Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.166675
Write A Review
December 22, 2014

more

December 22, 2014

Hearts with Haiti was founded to support the St. Joseph Family, which is a largely Haitian run organization with a home for boys, a home for mentally and physically handicapped children and young adults, and an elementary school for disadvantaged children. I have led four church-sponsored mission trips there over the past 3 years, staying in the SJF guest house and interacting with the residents, and I can attest that the residents are very well cared for and are thriving. The employees who work there and the volunteers that come in from time to time are extremely dedicated and caring people.

Stoney
December 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have complete confidence that Hearts with Haiti strives to properly serve the needs of children in Haiti. One of the organizations that they support had some questions raised and they went above and beyond (including investigations by Federal authorities) to make sure that these neglected children are not being mistreated and that no credible evidence existed that any issues happened in the past. They refuse to abandon the children in Haiti due to harassment by anonymous cyber-bullies.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hearts with Haiti is a remarkable organization of dedicated volunteers who are deeply committed to the well being of children in Haiti. It's do a great job of connecting with community groups and various church groups of every tradition empowering them to support children in Haiti, including the most vulnerable of all: the disabled. I'm always astonished and inspired by their servant leadership.
December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hearts with Haiti (Raleigh NC) has been fundraising and supporting children's programs in Haiti for several years, and is an established and well-run organization. It's large and diverse board of trustees (of which i am currently the board President 2014-15) is a dedicated and committed group, having visited Haiti a combined 100+ times over the last several years. We have helped rebuild one children's home, and we are well on our way to completing funding for the rebuilding of a second home (both homes were lost in the 2010 earthquake). Please take a moment to visit our website, and thank you for your interest!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hearts with Haiti and the St. Joseph Family homes have been an inspiration to many people, including myself, who care about children. For nearly 30 years, boys and girls who were neglected, abused, and abandoned have received a real home and family experience through the SJF. More recently, Hearts with Haiti has provided an easy way to support these efforts. Provisions for quality living extend far beyond the basics. Attention to nurturing the spiritual life is particularly impressive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with St. Joe's for 14 years and not once have I witnessed anything but love, care and support for the poorest of Haiti's poor children. Hearts with Haiti is an organization, as we are, that support Michael without hesitation. There are negative forces at work against St. Joe's none of which I believe to be true.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This nonprofit is doing very important work for the children of Haiti, supporting a ministry that is producing the leaders of tomorrow for Haiti. Children from the street are given not just food and a bed, but love, support, encouragement and skills that give them a bright future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I remain convinced that the money that I send to Hearts with Haiti for the support of the children of the St. Joseph's homes is money well spent. I have personally visited these homes numerous times and they are a model for the way children should be cared for. The negative comments made by a couple others on this site are a personal vendetta of the men behind the organizational name. I've had personal contact with many of the children of this organization and they are well educated, well fed, well clothed and well cared for. If you want to see for yourself that this is an organization that is worth your support, talk to the many donors who support the children, or to those of us who go to visit our sponsored child. I would stake my life and my integrity on the good work they do. Don't be dissuaded by naysayers who have never stepped foot into one of the homes.
February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hearts with Haiti is the US organization that helps support a truly outstanding set of homes for abandoned or disabled children and adults in Haiti, the St. Joseph's Family of Homes. My church has a long-standing relationship with the St. Joseph’s Family (SJF), involving many visits over more than ten years by church members to the three SJF sites in Haiti and many visits of SJF family members to Chapel Hill. I also had the privilege of being a guest at both St. Joseph’s Home for Boys and Wings of Hope for a week three years ago. I thus know the people involved quite well.

In every interaction I have had or my colleagues have had, we have seen only the most exemplary care for the well being of the children and of the handicapped adults at these three facilities. Children who were on the street or abandoned have been surrounded by the love of a family. I came away from my own visit there permanently changed by seeing the approach taken by staff at both facilities, where we experienced profound Christian hospitality and were welcomed into the family. The smiles on the faces of the children remain with me.

I also have been very impressed by the professionalism and engagement of the staff and Board at Hearts with Haiti. They have managed funds in a transparent and fiscally responsible way, and really helped make SJF a model for other organizations in Haiti.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage others to visit Haiti and learn about the great work going on there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 29, 2013

The founder of St. Joseph Home for Boys, Trinity House, Wings of Hope orphanages, the institutions that Hearts With Haiti supports, has been accused of sexually abusing the children under his care in at least 5 documented occasions since the founding in the late 1980s.

http://www.istwanouayisyen.com

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers