Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

I first learned of HUA on Facebook, and being the animal lover I am, I "liked" their site immediately. I have a soft spot for Chihuahuas, so I checked their inventory. ;) I already had a Chihuahua and really wasn't in the market for another dog, however I was drawn to little Sarita in a instance. An elderly little girl who spent way too many years in a puppy mill. I fell in love with her and knew I had to have her. I knew she needed to live with us and be spoiled beyond belief.
The online application process was a breeze. I was contacted within a few days and had a volunteer interview us at our house a few days later. I think it's wonderful how concerned HUA is with making sure their dogs go to good, loving homes.
My daughter and I made a trip to Auburn to get our new girl. The volunteers were all so friendly and helpful. We've had Sarita since November 2013, and she is such a sweetheart. She learned to potty outside almost immediately. Old dogs DO learn new tricks. :) We will definitely return to HUA for our future fur babies!
February 22, 2014

more

February 22, 2014

HUA always puts the animals first and that is why we were drawn to them when looking for a new family member. We visited once and we weren't able to see many dogs because it was late on Saturday and they didn't have many volunteers around to help, which I understand because they rely on volunteers. We did see a few wonderful dogs through the fences and came back the following week during hours that were better for them (around 11 am). The volunteer was very personable and brought the German Shepherd we wanted to see to meet us in the obstacle course area. She was very shy and they explained to us her story and everything they have noticed about her so far. We fell in love and went home with our sweet Zoe (known as Constance at HUA). We are so lucky to have found her and HUA was the match maker. They do a good job and have a lot of animals who need homes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

I was looking for a dog, I found HUA through a friend and searched their website. I was lured to the shelter by a cute little fluffy pup, however the little guy had already been adopted out. I visited the shelter while in Nebraska for the holiday. I was overwhelmed by the kindness of all the volunteers/staff. They provided information about EVERY dog that was in the shelter and asked many questions of myself to help make the right fit between me and my potential new pup. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and the conditions in which the dogs were kept. There were many staff and volunteers available to help facilitate all of the happenings between prospective adopters and dogs. Due to traveling, I had to make arrangements to pick up my dog a few days later. When arriving at the shelter, they had Jeremy all packed up with leash/harness, papers, and jacket (it was negative zero outside). They all gave him hugs goodbye and you could feel the compassion in their hearts when they had to say farewell. A few weeks after I had brought him home, an HUA rep contacted me to ensure that things were going well. Jeremy has been a PERFECT fit in my home and I am truly blessed at the care they provided for him during his homelessness. They are truly wonderful people providing a phenomenal service. The animals adopted from HUA are well cared for and loved during the time they need it the most. Each of those dogs/cats will be soon adopted and it is a reassuring feeling knowing that the time they were in HUA was spent being loved so their transition to a new home will be rewarding for the people as well as the pups!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

We had been following Hearts United For Animals online for several years. Last year we visited there and were immediately impressed by the caring people. The animals all seemed to love them and you could tell that they were loved right back! A couple of months ago HUA posted a picture of a momma and her puppies that were found under a bush after a severe rainstorm. I IMMEDIATELY fell in love with a little black and tan female named, Skittles. We had lost two of our beloved pets within a year of each other and our little Schnauzer was lonely. I contacted HUA and they set up an in home interview with a local volunteer. We were approved and within a few weeks we went and got our little girl! She is a joy and the people at HUA were terrific. They are always helpful and will answer any questions you have. Their first and foremost concern is the welfare of the animals. I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting to adopt a pet or looking for a worthwhile organization to donate to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing that I can think of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

We had been searching to adopt a Dachshund and when we found the Hearts United for Animals site, and the story of Monty, we knew we found the perfect fit – both with this brave young dog and in this wonderful no-kill organization who had rescued him from a disgusting puppy mill. Their mission to shut-down puppy mills and to educate is so important, and the care they take of each animal is so admirable. Their website is clear and easy to navigate, and they include lots of great photos of the animals, along with their stories. I found the adoption process very easy and thorough, the people I worked with are caring and professional, and when we were quickly approved, they were able to fly little Monty to us. I now follow their postings on Facebook, which are timely, and both heartbreaking and uplifting, and when the time comes to adopt another dog or cat, they will be the first place we will contact – but in the meantime, we will continue to support them as they continue to support the animals and animal rights – their Amazon Wish List is a very easy way to help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - they know what they are doing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We adopted our Tess from Hearts United for Animals 10 years ago. She was rescued from a puppy mill. We have followed their work ever since and spent time volunteering. HUA is a godsend for puppy mill dogs. They receive amazing care and are kept happy and healthy until they find wonderful new homes. We will always be grateful for our Tess and for the thousands of other dogs that HUA has helped.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

It is with pleasure to provide a review of Hearts United for Animals. I started following HUA on Facebook a year ago. I would see their postings, read the heartfelt stories of the animals coming into HUA and then being adopted into happy homes. I would watch their frequent HUA contests they would have showcasing their dogs up for adoption and I would donate $10 as they posted in need, but it wasn't until recently I started seeing the work they do more closely.

I recently adopted a nine year old puppy mill survivor from them. I was a new adoptee so I was put through their process of qualifying a good home for their dogs. I was so impressed by their thoroughness and their attention to detail in making sure that the people who adopt their dogs are committed to spending a lifetime with their animals. And I was even more confident in HUA when we signed the paperwork for my new dog that included an agreement that if for some reason I cannot care for the dog I adopted that I would agree to give the dog back to HUA. HUA makes a lifetime commitment to their dogs they rescue.

HUA is beyond amazing and the people there are simply incredible! I am beyond grateful for HUA and they will forever be in my thoughts and prayers for the work they do on behalf of animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

Over the years, I have looked at and searched for a No Kill rescue organization for another dog for our family. Though there were many acceptable organizations, none stood out the way Hearts United for Animals did. Every dog has pictures and the story of their life before being rescued. HUA knows every dog at their facility. Their personalities, quirks and everything about them. All get individual attention from the staff and scores of volunteers who come to help rehabilitate the dogs so they can go to their forever homes. A call will come in to HUA, "can you rescue these puppy mill dogs?" "No" is not in their vocabulary. No matter the day or the hour, a director/volunteer/staff member will race to rescue these poor pups from filthy, miserable conditions in all weather. All the babies are triaged and those needing immediate medical attention are taken to a clinic or hospital. They are given baths, food, water and anything else they need physically. But most of all, they are given love and the time to heal from their medical conditions and their mental state. Every pup is either spayed or neutered and had a dental before being adopted. You may think that with all the pups they have they cannot possibly know every one. I have seen first hand how the staff works with every animal they have and they know every one by name. Every single pup gets individual attention by the staff and by the countless volunteers. The facility itself is impeccably clean. Someone is always cleaning. It is divided up into different areas. Triage, Clinic, bath, condos for big dogs, small dogs, homeward bound section, the sunroom, play yards and Sanctuary Sweethearts-the place for pups so traumatized by their previous life that it is best for them to live at HUA forever.

I have 2 rescue dachshunds from HUA. They are either mother and daughter or sisters. They came from a horrible place. I flew out to get them and was unable to fly both home with me. The staff met my friend at a mutual location with the other doxy. Both had little harnesses and leashes and food. Both were healthy, both were happy and curious, wonderfully socialized and very gentle, but all dachshund! Over the last year, these little girls have brought laughter to our family everyday. Had it not been for HUA giving these girls a second chance, they would have met a horrible, horrible fate. Some say that animals don't feel. When my doxies were reunited, tears poured from their eyes. I have never seen anything like it. HUA gave my girls life when noone else could. It is likely the most unique facility I have ever seen and one to be recognized for the achievements of the staff and volunteers who put the well being of those they are charged with above their own needs, wants and desires. A true model for rescue organizations around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

My first adoption from HUA was in 1998 and I was wary of having a dog flown to me but couldn't drive all the way to Nebraska from Maryland. The HUA staff set up EVERYthing very, very carefully and explained everything to me in advance. When my little Schnauzer arrived, he was in great shape and happy to go "home". Since then, I've adopted 6 more dogs from HUA over the years. The last four were driven East by two of the most wonderful and caring volunteers/Directors of the organization, Josh and Tera. We set up a convenient place to meet on the road, and the transfer was made. In all cases, the dogs had been loved, loved, loved by Josh and Tera. Even before leaving HUA, the dogs were carefully bathed and accessorized before going to their new home.
One of the things that is so obvious when I first meet my new companion is that the dog has been cared for in a gentle and kindly manner, with good socialization and plenty of affection and caring. The dogs are never kept in a cage there and the volunteers and staff spend so many hours and hours simply loving the animals - petting and rubbing bellies and cooing in their ears.
HUA takes care of hundreds of dogs (and some cats) at a time, and each one gets focused, individual attention and care. They do a fabulous job of providing the love and care an animal needs to find its forever home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

In 2012 after my Yorkshire Terrier passed a friend took me to Nebraska to Hearts United for Animals. Two of his rescue dogs went with us (he has 8 dogs) - I was in hopes that I would be able to find a dog to adopt to help fill the void I was feeling. We arrived at the facility and I was introduced tot he director and founder of the shelter. She personally escorted us around to see the 400+ dogs who are sheltered there. And they are there without fear of a needle at the end. For you see Hearts United is a No-kill shelter and animals who are not adopted become Sanctuary Sweethearts and are assured of a loving caring environment to live out their natural lives.

There seem to be countless volunteers who come in to help socialize the puppy mill animals who have been rescued from puppy mills where they have lived all of their lives in intolerable substandard conditions.

Hearts United also has a spay/neuter program and an emergency medical program which helps families with medical expenses so that their friends can be healed and remain with their family.

I was escorted around to look at the dogs and there was one dog in particular who quietly sat looking at me. Her story was that she was 4 years old and had been brought to the shelter by a person who worked for the railroad and dod not feel he could keep her. We got a chance to meet and I brought her home. Molly has enriched my life and I do not know what I did without her.

Oh and one more thing. I know that if something happens to me Molly can return to Hearts United and there to be taken care of by loving, caring people who deserve all the praise I can give them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers