respect to many disadvantaged people from developmentally delayed young people, those who have survived cancer and sufferers of P.T.S.D. It's not just about the horses or the people but what the two bring to each other. It is a wonderful organization that deserves all the help it can get. Submitted by Angela Vinther

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I first started coming to Heaven Can Wait as a client. They had a program for cancer survivors called HOPe. I had not a lot of experience with horses but still wanted to check this out. Immediately I noticed the harmony with ALL the animals, horses, donkeys, chickens, cats, dogs. They all got along and you could tell they were in a peaceful state. The program started with me leading a horse with the halter, having them stop, go, turn, etc., and getting them to walk/run in the round pen. I had never done anything like this before and it indeed gave me a lot of confidence and helped in continued emotional healing. I have since come out to help volunteer when the special needs kids come out and it has been very inspiring to watch these kids gain confidence as they work with these horses. I also learned how valuable these horses are as they work for people in a very different way then riding, competing, etc. These horses that would not be deemed valued by some are indeed extremely valuable by their very presence, love, and gratefulness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Heaven Can Wait has taken in many local horses who had no where to go except be put down. All horses are treated like they were the last one on earth. The facilities are immaculate, and the food they are supplied is the best money can buy. This horse sancuary deserves more people to donate to their cause. Hopefully this will motivate people to do more for them. Cherie Dodds

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

My hustand and I have been donors to Heaven Can Wait for several years now. We believe wholehearteldy in what Susan and Heaven Can Wait does for the greater community of San Luis Obispo County. We have been onsite at her facility numerous times and have never been anything but 100% impressed. Her efforts to rescue abused and neglected equines ... and then to turn those very equines into rescuers of at-risk and challenged childern and adults is important beyond words - teaching (and giving) love, respect and compassion. I know that when I donate to Heaven Can Wait ... 100% goes to the care of the animals and outreach efforts of the charity. I encourage anyone reading this review to donate ... become a monthly donor or sponsor an equine - it's so easy via their website. In giving ... you will assisting a grassroots, hands-on organization that - in my opinion - deserves assistance. Marleta Garner

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

This is an amazing organization and are doing a lot for horses and rehabilitation of special need children by using their horses as a vehicle to do this. Very unique and highly recommend you visit them sometime.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Heaven Can Wait came to my attention through another wonderful group -- 100 Women Who Care. The story of HCW moved all of us and I have continued to follow their story and donate. I hope to visit them soon and see for myself their therapy programs for veterans and children and the horses and donkeys that have found their forever home.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

MY first experience with Heaven Can Wait was at a charity event that was hosted by Susan Schwarts at the horse ranch. As we entered the premises, we were greeted by a worn out, old, yet content face of a donkey. You could tell that she had had a rough life; but she seemed at peace being there. It was a similar story with all the animals at HCW. They all have signs of abuse and neglect, but only to your eyes. When you look in their eyes, they have already forgiven and forgotten and are appreciating their new nourishing environment. This is a testament to Susan and her dedication to the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Heaven Can Wait helped me so much when I had difficulty placing a horse. I sent her an email through the internet simply because of how desperate I was to place my horse, a sweet old arabian who had never been trained. Not only did she respond promptly, Susan gave me advice and help connect me with other local horse women to find my horse a good home. I am so grateful that she took the time to help me, and I know her Equine Rescue is truly a sanctuary for those animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers