Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
123.7545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 30, 2014

more

March 30, 2014

Hearts with Haiti and the St. Joseph Family homes have been an inspiration to many people, including myself, who care about children. For nearly 30 years, boys and girls who were neglected, abused, and abandoned have received a real home and family experience through the SJF. More recently, Hearts with Haiti has provided an easy way to support these efforts. Provisions for quality living extend far beyond the basics. Attention to nurturing the spiritual life is particularly impressive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2014

more

March 30, 2014

I have been associated with St. Joe's for 14 years and not once have I witnessed anything but love, care and support for the poorest of Haiti's poor children. Hearts with Haiti is an organization, as we are, that support Michael without hesitation. There are negative forces at work against St. Joe's none of which I believe to be true.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 30, 2014

This nonprofit is doing very important work for the children of Haiti, supporting a ministry that is producing the leaders of tomorrow for Haiti. Children from the street are given not just food and a bed, but love, support, encouragement and skills that give them a bright future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

I remain convinced that the money that I send to Hearts with Haiti for the support of the children of the St. Joseph's homes is money well spent. I have personally visited these homes numerous times and they are a model for the way children should be cared for. The negative comments made by a couple others on this site are a personal vendetta of the men behind the organizational name. I've had personal contact with many of the children of this organization and they are well educated, well fed, well clothed and well cared for. If you want to see for yourself that this is an organization that is worth your support, talk to the many donors who support the children, or to those of us who go to visit our sponsored child. I would stake my life and my integrity on the good work they do. Don't be dissuaded by naysayers who have never stepped foot into one of the homes.
February 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2014

Hearts with Haiti is the US organization that helps support a truly outstanding set of homes for abandoned or disabled children and adults in Haiti, the St. Joseph's Family of Homes. My church has a long-standing relationship with the St. Joseph’s Family (SJF), involving many visits over more than ten years by church members to the three SJF sites in Haiti and many visits of SJF family members to Chapel Hill. I also had the privilege of being a guest at both St. Joseph’s Home for Boys and Wings of Hope for a week three years ago. I thus know the people involved quite well.

In every interaction I have had or my colleagues have had, we have seen only the most exemplary care for the well being of the children and of the handicapped adults at these three facilities. Children who were on the street or abandoned have been surrounded by the love of a family. I came away from my own visit there permanently changed by seeing the approach taken by staff at both facilities, where we experienced profound Christian hospitality and were welcomed into the family. The smiles on the faces of the children remain with me.

I also have been very impressed by the professionalism and engagement of the staff and Board at Hearts with Haiti. They have managed funds in a transparent and fiscally responsible way, and really helped make SJF a model for other organizations in Haiti.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage others to visit Haiti and learn about the great work going on there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 29, 2013

The founder of St. Joseph Home for Boys, Trinity House, Wings of Hope orphanages, the institutions that Hearts With Haiti supports, has been accused of sexually abusing the children under his care in at least 5 documented occasions since the founding in the late 1980s.

http://www.istwanouayisyen.com

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 4, 2013

more

April 4, 2013

My family has donated funds to help the Saint Joseph Family since its beginning. Michael has dedicated his life to helping the abandoned boys of Haiti. The organization has grown tremendously from those first days, and is now serving hundreds of boys. This is truly a worthwhile organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 12, 2012

Michael Geilenfeld, Executive Director of the St. Joseph's Homes in Haiti, is a multi-accused child molester.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers