Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.950825
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

I have actually visited this sanctuary and met with the owner, Susan. The horses are happy and healthy, and she puts them in front of her own needs, which are significant due to health troubles. Seldom do you find a rescue with such a pure dedication to its mission. Worth everyone's support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get Susan more help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

My 8 year old grand-daughter loves horses, so I signed her up for a trip to this wonderful place (Heaven Can Wait Equine Rescue and Sanctuary). I was not quite sure what to expect, but while we we... more

August 19, 2013

If you read this review, you will need a lot of kleenex. This organization is the epitome of caring, resourceful, kind, dedicated. and ultimately in need. The director, Susan Swartz, has been diagnosed with cancer, but still manages to give 100% to these beautiful animals that are lucky to be in her care. They save horses here.....give them a life without pain, or suffering, They serve the community, especially people with disabilities, by pairing them with a gentle horse that will understand the need of the person. Compassion......a keyword here, is learned through the life touching experiences between horses and people. Susan Swartz is my hero. Heaven Can Wait is deserving and heroic in its efforts on behalf of all "species" four footed or two footed. The caring and dedication is the keystone, Please honor them any way you can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Plant a money tree.....it is perfect as it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

My 8 year old grand-daughter loves horses, so I signed her up for a trip to this wonderful place (Heaven Can Wait Equine Rescue and Sanctuary). I was not quite sure what to expect, but while we were walking up the driveway, I got the feeling that this was a very special place. We both were amazed, astounded, touched, and changed by our experience. The work that Susan and her volunteers do is life changing, especially for the lucky horses, ponies and donkeys that are saved from terrible conditions and certain death. It is an upbeat experience, even tho the stories are very sad. I have vowed to become a volunteer and try and support this very deserving non-profit. I would encourage everyone to look at the website and see how you can help, even in small ways. Sincerely, Suzy Elwell

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

Every once in a while one finds a non profit that truly lives up to their stated goal. Susan and her helpers deliver exactly what they say they are going to....Extending the lives of and improving the quality of lives for the horses they take in...Every dime is purposely used toward the goals that they establish....A true love of what they do through the good times and the tough times....A remarkable organization that deserves everyone's support.
John Philip Sousa IV

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I didn't live on the other side of the country I would be much more active in the day to day to help them out....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Susan has great passion and dedication to her rescued horses and is a wonderful advocate for humane treatment of horses and the importance of the healing nature of the human/animal bond.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Heaven Can Wait recues horses that are being surrendered or abandoned and gives them a second chance on life by getting them back to health and then providing a loving environment to that others can learn about the horses themselves. It is a wonderful combination for needy animals and people to come together to help each other. In these hard times, keeping all of these large animals is very costly. Please consider helping Susan help other. Thank you. Lynn

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

My husband and I have only been able to volunteer once but I was so blown away by Susan and her husband's dedication that I had to write this review. The time, love, and energy that they put into their work is truly inspirational. The care all of the equines receive is perfectly individualized and you can tell how comfortable and secure they all feel. I haven't had a chance to observe any of the therapy that they offer but I have heard wonderful reviews. This organization not only gives beautiful animals a second chance at life but also contributes so fully to our community by offering a safe therapy space. Thank you Heaven Can Wait!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I started going to Heaven Can Wait for therapy and volunteer my time with the horses. I have volunteered with other Horse Rescues before, but they were not as diverse as Heaven Can Wait. Not only is Heaven Can Wait a Sanctuary for horses, but they also help special needs children, and others who need therapeutic, or educational services. I enjoy volunteering here and plan to continue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My mom & I love Susan and the horses at Heaven Can Wait. I like how friendly and gentle the horses are and how clean and spacious HCW is. Susan is very dedicated to all her horses and volunteers and has taught me many things about taking care of horses . I really appreciate Susan and the horses at HCW and feel lucky to be able to spend time working with animals that I really enjoy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

ive been volunteering for 3 years now.it has been one or the best experiences of my life.susan works very hard to see that all the horses get the best care and they do.they have a wonderful life there.lots of room to roam and plenty of kindness.great retirement home. I would love to see this place go on for many years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

we have rescued an assortment of animals but what would you do with multiple horses. heaven can wait addresses a difficult situation with enthusiasm, excellent care, and dwindling financial resorces in these difficult times with the added benefit of providing opportunities for volunteering, education, and human rehabilitation as well. all this in a beautiful and wholesome setting that welcomes children for a real hands on experience. a unique and memorable visit to get close up and personal with animals few of us have an opportunity to encounter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers