Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

After FINALLY moving from a small apartment into our house and settling in, we decided it was time to seriously consider getting a dog companion as we had always thought we would do. We have family members who had gotten puppies from professional breeders and had also looked at our local Humane Society, but we always returned to the HUA site and fawned over the photos and carefully-considered descriptions of the dogs there. After all the searching, we decided there were a few dogs at HUA that sounded like they would be a good fit for us and everyone throughout the application/approval process made things so simple! We ended up going home with a companion that is perfect for us and who made our lives better immediately. We love our Violet so much and can't imagine being without her! I wish I could donate so much more to the organization and all of the animals there, some of which will be cared for throughout the rest of their lives right at HUA. I recommend adopting from HUA to people I know every time I get the chance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My previous rescue dog was a difficult –hated people-3 year old an American Eskimo. He passed away a few months ago at 14 years old. I missed my dog so much and felt guilty when I started my search on Petfinders, just to "look" at Eskies. I came across HUA and it was the only site that had genuine Eskies with real personality and behavior descriptions as well as where and why the dog was rescued. I immediately went to their website and was thrilled to know that HUA is a group of dedicated volunteers, pulling all their talents and knowledge to secure helpless animals from abusive and neglectful environments and lives. I called, filled out an application, was approved and a month later had a Beautiful American Eskimo flown to LaGuardia airport. Yes, flown. Why didn't I adopt closer to home? Because I requested to adopt 2 American Eskimo brothers, and it was suggested I considered “Pearl” (she was house broken) and would be more suited to my work and lifestyle. Not only does HUA know their dogs, they Definitely read the adoption applications! Knowing they researched me and had trust in me to provide love and care was worth a plane ticket to Pearl’s forever home!
It is heartwarming to know that the people at HUA work tirelessly to afford all of their Rescues safety, love and care and ensure they never have to endure the cruelties of abuse again.
Thank you HUA!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them to the Northeast Coast!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

This recent adoption of a companion for my resident dog was our first visit to HUA! We were very impressed with the entire facility, the welcoming staff, and the enthusiastic volunteers. Thank you HUA for all you do for the dogs!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were looking to adopt a dog to be a friend with our other rescue dog. The adoption process was well documented and the interaction with the staff was great. We are very please with Sophie. She has fit into our family wonderfully and are thankful to HUA.
March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned of HUA on Facebook, and being the animal lover I am, I "liked" their site immediately. I have a soft spot for Chihuahuas, so I checked their inventory. ;) I already had a Chihuahua and really wasn't in the market for another dog, however I was drawn to little Sarita in a instance. An elderly little girl who spent way too many years in a puppy mill. I fell in love with her and knew I had to have her. I knew she needed to live with us and be spoiled beyond belief.
The online application process was a breeze. I was contacted within a few days and had a volunteer interview us at our house a few days later. I think it's wonderful how concerned HUA is with making sure their dogs go to good, loving homes.
My daughter and I made a trip to Auburn to get our new girl. The volunteers were all so friendly and helpful. We've had Sarita since November 2013, and she is such a sweetheart. She learned to potty outside almost immediately. Old dogs DO learn new tricks. :) We will definitely return to HUA for our future fur babies!
February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HUA always puts the animals first and that is why we were drawn to them when looking for a new family member. We visited once and we weren't able to see many dogs because it was late on Saturday and they didn't have many volunteers around to help, which I understand because they rely on volunteers. We did see a few wonderful dogs through the fences and came back the following week during hours that were better for them (around 11 am). The volunteer was very personable and brought the German Shepherd we wanted to see to meet us in the obstacle course area. She was very shy and they explained to us her story and everything they have noticed about her so far. We fell in love and went home with our sweet Zoe (known as Constance at HUA). We are so lucky to have found her and HUA was the match maker. They do a good job and have a lot of animals who need homes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was looking for a dog, I found HUA through a friend and searched their website. I was lured to the shelter by a cute little fluffy pup, however the little guy had already been adopted out. I visited the shelter while in Nebraska for the holiday. I was overwhelmed by the kindness of all the volunteers/staff. They provided information about EVERY dog that was in the shelter and asked many questions of myself to help make the right fit between me and my potential new pup. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and the conditions in which the dogs were kept. There were many staff and volunteers available to help facilitate all of the happenings between prospective adopters and dogs. Due to traveling, I had to make arrangements to pick up my dog a few days later. When arriving at the shelter, they had Jeremy all packed up with leash/harness, papers, and jacket (it was negative zero outside). They all gave him hugs goodbye and you could feel the compassion in their hearts when they had to say farewell. A few weeks after I had brought him home, an HUA rep contacted me to ensure that things were going well. Jeremy has been a PERFECT fit in my home and I am truly blessed at the care they provided for him during his homelessness. They are truly wonderful people providing a phenomenal service. The animals adopted from HUA are well cared for and loved during the time they need it the most. Each of those dogs/cats will be soon adopted and it is a reassuring feeling knowing that the time they were in HUA was spent being loved so their transition to a new home will be rewarding for the people as well as the pups!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We had been following Hearts United For Animals online for several years. Last year we visited there and were immediately impressed by the caring people. The animals all seemed to love them and you could tell that they were loved right back! A couple of months ago HUA posted a picture of a momma and her puppies that were found under a bush after a severe rainstorm. I IMMEDIATELY fell in love with a little black and tan female named, Skittles. We had lost two of our beloved pets within a year of each other and our little Schnauzer was lonely. I contacted HUA and they set up an in home interview with a local volunteer. We were approved and within a few weeks we went and got our little girl! She is a joy and the people at HUA were terrific. They are always helpful and will answer any questions you have. Their first and foremost concern is the welfare of the animals. I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting to adopt a pet or looking for a worthwhile organization to donate to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing that I can think of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We had been searching to adopt a Dachshund and when we found the Hearts United for Animals site, and the story of Monty, we knew we found the perfect fit – both with this brave young dog and in this wonderful no-kill organization who had rescued him from a disgusting puppy mill. Their mission to shut-down puppy mills and to educate is so important, and the care they take of each animal is so admirable. Their website is clear and easy to navigate, and they include lots of great photos of the animals, along with their stories. I found the adoption process very easy and thorough, the people I worked with are caring and professional, and when we were quickly approved, they were able to fly little Monty to us. I now follow their postings on Facebook, which are timely, and both heartbreaking and uplifting, and when the time comes to adopt another dog or cat, they will be the first place we will contact – but in the meantime, we will continue to support them as they continue to support the animals and animal rights – their Amazon Wish List is a very easy way to help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - they know what they are doing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We adopted our Tess from Hearts United for Animals 10 years ago. She was rescued from a puppy mill. We have followed their work ever since and spent time volunteering. HUA is a godsend for puppy mill dogs. They receive amazing care and are kept happy and healthy until they find wonderful new homes. We will always be grateful for our Tess and for the thousands of other dogs that HUA has helped.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers